User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 58
  2. Negative: 6 out of 58

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IrvingIrving
    Oct 9, 2009
    9
    God how I hate The Phoenix. Their drivel amounts to the most compelling argument to read pitchfork, lame as it is.
  2. JackH
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    This is simply good music, filled with passion and heartache. Daniel Brockman should have another listen.
  3. LoriB.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Cannot stop listening to this album.
  4. OliverBillenness
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Excellent. As near to perfect as an album has got in 2009.
  5. Joel
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    A modern classic.
  6. robotrobot
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Rad. Gonna be huge.
  7. mikeharpy
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    Their music gives me hope,fun, and tickels my ears with all types of greatly thought out music...i love it.
  8. ClaireM.
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    Great!
  9. SpencerW.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    What a surprise!
  10. PeterB.
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    Fine indeed!
  11. AndrewK.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Inexplicably infectious and overflowing with a gorgeous sense of melancholy.
  12. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    We all know the back story by now... this was my favorite release of 2009 and it was followed up in 2010 by the excellent ep 'broken dreams club'. 'Album' is filled with radio ready songs (i think four different songs have been released as singles?) and has a nice variety to it. Lust for life, morning light, god damned, laura, all classics. Its going to be interesting to see how this bandWe all know the back story by now... this was my favorite release of 2009 and it was followed up in 2010 by the excellent ep 'broken dreams club'. 'Album' is filled with radio ready songs (i think four different songs have been released as singles?) and has a nice variety to it. Lust for life, morning light, god damned, laura, all classics. Its going to be interesting to see how this band evolves, but if the BDC ep is any indication, look for more great things to come from girls! Collapse
  13. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Girls' debut is definitely one of the best albums of 2009. There is a lot of emotion in this album, unlike most of the indie records nowadays. They are now one of my favorite bands
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Girls' 2009 album (simply titled Album) actually proved itself worthy of the hype upon its release.
  2. Despite having ties to shitgaze, this isn’t a record obsessed with that aesthetic, and this works to its advantage, since these songs clearly aspire to be bigger than that and have very real potential to be.
  3. Its their frivolous experimentalism and willingness to toy with all aspects of the past that make Girls such an invitingly warm and honest proposition