User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PhoebeO
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    I adore this album...and this band...this weekend I am seeing them in concert in Philly! I'm so excited!!
  2. NathanZ
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Easily in top 10 albums of 2004, it grows and grows....also an act that must be seen live as they are outstanding, "Popmatters" comment was overly subjective and obviously written by some pretentious cretin as the same as "All music Guide!!!!"
  3. gregr
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    simple, catchy, poetic, french..
  4. Shabaroscardela
    Oct 5, 2004
    9
    An album full of contrast. At first it sounds like FM pop but after a few listening you start understanding the sophistication of the musical landscape. Run Run Run , an Hip Hop beat mixes with more jazz and folk influences. Favorite track by far is the poetically induced "I am an actor". Great bootleg remixes available as well. Alphabetical is a natural following to UNITED. Chic An album full of contrast. At first it sounds like FM pop but after a few listening you start understanding the sophistication of the musical landscape. Run Run Run , an Hip Hop beat mixes with more jazz and folk influences. Favorite track by far is the poetically induced "I am an actor". Great bootleg remixes available as well. Alphabetical is a natural following to UNITED. Chic materialism yes. But that is maybe more sub pop than a lot of wanna be cool pretentious indie bands. Expand
  5. Kellylerock
    Sep 22, 2004
    9
    ignore any bad reviews, this is a sublime slice of fresh, gallic indie pop. Phoenix always conjure up a filmic vibe for me, like they would be the kind of band on a cult soundtrack, like The Virgin Suicides or Rushmore (maybe this is because an earlier track was on the Lost in Translation soundtrack and that perfect association kinda stuck). Songs like 'Everything is Everything' ignore any bad reviews, this is a sublime slice of fresh, gallic indie pop. Phoenix always conjure up a filmic vibe for me, like they would be the kind of band on a cult soundtrack, like The Virgin Suicides or Rushmore (maybe this is because an earlier track was on the Lost in Translation soundtrack and that perfect association kinda stuck). Songs like 'Everything is Everything' and 'Love for Granted' sound like they've been in your life forever. The only thing stopping me from giving this a '10' is that the track 'I'm an Actor' doesn't agree with me. Otherwise, an example of how lite guitar pop should be done. Highly recommended. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    At first you would think that the mellow feel was boring, but phoenix finds a way to make the simple melodies enjoyable and memorable. I especially enjoy the use of marimba sounds in (You Can't Blame it On) Anybody and the feel of Everything is Everything.
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    My favorite album from them and one of the best albums from the 00s. I adore it's rawness and production they've put into it. Simply an amazing piece of work.
  8. csv
    Aug 28, 2004
    8
    I think this is a great album! Well some songs are more great than others.. My fav are nr.6,8,9 and of course Everything is Everything :)
  9. matta
    Aug 11, 2005
    8
    A few weak spots (I'm An Actor, anyone? Can anyone honestly say that this track is good?), but for the most part it is great indie/electronic. Several songs sound like singles just waiting to be discovered. Recommended.
  10. DecepticonPom
    Nov 9, 2004
    7
    Bought on impulse as a 2-for-1 double pack with their first album (currently available in Australia), this is a refreshingly warm, lush pop album. Not quite as dynamic as United but very much worth a try. Give it a shot! (Who else prefers to sing "Hocus pocus" instead of "Hopeless hopeless" in 'Everything Is Everything'? - I surely can't be alone!).
  11. LawrenceP
    Aug 21, 2004
    5
    5 good songs = 5. Their first LP is much better. Some of the songs on this LP seem to drag, and that's never a good thing.
  12. bzang
    Aug 11, 2004
    1
    awful awful awful awful. doesn't sound like steely dan or any other lazy touchstone reference. it sounds like something that should be playing in an episode of 'friends.' think twice, please.
  13. andrewe
    Jun 28, 2006
    0
    this is absolutely horrendous music, the least challenging thing ive heard in years. if you like maroon 5 then youll love this crap.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. There are some bands who were just meant to be great pop acts -- pop in the George Michael sense, pop in the Fleetwood Mac sense. Phoenix make music that your mom would like, and it's not a bad thing.
  2. Unbelievably catchy hipster synth-rock. [Sep 2004, p.136]
  3. There's something admirable about a record that proves it's possible to remove grit from adult contemporary pop.