User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 80
  2. Negative: 7 out of 80

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidL.
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    Their best work - without a doubt among the best the genre has offered.
  2. JesseC
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Pure emotional expression in musical form. Another amazing album from this amazing band.
  3. tenteri
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    if explosions in the sky would be a painter, it would had painted sky and sea with this.
  4. MarcS
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    Amazing, but not as much as 2003's The Earth is not A Cold Dead Place. I love this band.
  5. StevenG
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Fantastique!!
  6. ColinW
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    This album, just like all of their previous albums, is amazing. Any fan of EITS will love it. And if you never heard of them before do yourself a favor and check out this album, along with everything else they have released.
  7. JimM
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    Just like the waves of the Pacific crashing into the coatline of California, Explosion In the Sky's "All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone" is six tracks of delicate beauty which repeatedly crescendro into guitar might. Each song unfolds with specific, almost scientific, measurement giving the listener an exact taste of the emotion the electricity from their guitars emulate.
  8. FelipeP
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    Perfect and Beautiful!
  9. DavidT
    Feb 23, 2007
    8
    A pretty good album from one of my favorite bands of all time but definitely not my favorite. While I believe their new album shouldnt ever be named in the same sentence as the Earth Is Not A Dead Cold Place, I believe the opening track off the new album...The Birth and Death of a Day is probably one of the greatest composed songs of all time...Easily in my Top 10 Songs of all time.
  10. PatrickO
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Not a replica... this work is their darkest yet, and their most powerful. Kudos to the boys in Austin for this one.
  11. StevenT
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Nothing short of amazing. Those looking for the next blog hype band should look elsewhere.
  12. JohnnyY
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Lost between giving this a 9 or 10, I went with 10 because of the addition of the remix CD, which is really good. Although this is EITS, the sound is a bit different from everything they have done until now, and it really grew on me over time. I think that a lot of reviewers probably based their reviews off of one listen, but this is one that you have to listen to 15 or 20 times before Lost between giving this a 9 or 10, I went with 10 because of the addition of the remix CD, which is really good. Although this is EITS, the sound is a bit different from everything they have done until now, and it really grew on me over time. I think that a lot of reviewers probably based their reviews off of one listen, but this is one that you have to listen to 15 or 20 times before you really start to feel it. And it is an album of feeling, not one that you should sit back and analyze (like all of the jargon spouting hipsters). This is especially emphasized on the beautiful and haunting remixes of the album done by Jesu, Four Tet, and others. I think the band has really tightened and perfected their sound on this album, which is best appreciated without comparing it to their other albums. Expand
  13. DudleyM
    Mar 8, 2007
    7
    A good album, but somewhat disappointing as it does not develop much beyond the "high lonesome post-rock" sound established on previous EITS discs. The first track sounds like it could be a departure, with its heavily distorted power chords and a mid-section that actually rocks, but most of the rest could have come off the last album - all very stylisticly similar, with similar structures A good album, but somewhat disappointing as it does not develop much beyond the "high lonesome post-rock" sound established on previous EITS discs. The first track sounds like it could be a departure, with its heavily distorted power chords and a mid-section that actually rocks, but most of the rest could have come off the last album - all very stylisticly similar, with similar structures and progressions. Still well worth picking up, though - esp the early editions with the remix disc. Expand
  14. Fathoms
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    9.3 (with a bullet) 9.3 out of 10. This is a monumental leap forward for the band. I really didn't think they were capable of making a great album, but they have done it. All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone is a wonderfully concieved post rock effort that wordlessly communicates great depth of feel and momentum. It has this oceanic quality to it, cymbals crash as if immitating violent 9.3 (with a bullet) 9.3 out of 10. This is a monumental leap forward for the band. I really didn't think they were capable of making a great album, but they have done it. All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone is a wonderfully concieved post rock effort that wordlessly communicates great depth of feel and momentum. It has this oceanic quality to it, cymbals crash as if immitating violent waves, pianos glisten as if representing torrential rain, or at other times reverberate as if symbolising flourescent coral reefs. Never has an album cover so perfectly mirrored the music contained within. And with a cover this cool, that's not a bad thing at all. Expand
  15. alanl
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    This is the kind of music you would like to listen to on your way to heaven!
  16. [Anonymous]
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    A little dark and may over use the static a little much but is still a great album
  17. DanB
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    its a good one..check their live show
  18. CarlS
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    This goes way beyond their last album in my opinion, much deeper and more realized. Tracks 3 and 4 are spectacular. The bonus cd of remixes is a very nice addition too and brings and added depth to the music.
  19. RichardH
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    This album was my first exposure to EITS, and I was pleasantly surprised. I listened near bedtime in the dark through headphones and the album's beauty washed over me as though it were a physical experience. Fantastic ambience and moodscaping. The songs each have a tidal quality. The ocean that is their breadth pushes and pulls at the edges of the sonic landscape like waves on a This album was my first exposure to EITS, and I was pleasantly surprised. I listened near bedtime in the dark through headphones and the album's beauty washed over me as though it were a physical experience. Fantastic ambience and moodscaping. The songs each have a tidal quality. The ocean that is their breadth pushes and pulls at the edges of the sonic landscape like waves on a beach. Very enjoyable listen. Expand
  20. Devinlakjjsdf;
    May 23, 2007
    9
    I agree this album is amazing. if you listen to the first song and how it explodes into a beautiful song into a galloping like fun jam. This band has so much talent that isnt relized by much people. this album is one of their best and shouldnt be rated low at all.
  21. HollisG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    How can people possibly say this album is boring and praise the new Arcade Fire (good, but infinitely more boring)? This is truly passionate, exciting music by a band that has broken away from convention and created their own style, their own "voice". They don't just begin the album with the burst in "The Birth and Death of the Day", but carry that energy throughout the album in a How can people possibly say this album is boring and praise the new Arcade Fire (good, but infinitely more boring)? This is truly passionate, exciting music by a band that has broken away from convention and created their own style, their own "voice". They don't just begin the album with the burst in "The Birth and Death of the Day", but carry that energy throughout the album in a variety of intricate and beautiful passages, whether the dynamic be soft or loud. Quit holding and opinion and looking for something and just enjoy the music. It will find you. Expand
  22. RyanM.
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    Emotion with no words. Simply beautiful.
  23. Jordan
    Jan 5, 2008
    9
    Another superb album from the instrumental gurus. This is an album that grows on you, unlike their previous albums which hit you immediately and hit you hard. A more mature, precise, and varied sound may seem good, but to fans of the band's earlier work, these songs are often overlooked, despite their independent beauty. Overall, it is quite the record, with a powerful punch in some Another superb album from the instrumental gurus. This is an album that grows on you, unlike their previous albums which hit you immediately and hit you hard. A more mature, precise, and varied sound may seem good, but to fans of the band's earlier work, these songs are often overlooked, despite their independent beauty. Overall, it is quite the record, with a powerful punch in some songs, and a calming melody in others. Expand
  24. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    Not for someone who is big into their lyrics :-) This is a good instrumental album. They wear their influences on their sleeves. Any instrumental rock bands are always going to be compared to MogwaiElements of Sigure Ros going on
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Uncut
    60
    All Of A Sudden... rather falls under the shadow of Mogwai and Godspeed You! Black Emperor, but there's ample majesty in its climactic moments to recommend it. [Mar 2007, p.79]
  2. Their music though—and probably the reason they’re used to such great effect in “Friday Night Lights”—actually feels more compelling as an accompaniment to visual drama, in part because the internal drama of the songs themselves are really specific and their presentation is a little tired.
  3. Under The Radar
    80
    Honestly, it's been worth the wait. [#16, p.91]