Alligator

Alligator Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third LP for the Brooklyn five-piece fronted by deep-voiced Matt Berninger.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    "Alligator" is easily the National's best effort and quite possibly one of this year's finest records.
  2. 100
    It is the sound of Interpol as reinterpreted by Tom Waits--a breathtaking album with bite.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    The twilit melodies and Matt Berninger's gossamer vocals will haunt your troubled dreams. [22 Apr 2005, p.64]
  4. Painstakingly crafted, casually baroque music for people who get off a little bit on feeling blue.
  5. [A] fine collection of city-weary poetry.
  6. Part of the problem with Alligator is that it echoes so many other records, but part of its satisfaction is that it sets itself apart so well.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. BrentU
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    A brilliant record! Dimensional, well-produced, and well-written pieces of American rock music.
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Abel, Lit Up, Secret Meeting, Mr November.... All magical. Every track on here is a National classic. Their breakthrough record and their bestAbel, Lit Up, Secret Meeting, Mr November.... All magical. Every track on here is a National classic. Their breakthrough record and their best work in my humble opinion. One of the records of the 00's. The moods of the songs swerve between a New York night out and the hangover that follows. If you've not gotten into this band yet your missing out big time. Give this a few listens and you'll be hooked on them. I remember hearing Mr November played live in Dublin a while back and it was mind blowing. Expand
  3. natej
    May 25, 2005
    10
    takes some time to get into...but onced you do, it's just amazing
  4. PatrickF
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    I can't believe how good this album is. I mean seriously. I had heard "All the Wine" and thought it was a great song, but never had a I can't believe how good this album is. I mean seriously. I had heard "All the Wine" and thought it was a great song, but never had a thought of buying the album. I figured they were a one-hit-wonder. Wow, could I have been more wrong? There is not a weak track on this album. Not one. Do yourself a favor and get this album. Like others have mentioned, give two or three listens and then be amazed. Expand
  5. SteveC
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    Simple - One of the best albums of all time.
  6. JL
    Aug 19, 2005
    9
    This marvelous album didn't need to grow on me; it floored me right out of the box (although it unwisely puts the weakest song first), This marvelous album didn't need to grow on me; it floored me right out of the box (although it unwisely puts the weakest song first), and I almost literally can't stop listening to it as it continually gains dimension. As someone who grew up on Joy Division, I find those comparisons facile and silly -- certainly The National have their post-punk influences, but they are completely themselves on this album and completely comfortable in their own painful skin. Just glorious, end to end. Expand
  7. daveh
    Apr 20, 2005
    4
    granted the lead singer has an effecting voice, but this disc is so banal and lifeless - i can think of half a dozen bands doing this much granted the lead singer has an effecting voice, but this disc is so banal and lifeless - i can think of half a dozen bands doing this much better with much more interesting chord changes and guitar work. i think rolling stone and pop matters had it right. pop matters - a little harsh but not far off. the others all wanna jump on the 'isn't it great' bandwagon. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews