Algiers - Calexico
Algiers Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest full-length release for the Arizona alternative rock band led by Joey Burns and John Convertino was recorded in New Orleans with producer Craig Schumacher.
  • Record Label: Anti
  • Genre(s): Americana, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Post-Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    What New Orleans does seem to have inspired in Calexico, though, is some of its best songwriting.
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    Instead of taking the easy route of creating a love letter to New Orleans, the band went in the opposite direction, continuing to lead American music into the future.
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    It is full of unusual clarity and purpose and seems to have benefited from a certain amount of restraint.
  4. It can be taken as a given that any longstanding fans will immediately enjoy Algiers, but for newcomers, this is also a perfect access point to what is one of the most consistent bands of the 2000s.
  5. Sep 13, 2012
    While these tales of people trying to escape their pasts aren't quite as masterful as Carried to Dust, Algiers has some great songs and a vitality that Calexico should try to hang onto in the future.
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    Algiers isn't so much a portrayal of New Orleans as it is a manifestation of the city's often observed ability to both elevate and weigh heavily on the soul.
  7. Sep 4, 2012
    Not a bad album, just a boring one.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jan 21, 2013
    On first listen, I thought that this was "just another Calexico album". I enjoy them but have never been sucked in before. But this album really does grow on you, and good lord is it beautiful. These melodies will haunt your thoughts, and every listen is an intimate experience. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    Calexico return with a mix of old and new on their seventh album ‘Algiers’. Never afraid to blend styles it fair to say that the Calexico sound is one that is quite recognisable, often sung in different languages and blending folk rock with mariachi horns. Well that is still present here like the Spanish sung ‘No Te Vayas’ but they have once again branched out like the bluesy ‘Sinner in the Sea’ or the sharp strings on ‘Better and Better’. ‘Maybe on Monday’ probably wouldn’t sound out of place on an album by Travis, it’s a catchy love song built around rhythmic drums and a hushed vocal, but overall the album reminds me of Wilco around the time of ‘Yankee Hotel Foxtrot’ or ‘A Ghost is Born’ just great song writing peppered with slight experimentation. Musically strong across the twelve tracks on offer this should satisfy fans while hopefully giving them the wider appreciation they deserve. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    This album is less coherent/ consistent than some of their earlier albums. Maybe it has to do with other projects and they couldn't concentrate on a complete album. In general the songs OK but there are a few which surpass others. I particularly like the number 'Hush' because there's a certain tension in it. The title track is also nice however it is not their best Instrumental. Expand