• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Dec 4, 2007
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 130
  2. Negative: 7 out of 130

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JDC
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    An excellent mix of their best material through the years. A great new spin on old classics.
  2. JonM
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    One of the very great Live albums of our times, this album encapsulates the energy and versatility of electronica and house that Daft Punk so vehemently pioneered in the 90's and 00's. If you listen to this and don't wish you were there, sweaty, battered yet oh so happy, then maybe you should think about retiring from the DJ scene.
  3. Manjero
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the better works from this prestigious duo. "Alive 2007" contains a flawless execution of house and memorable charm which was already present in the original songs. This is the perfect daily dose for you rave and techno/house lovers out there.
  4. RichardB
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    One of the best live albums ever; it's a very good Daft Punk album. If you're a Daft Punk fan, it's a must have. Listening to it really makes you feel like you were at the concert.
  5. VajectionUnderpants
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Dear Jesus, Thank you for this.
  6. NikkiI.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Incredible! If you like to dance... then this cd is for all y'all!
  7. BenJ
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Truly, a refreshing way to release a greatest hits of sorts. its familiar while still being new.
  8. NT
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Simply Amazing. No words can describe how perfect this album is. Just go out buy it and experience it for yourself. I missed their 2007 tour but I won't make that mistake again if they plan to do Alive 2017.
  9. Daniel
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    To anyone that understands what a DJ set is there will be no mistake of considering this album brilliant. The live show is being considered by many the best concert ever. I was lucky enough to be at their LA concert and from a jaded concert-goer perspective I was blown away by the experience. I am just glad that this album exist to let me feel with every listen simply ALIVE.
  10. GeoffG.
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    I have found it very hard to dissipate my need, yes, NEED to listen to this cd on a daily basis. Daft Punk seamlessly intertwine all of their best and worst songs off of their last 3 albums, creating a unique and highly addictive record. I'm just in a vegetative state of shock and awe at how they were able to turn skippable Human After All tracks (i.e. Steam Machine, Television Rules I have found it very hard to dissipate my need, yes, NEED to listen to this cd on a daily basis. Daft Punk seamlessly intertwine all of their best and worst songs off of their last 3 albums, creating a unique and highly addictive record. I'm just in a vegetative state of shock and awe at how they were able to turn skippable Human After All tracks (i.e. Steam Machine, Television Rules the Nation, etc.) into sheer spun gold. They seem to have set a new bar for themselves musically, lets just hope their next LP can surpass it. Expand
  11. Seeds13
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    I never hand out 10s. But, this album is an exception simply because of the amazing energy and pure vivid sound that is emitted, in one of the best live albums of all time. I don't particularly dig live albums however. To me, most are not balanced in crispness and energy along with enthusiasm from the spectators. This album is a perfect portrayal of daft punk's house party I never hand out 10s. But, this album is an exception simply because of the amazing energy and pure vivid sound that is emitted, in one of the best live albums of all time. I don't particularly dig live albums however. To me, most are not balanced in crispness and energy along with enthusiasm from the spectators. This album is a perfect portrayal of daft punk's house party atmosphere, and it actually sounds damn good with few tracks that drawl out. Highly recommended for fans and still a fun album for first-timers. Expand
  12. Phillip
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    I'm not even a fan of house music but this album is a major exception.
  13. SukiD.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    This is the best release bar none by Daft Punk. Complete with new material and an encore, nothing is more exciting and fresh than the Alive 2007 set. The electronic duo continue to set a new standard for electronic music.
  14. CandyceI.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    This cd will make you wish you went and saw Daft Punk at one of their Alive! shows. But if, like me you went and spent the entire time dancing sweating and getting high of energy then this cd will take you right back there.
  15. AL
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    Insane! absolutely best Daft CD I own.
  16. DavidL.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    The best show in the world, the best live cd in the world.
  17. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    flawless live album, everything that is good about daft punk rolled into an incredible hour+. great listening experience you wont soon forget. The track lead-ins are fantastic, and the French duo manages to make material from their alright album 'human after all' seem fresh and energetic.
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Amazing. I can't believe they realized such a perfect mix of all their most fantastic songs, and all seems perfectly natural and spontaneous. Just listen to "Da Funk/ Daftendirekt" mix to understand. Greatest album made by them of course. Over and over better.
  19. May 18, 2012
    10
    Oh Yeah! It was too long since their 1997 daftendirktour, but they've been alive around the world one more time! What a dicovery this album was to me, it just washed my brain. My teachers tell me the most fresh musique is rock n roll, but the rock from these robots is harder, better, faster and stronger than any other artist!
  20. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    Obviously anyone that disagrees with Daft Punk hasn't lived long or should       
  21. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    This really makes me wish I could hear them live. It is a incredible experience to feel the great live rhythm of their songs. It impresses me how Daft Punk can make such a work. Flawless.
  22. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    This album remains my most played album ever, with over 3000 plays. Each and every track clearly shows the amount of precision, effort, and confidence put in by Daft Punk and the result is surreal.
  23. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    I haven't scored many albums a 10 out of 10 yet until now. It's one of the most essential music collections in electronic dance music (EDM if you will) and one of the most visually stunning, conceptually inspiring and innovative live events in music altogether. It'd be equivalent to committing a sin to not recognize Alive 2007 as a masterpiece. It's biggest achievement and treasure --I haven't scored many albums a 10 out of 10 yet until now. It's one of the most essential music collections in electronic dance music (EDM if you will) and one of the most visually stunning, conceptually inspiring and innovative live events in music altogether. It'd be equivalent to committing a sin to not recognize Alive 2007 as a masterpiece. It's biggest achievement and treasure -- aside from actually making their 2005 "dud" Human After All feel at home in our hearts after all -- has to be the remixes of "Around the World / Harder Better Faster Stronger", which has alone inspired the careers of electronic musicians such as deadmau5 (not solely, but a prime majority of it). Although not technically "perfect" by any means, all music has minor flaws -- so do humans and even robots. Perfect scores should be awarded to dedicated pieces of music, concerts, or in this case, altogether, and Alive 2007 is just that. It's not an exaggeration when calling it essential to EDM. Expand
  24. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    The best live dance albums that I have ever listened to. I think the biggest achievement of this album is the revival of some of the headache-inducing tracks on Human After All.
  25. MycroftW.
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    It appears I missed the party of the year, a welcome return to form. How did they get those bloody awful Human After All tracks to suddenly sound so good?
  26. PatrickTM
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    Scintillating, stunning, smoldering. The "critics" gave Discovery a "73" on this site. Let that sink in for a moment. Discovery. Rated lower. Than the latest "shaggy" record. Okay, now that we have thoroughly discredited anyone "credentialed" in true Dadaist fashion, let's just consider the source and acknowledge that this group is amazing and this album belongs with the best in Scintillating, stunning, smoldering. The "critics" gave Discovery a "73" on this site. Let that sink in for a moment. Discovery. Rated lower. Than the latest "shaggy" record. Okay, now that we have thoroughly discredited anyone "credentialed" in true Dadaist fashion, let's just consider the source and acknowledge that this group is amazing and this album belongs with the best in their oeuvre. Expand
  27. [Anonymous]
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    I'm really not a big fan of live albums, but this one is damn good. A must-own for Daft Punk fans.
  28. DanS
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    With the exception of too much "Touch It/Technologic" towards the beginning, this is one of the more interesting live albums I've heard. It makes tracks from Human After All sound 10 times better. The bonus CD encore mashup might be worth it on its own. It's a different style entirely than Alive 1997, but it's hard to say which is actually better. Daft fans will undeniably With the exception of too much "Touch It/Technologic" towards the beginning, this is one of the more interesting live albums I've heard. It makes tracks from Human After All sound 10 times better. The bonus CD encore mashup might be worth it on its own. It's a different style entirely than Alive 1997, but it's hard to say which is actually better. Daft fans will undeniably love this. Expand
  29. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Alive 2007 can be best described as a remastering and a re-invigoration of Daft Punk's earlier works. This doesn't make it bad however. This live project remixes the weak points from Human After All with Daft Punk's earlier works seamlessly.

    The result is an amazing performance that ranks as one of the most exciting I have ever heard. This performance truly is a treat to listen to, I
    Alive 2007 can be best described as a remastering and a re-invigoration of Daft Punk's earlier works. This doesn't make it bad however. This live project remixes the weak points from Human After All with Daft Punk's earlier works seamlessly.

    The result is an amazing performance that ranks as one of the most exciting I have ever heard.

    This performance truly is a treat to listen to, I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  30. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    A perfectly executed mash-up of all of the best songs we know and love from the most iconic electronic duo, Daft Punk. This is probably the best live album ever.
  31. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    Daft Punk is a duo of two French electronic musicians who pioneered the house and electronica genres in the 90s and early 2000s. Their originality and boldness is what drove them to success with a couple of their earliest albums, Homework and Discovery. The success of these albums fueled the creation of their reiteration album in 2007.

    Their album, Alive 2007, is an impeccable and
    Daft Punk is a duo of two French electronic musicians who pioneered the house and electronica genres in the 90s and early 2000s. Their originality and boldness is what drove them to success with a couple of their earliest albums, Homework and Discovery. The success of these albums fueled the creation of their reiteration album in 2007.

    Their album, Alive 2007, is an impeccable and nostalgic rendition of a collection of live assembled mash-ups of their best songs that we have all come to know and love. This album demonstrates Daft Punk's capability to flawlessly blend their earlier classics into 13 independent tracks. The build up to their previous hit, “Technologic”, used in the 2nd track in the album, “Touch it/Technologic”, perfectly sells the nostalgic feel into the heart of the listeners. The infusion of their hits, “Around the World” and “Harder Better Faster Stronger”, started with the blood pumping beat from “Around the World” and excellently transitioned into their tune, “Harder Better Faster Stronger”, while maintaining a consistent beat. In conclusion, Daft Punk's album, Alive 2007 is a wonder full combination of classic Daft Punk's classics along with their ability to mix songs live, on the spot.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nothing can quite match the in-person thrills of the current Daft Punk live experience, what with the robot costumes, onstage pyramid and body-rattling beats radiating out into the blissed-out faithful. But Alive 2007 comes pretty darn close.
  2. The results were massive--the myriad "best show ever" kudos deserved.
  3. This is the first-rate live album that Electric Light Orchestra should have made but never did.