Alright, Still

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Allen has fused together a uniquely acidic brand of pop, and the icing on the cake is that brutally barbed tongue.
  2. The female Mike Skinner? She's far, far better than that.
  3. A great summer record it remains, even in the dead of winter.
  4. MSN Consumer Guide (Robert Christgau)
    91
    Only two songs ring false. [Feb/Mar 2007]
  5. Blender
    90
    What's amazing about Alright, Still is how similar the girl with the blog is to the girl with the hit record. [Mar 2007, p.129]
  6. Like Blondie circa 1981, Allen breathes needed fresh air into the game.
  7. 86
    A seeping, heaving summer album through and through.
  8. In terms of a debut record-- and especially given the weight of expectation placed on her to deliver something special-- Alright, Still isnâ??t anything else but a fantastic success.
  9. Sheâ??s funky, confident and fun, and thatâ??s just on the first song.
  10. Pop music needed saving and in Lily Allen we've found just the woman to do it.
  11. Uncut
    80
    This may just be [the] finest pop break-up album since [Justin] Timberlake's Justified. [Aug 2006, p.95]
  12. Mojo
    80
    A blast from start to finish. [Aug 2006, p.102]
  13. The music deliberately sits somewhere between glossy and unobtrusive. It shimmers enough to mask Allen's tepid singing voice but remains far enough away to allow her largest asset -- her snappy personality -- to take charge.
  14. Under The Radar
    80
    Allen [is] one of the wittiest new voices in pop. [#16, p.89]
  15. Spin
    80
    Alright's sparkly high-life beats... all gleam with upmarket panache. But strong medicine always requires a little sugar. [Feb 2007, p.82]
  16. As much of a cliché as it is, you're either going to love Allen or hate her.
  17. If the pop dreams get slightly tarnished by the graffiti put-downs of 'Not Big' (her ex has a 'size problem') and 'Alfie' (her brother smokes too much dope) then that's not too worrying. With a personality this size, this isn't the last time you'll be hearing from her.
  18. A simple, smart pop record by one of the most charismatic young talents to come along in a while.
  19. Enough of Alright, Still works -- as pure pop and on the meta level Allen aims for -- to make the album a fun, summery fling, and maybe more.
  20. An incisive and funny introduction to the 21-year-old English singer.
  21. She never sounds like she's trying too hard.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 49
  2. Negative: 10 out of 49
  1. Sep 9, 2015
    8
    Though it feels quite derivative of pissy Brits that have come before, I LOVE PISSY BRITS! I find this album to be super fun and has a soundThough it feels quite derivative of pissy Brits that have come before, I LOVE PISSY BRITS! I find this album to be super fun and has a sound that feels like a breathe of fresh air. I love the pace of the album and each song has a special place for me... plus, I find the lyrics to be genuine, which is always what I'm looking for! Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    8
    I laughed a lot with this album. Lily just explores things through other points of view. She's literal: she doesn't need to say what sheI laughed a lot with this album. Lily just explores things through other points of view. She's literal: she doesn't need to say what she believes with metaphors, she just says what she feels with the words she feels. All tracks are catchy and lovely. Her voice is sweet, and the music is just great. I really enjoyed this album: it's hilariously good! Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    The best of britpop began with this beautiful pin-up album from Lily Allen. She setted again the fire for the pop from the Great Britain, withThe best of britpop began with this beautiful pin-up album from Lily Allen. She setted again the fire for the pop from the Great Britain, with different style. We get the best from her in 'Alfie', 'Smile' and 'LDN', songs that remind us from the very first beggining of the knockout of England, musically speaking. Full Review »