All Hope Is Gone Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the metal band was produced with Dave Fortman.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. This is dark stuff, but there's excellent musicianship to be found on these heavy meltdowns.
  2. Happily, Slipknot can pull in these directions and still maintain a new standard of bone-crunching intensity . There are louder metal bands in the world, for sure, but the Iowan nine-piece continue to make the most noise.
  3. All Hope Is Gone as a whole winds up being as bleak and unforgiving as its title.
  4. Slipknot stops pummeling every now and then for a few lines of melodic chorus, a full-length dirge, even a power ballad that’s a sort of spurned love song.
  5. They needed to up their innovating significantly but haven’t, leaving All Hope Is Gone above-average.
  6. 60
    There's little original in the likes of 'Psychosocial' 'Snuff' or "All Hope is Gone,' but the bludgeoning guitars are crisp, the overload of percussion suitably crunchy and a sense of bravura and commitment that's lacking in many of today's metal bands runs throughout. [Nov 2008, p.118]
  7. Metal is supposed to be larger than life, especially in Slipknot’s case, and on this record, their attempt to sound more musically varied has them coming off as tired, apathetic, and above all, weak.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 57
  2. Negative: 10 out of 57
  1. ALH.
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    Slipknots career has culminated to this album: it is the best summary of their music in one unbelievably impressive whole. the best metal Slipknots career has culminated to this album: it is the best summary of their music in one unbelievably impressive whole. the best metal release of the last 5 or so years...beat this Metallica. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Slipknot is a great heavy metal band and this is my favorite album from them. I like all the songs on here but my favorite is sulfur, which isSlipknot is a great heavy metal band and this is my favorite album from them. I like all the songs on here but my favorite is sulfur, which is actually my favorite song from them. Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    What can I say? This album is what got me into Slipknot in the first place. I personally love it all the same as their other albums. ThisWhat can I say? This album is what got me into Slipknot in the first place. I personally love it all the same as their other albums. This is good music all around. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    8
    The album is good but it did have that energy.My favourite is All hope is gone , gehenna and vendetta. But still, they can't beat the previousThe album is good but it did have that energy.My favourite is All hope is gone , gehenna and vendetta. But still, they can't beat the previous album: Vol 3: The Subliminal Verses. Expand
  5. RyanB
    Jul 25, 2009
    6
    Slipknot definitely have some good songs on this album, but in my opinion, Vol. 3 was more intricate and more interesting. The soft tracks on Slipknot definitely have some good songs on this album, but in my opinion, Vol. 3 was more intricate and more interesting. The soft tracks on the album sound like they belong with Stone Sour, while the heavier songs are no departure from Slipknot, which, while good in some ways, leaves a lot to be desired. Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2014
    4
    Their worst album to DATE!!! the only good songs on here are Psychosocial and Sulfur the rest are watered down with acoustic guitars or theyTheir worst album to DATE!!! the only good songs on here are Psychosocial and Sulfur the rest are watered down with acoustic guitars or they just are not as good as the others. Expand
  7. Sean
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    It is pathetic that people actually consider this overproduced trash metal. This band is not a real metal band- they just dress up like one It is pathetic that people actually consider this overproduced trash metal. This band is not a real metal band- they just dress up like one and use studio tools to appear as if they sound vaguely like a metal band. They are a disgrace to real metal artists like Mastodon, Sepultura, Soulfly, Corrosion of Conformity and Pig Destroyer. Instead they use the weak and tired formulas of Korn and Mudvayne to present this heaping pile of garbage which is neither creative nor original. Don't waste your time with this fake commerical hard rock excuse of an album. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews