All Hope Is Gone Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the metal band was produced with Dave Fortman.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. This is dark stuff, but there's excellent musicianship to be found on these heavy meltdowns.
  2. Happily, Slipknot can pull in these directions and still maintain a new standard of bone-crunching intensity . There are louder metal bands in the world, for sure, but the Iowan nine-piece continue to make the most noise.
  3. All Hope Is Gone as a whole winds up being as bleak and unforgiving as its title.
  4. Slipknot stops pummeling every now and then for a few lines of melodic chorus, a full-length dirge, even a power ballad that’s a sort of spurned love song.
  5. They needed to up their innovating significantly but haven’t, leaving All Hope Is Gone above-average.
  6. 60
    There's little original in the likes of 'Psychosocial' 'Snuff' or "All Hope is Gone,' but the bludgeoning guitars are crisp, the overload of percussion suitably crunchy and a sense of bravura and commitment that's lacking in many of today's metal bands runs throughout. [Nov 2008, p.118]
  7. Metal is supposed to be larger than life, especially in Slipknot’s case, and on this record, their attempt to sound more musically varied has them coming off as tired, apathetic, and above all, weak.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 55
  2. Negative: 10 out of 55
  1. JeffM.
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    This CD is awesome! i can't stop listening to it!
  2. JoeyW.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Their best album to date and an instant favorite, this time Slipknot delivers from the best of 2 worlds, from their old nu metal heavyness to their melodic, well-written work from the previous record, mighty worthy a praise. Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    What can I say? This album is what got me into Slipknot in the first place. I personally love it all the same as their other albums. This is good music all around. Collapse
  4. Kirby
    Sep 18, 2008
    8
    Nothing Slipknot will ever do can top their first two albums. But here's a shout out to "DPB": Slipknot's St. Anger? Kiss my ass! While Vol. 3 was a vast departure from the first two amazing albums, All Hope Is Gone simply went one step beyond Vol. 3 (which in my opinion is a musical masterpiece). Sure, it lacks the cathartic fury and sheer rage that the first two had, but All Hope Is Gone is a FANTASTIC album. It proves that you can be unrelentlessly heavy, and extremely melodic at the same time. That's the best kind of music; an eclectic mix of the personalities of nine members. You know, anyone who thinks a band can stay true to the initial ideals they had established should look at the BEatles, perhaps the greatest rock band of all time. When girlfriends, outside distractions, and other rock n roll excesses started coming in, it changed the band. The same has happened with Slipknot's new release. AC/DC is THE ONLY band who can rehash the same material, and its still relavent to the current rock scene. Slipknot has proved that they can still stay true to their aggressive music, but now they're expanding their horizons, setting the new music in a much more melodic spectrum. I'm giving it an 8/10, because as good as it is, it still doesn't hold up with self titled or Iowa. But it is the perfect followup to Vol. 3 P.S. "DPB", you really need to get off your pedestal. Don't insult our intelligence with your little history lesson. Everyone who has posted here is obviously a maggot, and most of us pry know a lot more about them than you supposedly do. Expand
  5. victorb.
    Sep 3, 2008
    7
    It was not what i expected at all, the songs are good but the tone of them is weird, i mean if your gonna do alternative with metal you have to put some distance between both... so i give it a thumbs up, but the band did not surpass the challenge of making a better album than the last. Expand
  6. FilipL.
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    All we already knew that new album would't be so energetic like selftitled and iowa.. simply they've been into mainstream many years from now, so they act like that. sad but true. Expand
  7. Sean
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    It is pathetic that people actually consider this overproduced trash metal. This band is not a real metal band- they just dress up like one and use studio tools to appear as if they sound vaguely like a metal band. They are a disgrace to real metal artists like Mastodon, Sepultura, Soulfly, Corrosion of Conformity and Pig Destroyer. Instead they use the weak and tired formulas of Korn and Mudvayne to present this heaping pile of garbage which is neither creative nor original. Don't waste your time with this fake commerical hard rock excuse of an album. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews