• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2007
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 95
  2. Negative: 28 out of 95

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobbieC
    Sep 27, 2007
    2
    It sucks.
  2. StefanV
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    The best, most emotionally-charged album of 2007, and i listened to the one by Radiohead. Some o fhtis stuff is sheer genius (I Really Want You and Shine On) and some of the average stuff (Carry You Home and Give Me Some Love) is better than most songs you may hear on the radio. Blunt is very good at using his own life experiences in his songs - just listen to Same Mistake. This is a The best, most emotionally-charged album of 2007, and i listened to the one by Radiohead. Some o fhtis stuff is sheer genius (I Really Want You and Shine On) and some of the average stuff (Carry You Home and Give Me Some Love) is better than most songs you may hear on the radio. Blunt is very good at using his own life experiences in his songs - just listen to Same Mistake. This is a talent who isn't selling records, at least this album isn't. Meanwhile, every song off of Rhianna's terrible record is hitting #1. Yes, the state of music today is terrible, and James Blunt is one of the few bright spots. Expand
  3. PaulC
    Sep 18, 2007
    4
    Blunt does for music, what the pea does for soup.
  4. VictorJ.
    Sep 20, 2007
    2
    FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO LIKE JAMES BLUNT PLZ LISTEN TO WEIRD AL your pitiful and Blunt's own rocky raccoon.
  5. t_tmiaokenix
    Apr 4, 2008
    8
    Nothing to complain much.
  6. ShaneC.
    Oct 9, 2007
    1
    1973 is a masterpiece , great, lively,energetic even tho it`s not what he's known for !! The rest of the album made me angry , very very angry !! He sings the same verse over and over , no bridge or chorus, just the same bloody verse over and over for around the duration of lent !! Its the same for around 6 of the song`s ! i guarantee you`ll see this cd being thrown out of car 1973 is a masterpiece , great, lively,energetic even tho it`s not what he's known for !! The rest of the album made me angry , very very angry !! He sings the same verse over and over , no bridge or chorus, just the same bloody verse over and over for around the duration of lent !! Its the same for around 6 of the song`s ! i guarantee you`ll see this cd being thrown out of car windows !!!! Crap , Poo , Shizit , what ever ya want to call it , it`s bad !! Expand
  7. therobbie
    Sep 19, 2007
    7
    I don't think this album is as bad as you say... It has some strong moments and its quite good if you want some easy listening.
  8. KellieA.
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    The first time I heard Beautiful, I had a hard time getting past Jimmy B's voice. It reminded me of Barry Gibb, and I am so past that. However, each time I listened to the song, I felt a little more connected to the sentiment. After hearing the story behind the song, I fell in love. A friend at work lent me Back to Bedlam, and that was it for me. I was completely taken with the The first time I heard Beautiful, I had a hard time getting past Jimmy B's voice. It reminded me of Barry Gibb, and I am so past that. However, each time I listened to the song, I felt a little more connected to the sentiment. After hearing the story behind the song, I fell in love. A friend at work lent me Back to Bedlam, and that was it for me. I was completely taken with the words, and then the voice started lending to the words. All the Lost Souls was everything I expected from a sophomore effort. It is intelligently written with catchy melodies. Most of all, if you have any feelings at all, there are many songs on here that most anyone can connect to on a personal level. It requires more than one listen. Expand
  9. MatthewP.
    Sep 21, 2007
    8
    This album was never going to reach the standards of Back to Bedlam but it isn't a bad attempt! I just think it is really sad that people are judging this album purely because mr blunt is a bit weird! These people are obviously NME readers and deserve nothing but to listen to babyshambles and wank over drugs! For chris c aswell, ryan adams one of the most important artists of our generation.
  10. Laura
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    All that lost souls is PERFECT!
  11. Michaels.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Just brilliant.
  12. JonJon
    Oct 18, 2007
    0
    Why is there not a minus rating for this garbage?
  13. JamesBlunt
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    Oh man god what have I done!
  14. ChickenM.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    I must say, that was quite hilarious.
  15. HaroldG.
    Sep 18, 2007
    0
    Horrid album, then again that is what I expect from James Blunt.
  16. ChrisC.
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    God, this is terrible. I haven't listened to a note but it's terrible. Real terrible. I mean really bad. Like Ryan Adams bad.
  17. JoelJ.
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    Reminds me of some of the music from the 60's and 70's. A good thoughtful songwriter with simple but good backup from his band. A nice change of pace.
  18. SuziZ.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    James Blunt - top again. great album. wonderful voice that you never get tired to listen to.
  19. DeclanM.
    Sep 25, 2007
    0
    Absolute crap as usual from a guy who sings like something is protruding from his rectum.
  20. MichaeltheArchangel
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Flipping haunting, Bloke!
  21. Anthony
    Oct 10, 2007
    0
    I'm sorry... but you'd have to be bordering on insane to like anything about this rubbish.
  22. gigigigi
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    good music.
  23. Zanfirb.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    great songs.
  24. QuangN.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    James, you rulez the soulful music !!!
  25. AWW.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    If you're in the mood to wind down. This album hits the spot. NOT a bad song in the group. Just really really have been enjoying it.
  26. PhilT
    Dec 8, 2007
    0
    Whiny, irrelevant, insincere, insulting, derivative, utter, utter nonsense.
  27. thomy.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    absolutely brilliant!!!!it touched me ,when i sat down to enjoy music on Saturday morning & i really loved it.Trust me its v.good & worth ur money. Blunt bashers will always hate him,but he is an icon!!
  28. JohnC.
    Oct 6, 2007
    9
    Seems like a lot of people don't like the person and are reviewing with that bias in mind. The album itself is great, its better than most of the things i've heard this year. Yes, the songs can be considered on the safe side but theres no throw away tracks or skits to make the cd longer. Give it a try.
  29. EastSide
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    I have this friend that can't wait to go to the record store and buy the new albums by James Blunt and kt tunstall. This is unusual because she normally buys only one album a year. She is so devoid of taste and musical knowledge that when she does indeed buy new music, she purchases whatever the major label conglomerates supply for the shelves of the nearest box retailer. When i ask I have this friend that can't wait to go to the record store and buy the new albums by James Blunt and kt tunstall. This is unusual because she normally buys only one album a year. She is so devoid of taste and musical knowledge that when she does indeed buy new music, she purchases whatever the major label conglomerates supply for the shelves of the nearest box retailer. When i ask her, "why bother?" she answers, "i don't want to be challenged by what i hear, i just want to hear something in the background." to which i answer, "whatever you say, mom." Expand
  30. Eric
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    James Blunt is an amazing talent. His music and lyrics are so good it gives me goosebumps. Blunt is real and honest and it comes through in his music.
  31. Diba
    Sep 18, 2007
    0
    I feel like crying when I see the state of music these days. Rock n Roll used to be about rebellion. Now it seems there is nothing left but James Blunt.
  32. PatrickS
    Sep 19, 2007
    8
    A big improvement over his solid debut. He's getting better and this one should generate a few more hits. It's a much more consistent effort than Back To Bedlam and sounds a lot better too in terms of production and just the music itself. Yes he has a high pitched warbling but it works with the music he writes. Not exactly a rock album, more singer / songwriter pop rock than A big improvement over his solid debut. He's getting better and this one should generate a few more hits. It's a much more consistent effort than Back To Bedlam and sounds a lot better too in terms of production and just the music itself. Yes he has a high pitched warbling but it works with the music he writes. Not exactly a rock album, more singer / songwriter pop rock than anything. It's good, pick it up with you want something that sounds light and mellow and a bit on the emotional side. Expand
  33. AugustM.C.
    Sep 19, 2007
    0
    I must say, while there are quite a few titter-some - and well deserved comments here - it is Eric's 10/10 review that takes the cup for me. It's bitter irony and savage satire are what really make it.
  34. DannyEight
    Sep 19, 2007
    8
    I still think this album goes better under the category of pop rather than rock and that he's done considerably well after such a great/annoying hit like You're Beautiful. My favorite song has to be I Really Want You.
  35. KateB.
    Sep 20, 2007
    1
    I didn't think he could get any more bland, boring and predictable. I gave it 1 because at least I can get some pleasure from it - by stamping on it.
  36. SeanA.
    Sep 21, 2007
    9
    It is such a sad thing when people cannot identify with good music. If you know James Blunt, you should know that he served in the army, whcih is where he draws most of his inspirations from. All the lost souls, is an albyum for the men and women who died in battle. Tracks like "I'll take everything", "Annie", "Same Mistake", "Shine on" are songs of sadness, remdemption, and in my It is such a sad thing when people cannot identify with good music. If you know James Blunt, you should know that he served in the army, whcih is where he draws most of his inspirations from. All the lost souls, is an albyum for the men and women who died in battle. Tracks like "I'll take everything", "Annie", "Same Mistake", "Shine on" are songs of sadness, remdemption, and in my case cheerful and gives my life a meaning. All the lost souls, is the ultimate follow-up to his debut album. Expand
  37. Joe
    Sep 26, 2007
    0
    I hate to sound like an old codger at the ripe age of 30, but Blunt truly represents everything that is wrong with music today.
  38. ArdenW.
    Nov 19, 2007
    0
    No redeeming qualities. Irritating, bland, pass.
  39. EamonD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    1
    The first thing that I thought was bad was the title: "All The Lost Souls" sounds like just another overly-sensitive emo basket case who doesn't know how good he's got it in America. He lives in coddled first world affluence but he still cuts himself: what a great guy! Then I tried listening to the CD itself and found it musically intolerable. I am thinking about ending my The first thing that I thought was bad was the title: "All The Lost Souls" sounds like just another overly-sensitive emo basket case who doesn't know how good he's got it in America. He lives in coddled first world affluence but he still cuts himself: what a great guy! Then I tried listening to the CD itself and found it musically intolerable. I am thinking about ending my friendship with the person who's copy I listened to: it's that bad. I don't want to ever "get" James Blunt, because if I do, it means I've sunk lower than the most loser emo kid who worships him. To anyone who likes him now: in 15 years you will wonder how you ever liked this crap. Blunt is to the 00's what most grunge bands were in the 90's: just a phase that it's fans will outgrow as they gain experience in the real world. Most grunge bands sound dated and lame now, and so will Blunt in 2022. Expand
  40. GrantK.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Does need a few listens, but an excellent album nonetheless.
  41. BorisP.
    Dec 14, 2007
    8
    Very good album. We're waiting for the next one.
  42. StarfishRizzi
    Dec 28, 2007
    8
    Can't understand why he gets so slated by the people so called 'in the know'. Jealousy perhaps? If you don't like the music or his voice, that's your right. But to disparage his composing abilities and his musicality is like saying the Mona Lisa is crap because you don't like her dress! It's a good album. Sometimes I feel his lyrics fit the music rather Can't understand why he gets so slated by the people so called 'in the know'. Jealousy perhaps? If you don't like the music or his voice, that's your right. But to disparage his composing abilities and his musicality is like saying the Mona Lisa is crap because you don't like her dress! It's a good album. Sometimes I feel his lyrics fit the music rather than express something but basically I like it. Expand
  43. justinb.
    Sep 18, 2007
    0
    all you have to do is listen to that "you're beautiful" song once in your life to know you should never listen to this guy again. that song is HORRIBLE! I remember working near some woman's office who kept it on this local station which played this song every hour. i simply could not believe how much they played that crappy song. i wish i could have thrown that radio against the all you have to do is listen to that "you're beautiful" song once in your life to know you should never listen to this guy again. that song is HORRIBLE! I remember working near some woman's office who kept it on this local station which played this song every hour. i simply could not believe how much they played that crappy song. i wish i could have thrown that radio against the wall and set it on fire. the fact is, people like this shit and i still can not figure out why. they must think the music played on the radio is all there is. ok, about this new album. i didn't know it was coming out today till i saw this website, but, i must say it has to suck, there is no way it can not suck! but, i could be wrong. instead, pick up the new akron/family or les savy fav or something with a little more substance. oh, "you're beautiful" is horrible. did i say that already? Expand
  44. ChrisH.
    Sep 18, 2007
    6
    I think that Blunt's first album is a decent freshman effort. Did it merit all of the attention that he received? In my opinion, no. Seeing him perform in front of huge audiences with 'You're Beautiful' was nauseating. Prejudice aside, I am really tickled by this album. It's much better than the first. Whereas the first felt very disjointed and awkward to me, this I think that Blunt's first album is a decent freshman effort. Did it merit all of the attention that he received? In my opinion, no. Seeing him perform in front of huge audiences with 'You're Beautiful' was nauseating. Prejudice aside, I am really tickled by this album. It's much better than the first. Whereas the first felt very disjointed and awkward to me, this album is more solid and enjoyable. The songs are catchy and for fans who either enjoy his voice or the genre that he is in, this is a great album. I'm not a fan, and I see that many other detractors are posting 0 ratings here. Listen to the album and give the guy credit. EastSide: If that's what your friend wants to listen to, so be it. Many challenging albums are released on large record labels. Some labels treat artists well, some don't. James Blunt is excellent background, feel-good music and if that's what your friend likes, stop talking about music with her =). I'm using it to work to =) Harold G: Any actual commentary on why it's horrid? Diba: This isn't supposed to be a rock album. He's a singer / songwriter. This is comparable to Gavin DeGraw or Aqualung. Eric: I liked your review. While I might not agree with it, you expressed your own personal feelings on it. Expand
  45. BrendanD.
    Sep 19, 2007
    0
    This is the worst record I've had to sit through since Vertical Horizon's "Everything You Want." Even Savage Garden's debut tried to write good hooks, even if they were some of the most boring ever put to record. This is the most sterile, boring, and disgusting (in the cleanest sense of the word) excuse for a rock 'n' roll record that I have heard in a very long This is the worst record I've had to sit through since Vertical Horizon's "Everything You Want." Even Savage Garden's debut tried to write good hooks, even if they were some of the most boring ever put to record. This is the most sterile, boring, and disgusting (in the cleanest sense of the word) excuse for a rock 'n' roll record that I have heard in a very long time. Please, for the love of God, don't buy this frigging record! If you do, I will find you, hunt you down, and do things to you that I cannot explain here. Expand
  46. Cult
    Sep 22, 2007
    8
    A worthy sophomore effort. For fans of his voice and style, nothing on this album will disappoint. The songs are catchy, his emotive vocal style still catches the ear, and the lyrics are striking and personal.
  47. MatthewT.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    James is one of the best writers of music I've every listened to, he is amazing, I didn't think he'd ever compete to Back to Bedlam.. but what do you know.. he proved himself!
  48. AndrewV.
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    I need to listen to it more for a few songs to catch on for me. However, I really like the album even after a few listens. The people giving it 0, either give a valid reason other than "it sucks" or get lost. Sorry to sound harsh, but honestly some people like the way he sings and what he stands for. If you are going to talk about crappy music focus on Britney Spears, Paris Hilton and the I need to listen to it more for a few songs to catch on for me. However, I really like the album even after a few listens. The people giving it 0, either give a valid reason other than "it sucks" or get lost. Sorry to sound harsh, but honestly some people like the way he sings and what he stands for. If you are going to talk about crappy music focus on Britney Spears, Paris Hilton and the like who are truly giving music a bad name. Expand
  49. PeterK.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    The lyrics are repetitive and simplistic, but the music is good. I understand his harsh critics points of view, but as I'm not usually interested in pop music I lack the knowledge to judge from a genuinely critical position.
  50. stevenp.
    Sep 27, 2007
    9
    This record by james blunt blew me away... i really think he's touching on something special here. 2007 has brought a lot of bad records to the table (the reminder, panda bears' person pitch, friend opportunity) but this new effort by james blunt is a truly refreshing listen! i believe it will deservedly be held among the years best, and will be fondly remembered in the years to come.
  51. LauraL.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Love his music.
  52. Sandra
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    The guy is handsome, smart, writes most of his own songs, dates models, and is successful. There's a lot for men to envy with this guy -- and the reviews by men are almost universally dripping with malice and personal put-downs. I love this album as much as his first. Bet he sells a bundle of these CD despite the critics.
  53. CarmelC
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Awwh its a heartfelt cd that I am sure was started with great passion hopefully his passion and depth will continue I am sure the 3rd cd will be fab as well. James you're far too hard on yourself, you're by no means a 0 its 10 all the way luv.
  54. CherylW.
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    It is not as good as the first one, but the average is not bad at all. Excellent work for listeners. Like 1973, this is the best piece, but i am still waiting a piece as good as Goodbye my Lover.
  55. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    The start off is brilliant and goes up to the 5th track then there is sharp fall down in the tracks 6 and 7.................the ending is perfect i don't know why but i liked that song very much... :)
  56. Nov 9, 2012
    5
    It has some good lyrics throughout, but the singer, Blunt, doesn't seem very passionate in the way he delivers them.
  57. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    The best album I've heard in my life.
  58. Jul 27, 2017
    10
    James Blunt's best album so far. A great evolution after the well-made "Back to Bedlam", that is already an amazing album. "All The Lost Souls" is a extremely deep, intense, emotional, and nicely executed album.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Here's a set that suggests rock has got its head screwed on straight again, that the path to real feelings need not necessarily be led by Norah Jones.
  2. He shows the abandon and confidence of a long-term artist, not just a one-hit wonder.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Lost improves on the first disc at least five times over, partly because its starker focus might really take you back to...well, certainly not a club, but maybe an AM radio-equipped kid's bedroom circa 1973. [21 Sep 20007, p.80]