User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 79
  2. Negative: 7 out of 79

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidL.
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    Their best work - without a doubt among the best the genre has offered.
  2. JaddyP
    May 26, 2007
    4
    There is nothing like a winning formula for a band and that is what EITS had for a long time. There guitar heavy post rock was leading for a while in a genre that is essencially past its peak. However on this album it sounds dated and over used and the band would be much better off forcing their musical minds in different directions to keep things a little fresh instead of stale as this There is nothing like a winning formula for a band and that is what EITS had for a long time. There guitar heavy post rock was leading for a while in a genre that is essencially past its peak. However on this album it sounds dated and over used and the band would be much better off forcing their musical minds in different directions to keep things a little fresh instead of stale as this sound has become!! Lets hope they do this on the next outing!! Expand
  3. JesseC
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Pure emotional expression in musical form. Another amazing album from this amazing band.
  4. Dan
    Feb 19, 2007
    4
    This is a dissapointment. Their second album was great, but the next one just ripped off lullabyes and nursery rhymes. This one falls in the middle, but more often, sounds boring and unadventurous. Even when it crescendos, you feel embarrassed for them. I mean, this is the 21st century, and from their songwriting, you'd think they missed the 20th century. Last century's nuanced This is a dissapointment. Their second album was great, but the next one just ripped off lullabyes and nursery rhymes. This one falls in the middle, but more often, sounds boring and unadventurous. Even when it crescendos, you feel embarrassed for them. I mean, this is the 21st century, and from their songwriting, you'd think they missed the 20th century. Last century's nuanced dissonance, complex harmony, diverse sounds... the only influence of the 20th century here is the radio-ready pop punk of the '90s, and a post-psychotherapy Metallica. Flat out, this is boring post-rock. Listen to Canadians Godspeed You! Black Emperor or Do Make Say Think. DMST has an album coming out soon, actually. Expand
  5. tenteri
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    if explosions in the sky would be a painter, it would had painted sky and sea with this.
  6. MarcS
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    Amazing, but not as much as 2003's The Earth is not A Cold Dead Place. I love this band.
  7. StevenG
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Fantastique!!
  8. ColinW
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    This album, just like all of their previous albums, is amazing. Any fan of EITS will love it. And if you never heard of them before do yourself a favor and check out this album, along with everything else they have released.
  9. JimM
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    Just like the waves of the Pacific crashing into the coatline of California, Explosion In the Sky's "All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone" is six tracks of delicate beauty which repeatedly crescendro into guitar might. Each song unfolds with specific, almost scientific, measurement giving the listener an exact taste of the emotion the electricity from their guitars emulate.
  10. FelipeP
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    Perfect and Beautiful!
  11. DavidT
    Feb 23, 2007
    8
    A pretty good album from one of my favorite bands of all time but definitely not my favorite. While I believe their new album shouldnt ever be named in the same sentence as the Earth Is Not A Dead Cold Place, I believe the opening track off the new album...The Birth and Death of a Day is probably one of the greatest composed songs of all time...Easily in my Top 10 Songs of all time.
  12. PatrickO
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Not a replica... this work is their darkest yet, and their most powerful. Kudos to the boys in Austin for this one.
  13. StevenT
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Nothing short of amazing. Those looking for the next blog hype band should look elsewhere.
  14. JohnnyY
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Lost between giving this a 9 or 10, I went with 10 because of the addition of the remix CD, which is really good. Although this is EITS, the sound is a bit different from everything they have done until now, and it really grew on me over time. I think that a lot of reviewers probably based their reviews off of one listen, but this is one that you have to listen to 15 or 20 times before Lost between giving this a 9 or 10, I went with 10 because of the addition of the remix CD, which is really good. Although this is EITS, the sound is a bit different from everything they have done until now, and it really grew on me over time. I think that a lot of reviewers probably based their reviews off of one listen, but this is one that you have to listen to 15 or 20 times before you really start to feel it. And it is an album of feeling, not one that you should sit back and analyze (like all of the jargon spouting hipsters). This is especially emphasized on the beautiful and haunting remixes of the album done by Jesu, Four Tet, and others. I think the band has really tightened and perfected their sound on this album, which is best appreciated without comparing it to their other albums. Expand
  15. TylerD
    Mar 6, 2007
    5
    Absolutely brilliant. Their best work yet, in my opinion. Nothing short of amazing.
  16. DudleyM
    Mar 8, 2007
    7
    A good album, but somewhat disappointing as it does not develop much beyond the "high lonesome post-rock" sound established on previous EITS discs. The first track sounds like it could be a departure, with its heavily distorted power chords and a mid-section that actually rocks, but most of the rest could have come off the last album - all very stylisticly similar, with similar structures A good album, but somewhat disappointing as it does not develop much beyond the "high lonesome post-rock" sound established on previous EITS discs. The first track sounds like it could be a departure, with its heavily distorted power chords and a mid-section that actually rocks, but most of the rest could have come off the last album - all very stylisticly similar, with similar structures and progressions. Still well worth picking up, though - esp the early editions with the remix disc. Expand
  17. Fathoms
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    9.3 (with a bullet) 9.3 out of 10. This is a monumental leap forward for the band. I really didn't think they were capable of making a great album, but they have done it. All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone is a wonderfully concieved post rock effort that wordlessly communicates great depth of feel and momentum. It has this oceanic quality to it, cymbals crash as if immitating violent 9.3 (with a bullet) 9.3 out of 10. This is a monumental leap forward for the band. I really didn't think they were capable of making a great album, but they have done it. All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone is a wonderfully concieved post rock effort that wordlessly communicates great depth of feel and momentum. It has this oceanic quality to it, cymbals crash as if immitating violent waves, pianos glisten as if representing torrential rain, or at other times reverberate as if symbolising flourescent coral reefs. Never has an album cover so perfectly mirrored the music contained within. And with a cover this cool, that's not a bad thing at all. Expand
  18. alanl
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    This is the kind of music you would like to listen to on your way to heaven!
  19. [Anonymous]
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    A little dark and may over use the static a little much but is still a great album
  20. DanB
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    its a good one..check their live show
  21. jq
    Mar 23, 2007
    3
    Does noone else think theyre been writing the same album over and over again?
  22. eh
    Mar 29, 2007
    2
    does no one realize that they are just recycling ideas from a band out of the early 80's... dif juz. take their early work, amplify it a bit and remove the soul and voila! you have EITS.
  23. CarlS
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    This goes way beyond their last album in my opinion, much deeper and more realized. Tracks 3 and 4 are spectacular. The bonus cd of remixes is a very nice addition too and brings and added depth to the music.
  24. RichardH
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    This album was my first exposure to EITS, and I was pleasantly surprised. I listened near bedtime in the dark through headphones and the album's beauty washed over me as though it were a physical experience. Fantastic ambience and moodscaping. The songs each have a tidal quality. The ocean that is their breadth pushes and pulls at the edges of the sonic landscape like waves on a This album was my first exposure to EITS, and I was pleasantly surprised. I listened near bedtime in the dark through headphones and the album's beauty washed over me as though it were a physical experience. Fantastic ambience and moodscaping. The songs each have a tidal quality. The ocean that is their breadth pushes and pulls at the edges of the sonic landscape like waves on a beach. Very enjoyable listen. Expand
  25. NickC
    Apr 30, 2007
    5
    How dissapointing! What a painfully mediocre outing from the band that brought us two awesome, majestic and essential post-rock albums. While no longer a blatant rip-off of Mogwai and Godspeed, All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone just falls flat, sounding instead like a rip off of their older material. The band sounds out of ideas and in a creative slump, afraid to try anything new, How dissapointing! What a painfully mediocre outing from the band that brought us two awesome, majestic and essential post-rock albums. While no longer a blatant rip-off of Mogwai and Godspeed, All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone just falls flat, sounding instead like a rip off of their older material. The band sounds out of ideas and in a creative slump, afraid to try anything new, preferring instead to just re-hash old ideas and formulas. From an engineering perspective, the album sounds half-assed compared to the sheen or their previous work, and there is a horribly distracting and obnoxious slap-delay-echo effect on the drums to attempt to make up for the repetitive drummer's lack of inventive chops. But it just doesn't work. Lacking the bombast and pathos of their previous work, the album seems to just drift, never climaxing or even resolving. I am blwon away by the high praise this album was unduly warranted. I simply can't believe that any of the reviewers have listened to this band's full catalogue, it is truly a step backwards. Give Do Make Say Think's "A History in Rust" a listen if you think this album is good, and prepare to be blown away. Expand
  26. MyeA
    May 2, 2007
    2
    every single eits track has the same principle of build up and release and honestly, it is becoming a little tired now
  27. Devinlakjjsdf;
    May 23, 2007
    9
    I agree this album is amazing. if you listen to the first song and how it explodes into a beautiful song into a galloping like fun jam. This band has so much talent that isnt relized by much people. this album is one of their best and shouldnt be rated low at all.
  28. HollisG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    How can people possibly say this album is boring and praise the new Arcade Fire (good, but infinitely more boring)? This is truly passionate, exciting music by a band that has broken away from convention and created their own style, their own "voice". They don't just begin the album with the burst in "The Birth and Death of the Day", but carry that energy throughout the album in a How can people possibly say this album is boring and praise the new Arcade Fire (good, but infinitely more boring)? This is truly passionate, exciting music by a band that has broken away from convention and created their own style, their own "voice". They don't just begin the album with the burst in "The Birth and Death of the Day", but carry that energy throughout the album in a variety of intricate and beautiful passages, whether the dynamic be soft or loud. Quit holding and opinion and looking for something and just enjoy the music. It will find you. Expand
  29. RyanM.
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    Emotion with no words. Simply beautiful.
  30. Jordan
    Jan 5, 2008
    9
    Another superb album from the instrumental gurus. This is an album that grows on you, unlike their previous albums which hit you immediately and hit you hard. A more mature, precise, and varied sound may seem good, but to fans of the band's earlier work, these songs are often overlooked, despite their independent beauty. Overall, it is quite the record, with a powerful punch in some Another superb album from the instrumental gurus. This is an album that grows on you, unlike their previous albums which hit you immediately and hit you hard. A more mature, precise, and varied sound may seem good, but to fans of the band's earlier work, these songs are often overlooked, despite their independent beauty. Overall, it is quite the record, with a powerful punch in some songs, and a calming melody in others. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Uncut
    60
    All Of A Sudden... rather falls under the shadow of Mogwai and Godspeed You! Black Emperor, but there's ample majesty in its climactic moments to recommend it. [Mar 2007, p.79]
  2. Their music though—and probably the reason they’re used to such great effect in “Friday Night Lights”—actually feels more compelling as an accompaniment to visual drama, in part because the internal drama of the songs themselves are really specific and their presentation is a little tired.
  3. Under The Radar
    80
    Honestly, it's been worth the wait. [#16, p.91]