by U2
  • Record Label: PolyGram
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 2000
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 142

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    This is music. One of the best albums in history. Once you press the play button, you will not be able to stop it. If you have good taste, that is. It unleashes with breakthrough hit "Beautiful Day", a strong super-inspired track. A song that makes you feel. A song that touches. Just like "Walk On", the most deep song on the album. "Stuck In a Moment You Can't Get Out" and "Wild Honey"This is music. One of the best albums in history. Once you press the play button, you will not be able to stop it. If you have good taste, that is. It unleashes with breakthrough hit "Beautiful Day", a strong super-inspired track. A song that makes you feel. A song that touches. Just like "Walk On", the most deep song on the album. "Stuck In a Moment You Can't Get Out" and "Wild Honey" mark U2's best pop moment, with their "sweetness at all". "Elevation" is rock song of the album. It's moving and shaking. It's strong. "Kite" is just as deep and beautiful as "Beautiful Day" and "Walk On". "A Little While", a pretty romantic song. A song that only U2 could make. Actually, this album is an album that only U2 could make.

    The album moves into a dark zone. A "night zone", if you will. "Peace On Earth" and "When I Look At the World" have some of Bono's best lyrics, together with "New York", that strong track at the end of the album. So it all ends with quiet and calm "Grace", a beautiful meltdown. A beautiful closure to a beautiful album. And that feeling of willing for more. Willing to replay the entire album.

    This is U2's finest work. Their greatest moment musically. No one ever got close to music perfection as they did here.
    Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    I grew up listening to this album. I cannot remember life before listening to any of these songs, and wish not to either. To those whom rate this with a zero, you have lost all respect from me.
  3. May 30, 2013
    10
    Excelente Disco A 3 Obra Prima,Depois De The Joshua Tree E Achtung Baby.
    Top All That You Can't Leave Behind.
    1-Walk On
    2-Beautiful Day
    3-Kite
    4-Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of
    5-When I Look At The World
  4. ZackA
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    I thought it was timely and great!
  5. WilliamS
    Sep 21, 2004
    7
    Where is there diversity,this Album sounds and feels one-dimensional. beautiful Day may be their best song ever...
  6. JulianA
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    After a decade of performing for crowds of nearly one-hundred thousand people, U2 released "All That You Can't leave Behind" taking off the layers guitar and effects, and going back to their roots in the 1980's. The effect is a straightforward, graceful, and compelling album. Every song stands out, and the band has never played better.
  7. AngelaJ.
    Sep 10, 2001
    10
    I absolutely love this cd! I like the fact that U2 has gone back to their basics. This album is chock full of strong and soulful songs that remind me of their beginnings in the 80's. Simple, yet strong lyrics and U2 is the best band ever!
  8. DavidM.
    Jul 5, 2002
    10
    Why pick at a really good album. Look at what's out there and then look at this album. In a time where back street and britney are #1 on the billboard, how can you say one bad thing about this album.
  9. Daniel
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    Most overrated album ever
  10. mariamaria
    Feb 8, 2005
    0
    it sucks
  11. JohnB
    Jun 4, 2005
    8
    A good album, if not anywhere near as good as their best. Beautiful Day is one of their best songs, and there are many strong tracks here. it's just.... not as cohesive or strong as a full album as Achtung Baby, The Joshua Tree, or The Unforgettable Fire. Anyway, anyone else find it a bit weird that there was a slew of 0 grades (0, really?) all proclaiming U2 to be sellouts? Whether A good album, if not anywhere near as good as their best. Beautiful Day is one of their best songs, and there are many strong tracks here. it's just.... not as cohesive or strong as a full album as Achtung Baby, The Joshua Tree, or The Unforgettable Fire. Anyway, anyone else find it a bit weird that there was a slew of 0 grades (0, really?) all proclaiming U2 to be sellouts? Whether they're sellouts is debatable, I just find it suspect that so many 0 grades were handed out in a row, all using the same predictable complaint, and the typical "what I say is final, period" type of reasoning. Expand
  12. SmokefreeRodriguez
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    Some of the best songs of the last 10 years are on this CD--U2's best album since Joshua.
  13. JonathanH
    Mar 9, 2007
    0
    U2 can do better than this, POP was their last great album - it could of been even better had they not rushed it because of scheduling. How to dismantle an atomic bomb is even worse though. Can only hope for better things this year - please don't make it 2009!
  14. nickn
    Mar 12, 2009
    6
    The worst album in u2's career happens to be the best reviewed; then again magazines need to advertise big stories--if they don't kiss a little ass then what happens...? magazines and critics have been castrated by the advertisers and multi-billion dollar corporates.
  15. Baconboy
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    Through all the good and bad comments about U2, I have weathered them all and still come to the conclusion that you won't find as much substance in a so-called "Pop band" as you will in U2. Who else can conceive of such ambiguous lyrics that are so wordly, but yet hit home in your heart if you let them in? They are the most uncovered band in the world for a reason, they are so unique Through all the good and bad comments about U2, I have weathered them all and still come to the conclusion that you won't find as much substance in a so-called "Pop band" as you will in U2. Who else can conceive of such ambiguous lyrics that are so wordly, but yet hit home in your heart if you let them in? They are the most uncovered band in the world for a reason, they are so unique it hurts. Expand
  16. MaryP.
    Jun 5, 2004
    7
    I've been a huge U2 fan since the '80s, and I don't understand all this "U2 going back to their roots" hype with ATYCLB. Sure, it's a solid album with some nice melodies, but I've come to expect just a little more than that from U2. Even the most emotional moments, such as "Kite," don't get under my skin the way songs from War, The Unforgettable Fire, The I've been a huge U2 fan since the '80s, and I don't understand all this "U2 going back to their roots" hype with ATYCLB. Sure, it's a solid album with some nice melodies, but I've come to expect just a little more than that from U2. Even the most emotional moments, such as "Kite," don't get under my skin the way songs from War, The Unforgettable Fire, The Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby do. And the lyrics, for the most part, simply don't measure up to Bono's previous work. They almost ruin the otherwise fantastic "Elevation." My favorite tune here is probably "In A Little While." I have the feeling Bono always wanted to be a soul singer like Marvin Gaye or Otis Redding, and I'll be darned if he doesn't nearly pull it off on this track. Well, at any rate I'm glad the album was such a huge commercial success if for no other reason than it might get some younger people interested in U2 and hopefully inspire them to check out some of their earlier work. Expand
  17. Andrew
    Jan 27, 2005
    4
    This record contributes one classic song to the U2 canon: 'Beautiful Day'. Aside from that, it's a tentative album full of straightforward pop-rock songs with unimaginative arrangements and instrumentation. It's predictable, safe, radio-friendly, and generally uninspiring and uninspired. Still, judging by the sales it generated, this record did its job--winning back This record contributes one classic song to the U2 canon: 'Beautiful Day'. Aside from that, it's a tentative album full of straightforward pop-rock songs with unimaginative arrangements and instrumentation. It's predictable, safe, radio-friendly, and generally uninspiring and uninspired. Still, judging by the sales it generated, this record did its job--winning back all of the traditionalist fans that U2 lost by making daring-if-uneven records like 'Pop', 'Passengers', and 'Zooropa'--quite admirably. Recommended for U2 completists only. Expand
  18. ComfortablyNumb
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    U2 sold out by recording such hypocritical, capitalist, disposable, absolutely empty, easy, commercial, sobreexposed, liar and temporary crap. This is just poor dull stuff from a former great band. For the first time The band sounded tired, old, uncreative, lazy, the tunes have run out, the zest is gone. Even the packaging looked bland. LISTEN TO POP INSTEAND, AND AVOID THIS SOUNDTRACK U2 sold out by recording such hypocritical, capitalist, disposable, absolutely empty, easy, commercial, sobreexposed, liar and temporary crap. This is just poor dull stuff from a former great band. For the first time The band sounded tired, old, uncreative, lazy, the tunes have run out, the zest is gone. Even the packaging looked bland. LISTEN TO POP INSTEAND, AND AVOID THIS SOUNDTRACK FOR SISSIES Expand
  19. ChrisC
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    U2 sold out with this corporate garbage. This dull album is just atrocious. This awful record deserves to be played for silly MTV and Grammy reunions. But if you try to sit down and devote the entirety of your attention to the songs, it's disgustingly clear how predictable and disposable the songs really are. It's just a collection of overused, unndderwarmed, midtempo U2 U2 sold out with this corporate garbage. This dull album is just atrocious. This awful record deserves to be played for silly MTV and Grammy reunions. But if you try to sit down and devote the entirety of your attention to the songs, it's disgustingly clear how predictable and disposable the songs really are. It's just a collection of overused, unndderwarmed, midtempo U2 cliches, nowhere near Unforgettable Fire or Joshua Tree. The long-awaited reunion was their worst ever comeback, and their most overhyped. They were 40 years old, but they tried hard to remain young by making the well-known singalongable mainstream anthems that the songs end up having no substance at all. Just disgustingly predictable happy chord sequences that you're supposed to smile and bang your fist at, but you're more likely to want to run and brush your teeth to get the stench of mediocrity out of your brain. Even the song titles are horrendous: 'Beautiful Day', 'Grace', 'Wild Honey', 'Peace On Earth', etc. Listen to those hideous choruses! Pure, unadulterated money grubbing. It was a real shame to saw them go out on such a low note. Everything in U2 since 2000 has been going steadily downhill. This album was just a pretty dirty way of conducting bussiness and shows a lack of respect to their loyal fans, who they obviously believe are a horde of silly persons who will believe anything. U2 sold out with this album. Case closed. Expand
  20. PhilM
    Feb 24, 2005
    1
    I can't understand what people like about this disc. It has almost no redeeming qualities. If you're a U2 worshipper you will like this album, simply because you will force yourself to pretend it's good, even though any clear minded listener will know that the opposite is true. This is the most lame attempt at music ever done. Songs are just horrible, pointless, silly, I can't understand what people like about this disc. It has almost no redeeming qualities. If you're a U2 worshipper you will like this album, simply because you will force yourself to pretend it's good, even though any clear minded listener will know that the opposite is true. This is the most lame attempt at music ever done. Songs are just horrible, pointless, silly, superficial and commercial. For worse, Bono's vocal range isn't there anymore. It's absolutely painful to listen to Bono straining to hit the high notes; there's nothing artful about it. As much as I like U2, I wanted to like ATYCLB. But to me, ATYCLB is inescapably disappointing. This is total sellout time for U2. Expand
  21. Rick
    Feb 24, 2005
    3
    U2 enter the 2000, rocking and a rolling but with Bono's stupid long hair. Bono roars vocally through the opening song but the musical backing is unimaginative, to say the least. A power rock reasonably faced paced ballad, if that makes sense. But, without a single inventive guitar line, with absolutely nothing new and also without much of a pop edge, either. Beautiful day is U2 enter the 2000, rocking and a rolling but with Bono's stupid long hair. Bono roars vocally through the opening song but the musical backing is unimaginative, to say the least. A power rock reasonably faced paced ballad, if that makes sense. But, without a single inventive guitar line, with absolutely nothing new and also without much of a pop edge, either. Beautiful day is reasonably catchy, but Bono sounds raw. ATYCLB it's just so - commercial. So ordinary in it's commercial intent. They play it safe, everywhere. That's about it. This is a fairly unremarkable album, all told. It lacks direction, generally, there seems to be a general laziness surrounding the album. The lyrics are nothing at all, just mere words that mean nothing - just listen to Elevation - there aren't enough ideas in any of these 11 commercials. I say that. U2 can now be classified as a 'veteran' group Expand
  22. [Anonymous]
    Apr 26, 2005
    7
    The first half of this album would score a perfect 10 but once just past the halfway mark, it sounds more like U2 b-sides rather than album-quality material. Still, U2's b-sides are better than most bands' a-sides.
  23. AlbertoM
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    By returning to their roots without loosing edge, they've crafted their best album since "Achtung Baby".
  24. MC
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    for those who voted this badly- inexplicable how you could vote this zero, i can only imagine its for a bit of worthless attention because even a deaf rabbit could understand this is not as bad as you struggle to make out. Admittedly not their greatest, but even their average is fantastic and this isn't average. catchy, inspirational, excellently written, well produced and bloody for those who voted this badly- inexplicable how you could vote this zero, i can only imagine its for a bit of worthless attention because even a deaf rabbit could understand this is not as bad as you struggle to make out. Admittedly not their greatest, but even their average is fantastic and this isn't average. catchy, inspirational, excellently written, well produced and bloody enjoyable. If you have ever heard some of these songs live you will understand their brilliance, u2 continue to produce great records. Expand
  25. KevF.
    May 22, 2007
    9
    This album has on it 2 tracks that for me mark highlights of U2's uniquely spiritual/soulful/philosophical take on the world they inhabit with the rest of us. Beautiful Day is song of soaring hope, faith, and reaching for something better. 'Take me that other place', a refrain which gives guttural voice to the experience of longing and hoping that expresses our humanity. This album has on it 2 tracks that for me mark highlights of U2's uniquely spiritual/soulful/philosophical take on the world they inhabit with the rest of us. Beautiful Day is song of soaring hope, faith, and reaching for something better. 'Take me that other place', a refrain which gives guttural voice to the experience of longing and hoping that expresses our humanity. That other place means many things to many people, but the needing to get there is the same for us all. Kite is an opus of loss and departure. Edge incredibly captures and expresses the deepest of all human emotion in this song, the why, the oh no, the heartbreak and the dignity of our fragile existence. Just listen to what he plays throughout the track. It's as moving as anything I have ever heard. Especially when you consider the lyric, and the background to the track, uncertainty, fragility, and the loss of Bono's father. This for me is why U2 are universally appealing. In a belting stadium sounding way, they are able to uniquely in my opinion, capture, experience and reflect human emotion. All of their albums contain much of the above, but this album, next to How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb, represents this special band perfectly. Expand
  26. PaulT
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    A gorgeous, deeply inspiring collection of heartfelt music. U2 not only made a comeback with this album, they created a masterpiece that will lift your soul and break your heart. Bravo!
  27. Valentina
    Dec 5, 2001
    10
    I haven't to say many words, only: it's MAGIC MUSIC
  28. BB
    Nov 7, 2003
    9
    U2 is quite simply the best rock and roll band of all time. The rolling stones? Give me a beak. Maybe someday U2 will get the media attention they deserve. I am sick of hearing so much hype about the beatles and the rolling stones. U2, with there explosive popularity and awesome music making over the last 20 years, now deserves to be in the same class as those other bands. However, you U2 is quite simply the best rock and roll band of all time. The rolling stones? Give me a beak. Maybe someday U2 will get the media attention they deserve. I am sick of hearing so much hype about the beatles and the rolling stones. U2, with there explosive popularity and awesome music making over the last 20 years, now deserves to be in the same class as those other bands. However, you hardly here about them in the popular news media. The media must be run by 60 year old men. Expand
  29. mickeyP
    Dec 5, 2003
    10
    U2 are STILL one of the greatest rock bands to ever emerge. This CD, as with all their others has the power to move it listeners. There are some uneducated people who will can only appreciate blunt music which pierces the eardrums. However U2 will continue to be one of the greatest bands this world has ever seen.
  30. mickeyP
    Dec 5, 2003
    10
    U2 are STILL one of the greatest rock bands to ever emerge. This CD, as with all their others has the power to move it listeners. There are some uneducated people who will can only appreciate blunt music which pierces the eardrums. However U2 will continue to be one of the greatest bands this world has ever seen.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Stepping outside of their natural environment ensured their longevity in the '90s, stepping back in seems to have given them a fresh boost. For all Zooropa and Pop's pushing of the envelope, limiting themselves to rock's core ingredients has given the band a new challenge. Certainly, not since The Joshua Tree have U2 sounded so like U2 but, with songs of this startling calibre, right now being U2 is no bad thing.
  2. All That You Can't Leave Behind is a rock record from a band that absorbed all the elastic experimentation, studio trickery, dance flirtations, and genre bending of Achtung, Zooropa, and Pop -- all they've shed is the irony. U2 also chooses not to delve as darkly personal as they did on Achtung or Zooropa, yet they also avoid the alienating archness of Pop, choosing to return to the generous spirit that flowed through their best '80s records.
  3. Despite the almost universal hyperbole that has greeted 'All That You Can't Leave Behind', this is no masterpiece. Certainly not by U2's stratospheric standards.