All Hope Is Gone

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 162

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    3
    Only track I really liked was Psychosocial. While there maybe a few likeable songs on the album, It simply isnt that good. Really disapointing if you ask me.
  2. DarinC.
    Aug 26, 2008
    3
    A few bright spots, overall very weak album. Too much emo-driven lyrics now looking at adult things. Not as good as previous albums.
  3. DPB.
    Aug 27, 2008
    1
    Slipknot's St Anger? After much anticipation I was only too happy to play the new 'Knot album loud as fuck. I had already given much attention to the pre-released tracks Psychosocial and All Hope is Gone respectively, becoming an instant fan of the intensity Slipknot always bring to the music they create. But unaware of the diehard let down I was about to endure I listened Slipknot's St Anger? After much anticipation I was only too happy to play the new 'Knot album loud as fuck. I had already given much attention to the pre-released tracks Psychosocial and All Hope is Gone respectively, becoming an instant fan of the intensity Slipknot always bring to the music they create. But unaware of the diehard let down I was about to endure I listened anyway. Now for those of you out there who have been living under a rock for the last ten years you will find it interesting to hear that Slipknot are a Grammy award winning, alternative metal band from Des Moines Iowa who have nine members. Exploding on the scene with the double platnium album "Slipknot" the band went from strength to strength with the follow up "Iowa" and their live dvd "Disasterpieces". After the Iowa tour things weren't looking good for the band, not to mention the severe "nu metal backlash" that hit metal at this time but the relationships between its memebers were at an all time low. Corey and Jim reunited Stone Sour (the band they were in together before joining Slipknot) Joey the Murderdolls and and others members either going into hiding or working on the fringes of the industry. After four years after the release of "Iowa" the band produced a new record. This was entitled "Vol 3. The Subliminal Verses" this album single handedly proved Slipknot was not only another gimmicky nu metal band but proved that they are able to experiment in levels of heaviness. But before today I never thought that "Vol 3.'" would be the bands creative peak. The bands latest offering "All Hope Is Gone" is prime example of being in the fish bowl way too long. This album fell short not because it's not well executed or the fact that it lacks killer riffs, no this album fails becase of the lack of experimentation and a need to please everybody making this effort sound more like a Slipknot parody band than the pure well oiled middle finger it once was. This album will definately split fans and critics alike and thus I've Christened "All Hope Is Gone" as "St Anger". Listen to the album and try and tell me Slipknot are not now a mainstream cliche' of themselves, because in the good ol days when Slipknot was the polar opposite (also the reason you listened to music this back in the day) My official rating 1/10 Expand
  4. Sean
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    It is pathetic that people actually consider this overproduced trash metal. This band is not a real metal band- they just dress up like one and use studio tools to appear as if they sound vaguely like a metal band. They are a disgrace to real metal artists like Mastodon, Sepultura, Soulfly, Corrosion of Conformity and Pig Destroyer. Instead they use the weak and tired formulas of Korn and It is pathetic that people actually consider this overproduced trash metal. This band is not a real metal band- they just dress up like one and use studio tools to appear as if they sound vaguely like a metal band. They are a disgrace to real metal artists like Mastodon, Sepultura, Soulfly, Corrosion of Conformity and Pig Destroyer. Instead they use the weak and tired formulas of Korn and Mudvayne to present this heaping pile of garbage which is neither creative nor original. Don't waste your time with this fake commerical hard rock excuse of an album. Expand
  5. elmosarus
    Feb 7, 2009
    0
    Ridiculous... to even think Slipknot is still "anti-mainstream" and "brutal" is a joke. after years of horrible albums, Corey Taylor has to bring a Stone Sour feel to the helpless band? pathetic. not to say it doesn't take talent to play in a band, but don't try to label yourself as "The Best Band Ever"... its sad, 3/4 of their fans are all posers or total n00bs to metal.
  6. Dec 13, 2012
    1
    Useless album, band members and sold out band. They don't make metal. It's garbage-like. Everyone listens to them without even knowing what do they listen to.
  7. MatthewS.
    Feb 9, 2009
    1
    Slipknot is dead. This is not Slipknot. They have officially turned into radio rock. It's pretty sad. They have transformed themselves into the very thing they hated. I hope they look into the mirror and realize that soon. If they could get back to making some intense music again that would be fantastic. This album is so weak. No intensity, no creativity, just crap!
  8. Orelha
    Aug 29, 2008
    2
    Weak boring and some shit, is the badest album from slipknot ever and maybe bad critics make this musicians make some good next time, unless them have lost all they hope like I.
  9. MCG.
    Sep 11, 2008
    0
    I would drag my sack across each of their terrible masks. Absolutely sack-draggingly awful.
  10. ErnieP
    Sep 25, 2008
    3
    This album is completely disappointing. It's far to soft, weak and generally sounds like Stone Sour. It's way to clean sounding... bring back Ross Robinson! Anyways, the albums a complete joke... absolutely boring. I can't listen to Physcosocial- I actually laugh at how bad that is. I uploaded 3 songs form this crappy album to my ipod so thats why I give it a 3. It's This album is completely disappointing. It's far to soft, weak and generally sounds like Stone Sour. It's way to clean sounding... bring back Ross Robinson! Anyways, the albums a complete joke... absolutely boring. I can't listen to Physcosocial- I actually laugh at how bad that is. I uploaded 3 songs form this crappy album to my ipod so thats why I give it a 3. It's just a weak, uninspiring album thats watered down with useless tracks. I'm incredibly disappointed. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. All Hope Is Gone as a whole winds up being as bleak and unforgiving as its title.
  2. The set is at once Slipknot's most ambitious and accessible outing to date, with a broad palette of sounds and textures that shift faster than Michael Phelps off the starting block.
  3. Happily, Slipknot can pull in these directions and still maintain a new standard of bone-crunching intensity . There are louder metal bands in the world, for sure, but the Iowan nine-piece continue to make the most noise.