All We Love We Leave Behind Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the eigth studio release from the Boston metalcore band led by Kurt Ballou.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    100
    All We Love We Leave Behind will sit alongside the very best. [6 Oct 2012, p.53]
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    90
    One of the most spectacular and intense albums the group has released yet.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    90
    All We Love We Leave Behind entices kinetic release in every possible way, irrational and otherwise, allowing unchecked ventilation as means for escape through a medium that has never sounded so engaging.
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    83
    While All We Love lacks cohesion in spots, it solidifies Converge's position as one of hardcore's most progressive yet soulful stalwarts.
  5. Oct 26, 2012
    80
    All We Love We Leave Behind is proof positive that the incandescent flame of Converge's fury is fully under their direct control, and because of this ability to harness their elemental power, the Converge of 2012 sound just as fearless and peerless as ever.
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    80
    That Converge can dabble in so many styles and still inherently come out sounding like themselves is what makes All We Love work.
  7. By trading nonsensical time signatures and atonal bursts for fluidity and stadium rock, they've subtracted from their former wretchedness.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Converge at its best! As always an aggressive fast raw energy with a touch of melody + a couple of mid-tempo songs. Very refreshing. The bandConverge at its best! As always an aggressive fast raw energy with a touch of melody + a couple of mid-tempo songs. Very refreshing. The band stays one of the most respectful in the scene. Collapse
  2. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    Converge are an amazing band. They're very hard to get into tho. It's like diving into cold water. You have to ease yourself in and adjust andConverge are an amazing band. They're very hard to get into tho. It's like diving into cold water. You have to ease yourself in and adjust and next thing you know, you're neck deep and it actually feels quite refreshing. If you're a new listener to Converge, this is actually the best place to start. This is easily their most accessible album. It has a little bit of everything that everyone would like in it. It's not as good as their Jane Doe, however (hence the 9 instead of a 10). Totally a must have album for anyone who loves the metalcore scene. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    Converge are not to everyone's taste, but of course those who love their chaos with a sprinkling of melody and a face churning blast of terrorConverge are not to everyone's taste, but of course those who love their chaos with a sprinkling of melody and a face churning blast of terror that would go unnoticed at the gates of hell are in for a treat with this new album. Just listen, no time for anything else. Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. October's Best New Music

    October's Best New Music Image
    Published: October 31, 2012
    Kendrick Lamar's major-label debut leads the pack of October's best new albums. Get the full list inside, and find streaming audio for most of this month's picks.