All We Are Saying...

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
All We Are Saying... Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jazz guitarist Bill Frisell explores some classic John Lennon tracks with the help of Greg Leisz, Jenny Scheinman, Tony Scherr, and Kenny Wollesen.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    Sixteen radio-length tracks that include a gorgeous, ethereal version of "Across the Universe" whose somber violin and country twang could bring on tears; a honky-tonk take of "Revolution" that makes you want to square-dance; a sleepy, dreamy redo of "Imagine" in which Frisell takes considerable care to pick just the right notes not only when he plays the melody but when he improvises; a folk cover of "Julia" that contains not an ounce of cynicism; and an almost ambient sketch of "Give Peace a Chance" that dares the listener to find the original melody buried deep within.
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    It beings with a cache of Lennon's more familiar songs"Across the Universe," "Revolution," "Nowhere Man," "Imagine"--treated with too much cautious respect. The album's superior stretch takes up what would be Side B of the LP, with a beautifully lilting "Julia," a starkly tender "Woman," a terse, slow-drag "Mother."
  3. For the most part this is a glorious hymn to the art of playing together, of which Lennon would surely approve.
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    As a whole, it feels a bit too laid-back, especially given its nearly 70-minute length.
  5. Mojo
    Jan 12, 2012
    This set stays faithful to Lennon's melodies - like meeting old friends in unexpected but comfy clothes. [Dec. 2011 p. 99]