Alphabetical Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second album for the French synth-rock outfit, who attracted some international acclaim with their 2000 debut 'United.'

Top Track

Everything Is Everything
Things are gonna change And not for better Don't know what it means to me But it's hopeless, hopeless Gotta get you home Could be with anyone I... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Filter
    84
    Despite the '80s tag and influences worn plainly on sleeves, Phoenix always come across strangely earnest and never cheesy. [#11, p.98]
  2. Full of heat haze lethargy and sun scorched sing-alongs, it’s a resolutely romantic vision of the all American singer-songwriter as viewed through unmistakably French eyes.
  3. Uncut
    80
    Like Bread produced by The Neptunes. [Jul 2004, p.110]
  4. Blender
    70
    These songs create a series of vivid but minimal soundscapes. [Sep 2004, p.140]
  5. There's something admirable about a record that proves it's possible to remove grit from adult contemporary pop.
  6. Phoenix has created an album that is easy to enjoy whilst listening, but desperately hard to love, and impossible to remember.
  7. There are some bands who were just meant to be great pop acts -- pop in the George Michael sense, pop in the Fleetwood Mac sense. Phoenix make music that your mom would like, and it's not a bad thing.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. gregr
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    simple, catchy, poetic, french..
  2. NathanZ
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Easily in top 10 albums of 2004, it grows and grows....also an act that must be seen live as they are outstanding, "Popmatters" comment was Easily in top 10 albums of 2004, it grows and grows....also an act that must be seen live as they are outstanding, "Popmatters" comment was overly subjective and obviously written by some pretentious cretin as the same as "All music Guide!!!!" Expand
  3. PhoebeO
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    I adore this album...and this band...this weekend I am seeing them in concert in Philly! I'm so excited!!
  4. Kellylerock
    Sep 22, 2004
    9
    ignore any bad reviews, this is a sublime slice of fresh, gallic indie pop. Phoenix always conjure up a filmic vibe for me, like they would ignore any bad reviews, this is a sublime slice of fresh, gallic indie pop. Phoenix always conjure up a filmic vibe for me, like they would be the kind of band on a cult soundtrack, like The Virgin Suicides or Rushmore (maybe this is because an earlier track was on the Lost in Translation soundtrack and that perfect association kinda stuck). Songs like 'Everything is Everything' and 'Love for Granted' sound like they've been in your life forever. The only thing stopping me from giving this a '10' is that the track 'I'm an Actor' doesn't agree with me. Otherwise, an example of how lite guitar pop should be done. Highly recommended. Expand
  5. matta
    Aug 11, 2005
    8
    A few weak spots (I'm An Actor, anyone? Can anyone honestly say that this track is good?), but for the most part it is great A few weak spots (I'm An Actor, anyone? Can anyone honestly say that this track is good?), but for the most part it is great indie/electronic. Several songs sound like singles just waiting to be discovered. Recommended. Expand
  6. csv
    Aug 28, 2004
    8
    I think this is a great album! Well some songs are more great than others.. My fav are nr.6,8,9 and of course Everything is Everything :)
  7. andrewe
    Jun 28, 2006
    0
    this is absolutely horrendous music, the least challenging thing ive heard in years. if you like maroon 5 then youll love this crap.

See all 13 User Reviews