Alligator - The National
Alligator Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third LP for the Brooklyn five-piece fronted by deep-voiced Matt Berninger.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    It's their first masterpiece. [Album of the Month, May 2005, p.94]
  2. 100
    "Alligator" is easily the National's best effort and quite possibly one of this year's finest records.
  3. The twilit melodies and Matt Berninger's gossamer vocals will haunt your troubled dreams. [22 Apr 2005, p.64]
  4. The rest of the band plays straight man, setting up Berninger's punchlines and peeling him off the floor at the end of the night.
  5. Part of the problem with Alligator is that it echoes so many other records, but part of its satisfaction is that it sets itself apart so well.
  6. Like R.E.M. when they were good, [The National's] superficially simple songs have a real depth and resonance. [May 2005, p.114]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. bobs
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    brilliant!
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Abel, Lit Up, Secret Meeting, Mr November.... All magical. Every track on here is a National classic. Their breakthrough record and their best work in my humble opinion. One of the records of the 00's. The moods of the songs swerve between a New York night out and the hangover that follows. If you've not gotten into this band yet your missing out big time. Give this a few listens and you'll be hooked on them. I remember hearing Mr November played live in Dublin a while back and it was mind blowing. Expand
  3. WillL
    May 22, 2005
    10
    Just freaking awsome
  4. TomM
    May 22, 2006
    10
    This was one of my favorite albums of the last year, and I give it a very strong recommendation. Listen to this a few times, and you'll be utterly captivated. Expand
  5. SeanO.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    I listen to an awful lot of music and this is one of the most wonderful albums I've come across in a long long time. Wonderful subtle and quirky lyrics, great voice and excellent music. "Just say something perfect, something I can steal Say, look at me Baby, we'll be fine All we've gotta do is be brave and be kind". Expand
  6. BarryS
    Aug 4, 2005
    9
    I dearly love this album It got under my skin by the 3rd listening-pretty unusual. First time since Thomas Jefferson Slave Apartments-Straight To Video album a few years back. I've made sure that everyone I know and care for that appreciates cool music hears it. Funny not one critic has compared that rich baritone to John Stewart! Remember him? Expand
  7. daveh
    Apr 20, 2005
    4
    granted the lead singer has an effecting voice, but this disc is so banal and lifeless - i can think of half a dozen bands doing this much better with much more interesting chord changes and guitar work. i think rolling stone and pop matters had it right. pop matters - a little harsh but not far off. the others all wanna jump on the 'isn't it great' bandwagon. Collapse

See all 50 User Reviews