Alphabetical

Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Filter
    84
    Despite the '80s tag and influences worn plainly on sleeves, Phoenix always come across strangely earnest and never cheesy. [#11, p.98]
  2. Alternative Press
    80
    Unbelievably catchy hipster synth-rock. [Sep 2004, p.136]
  3. Uncut
    80
    Like Bread produced by The Neptunes. [Jul 2004, p.110]
  4. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    As airbrushed as an Athena poster, 'Alphabetical' is nonetheless an emotional experience. [19 Jun 2004, p.57]
  5. Full of heat haze lethargy and sun scorched sing-alongs, it’s a resolutely romantic vision of the all American singer-songwriter as viewed through unmistakably French eyes.
  6. Its airily liquid, peculiarly French dance-pop is crafted to be almost entirely unmemorable at first, but upon familiarity grow into a wonderfully subtle, hook-laden album of continent-hopping (sub)urban pop which makes an ideological virtue of its superficiality.
  7. The most sophisicated, deliciously out of step pop album of 2004.
  8. Somehow they straddle the line between fluff and absolutely essential hipness that few attempt, and even fewer succeed at.
  9. Blender
    70
    These songs create a series of vivid but minimal soundscapes. [Sep 2004, p.140]
  10. Chock full of songs that are lounging rather than strictly loungey, cosmpolitan-sounding in a wearing-aviator-shades alongside a large-haired lovely kind of way and blessed with harmonies that fall narrowly on the breezy side of melancholia.
  11. There's something admirable about a record that proves it's possible to remove grit from adult contemporary pop.
  12. Spin
    67
    Imagine if N.E.R.D... were from France and used to make house music before going soft rock. [Aug 2004, p.108]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. PhoebeO
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    I adore this album...and this band...this weekend I am seeing them in concert in Philly! I'm so excited!!
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    My favorite album from them and one of the best albums from the 00s. I adore it's rawness and production they've put into it. Simply anMy favorite album from them and one of the best albums from the 00s. I adore it's rawness and production they've put into it. Simply an amazing piece of work. Full Review »
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    At first you would think that the mellow feel was boring, but phoenix finds a way to make the simple melodies enjoyable and memorable. IAt first you would think that the mellow feel was boring, but phoenix finds a way to make the simple melodies enjoyable and memorable. I especially enjoy the use of marimba sounds in (You Can't Blame it On) Anybody and the feel of Everything is Everything. Full Review »