User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 124

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LoLa
    Jul 21, 2007
    5
    Really enjoyed some of her tracks......but listening to the album straight through is a straight bore. She has this nonchalant monotone voice that gets on your nerves after 4 songs.
  2. petec
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    I thought this album was really good! Its way different to other pop albums and Lily uses really new and unique lyrics! She also deals with issues which teens can relate to! Such as having an annoying sibling (Alfie) or finding out people arent true friends (friend of mine)! This is a must have album in my opinion!
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    The best of britpop began with this beautiful pin-up album from Lily Allen. She setted again the fire for the pop from the Great Britain, with different style. We get the best from her in 'Alfie', 'Smile' and 'LDN', songs that remind us from the very first beggining of the knockout of England, musically speaking.
  4. VincentH.
    Feb 20, 2007
    3
    Good...but not great...and not anything close to a masterpiece, despite what some reviewers/hype-bloggers have been saying. I'd heard Smile on TV a few times here and there, and liked it, but it was really LDN that did it for me. This song is like a pop lover's wet-dream, so of course I loved it, but the rest of the album is kinda dissapointing. It's not necessarily bad at Good...but not great...and not anything close to a masterpiece, despite what some reviewers/hype-bloggers have been saying. I'd heard Smile on TV a few times here and there, and liked it, but it was really LDN that did it for me. This song is like a pop lover's wet-dream, so of course I loved it, but the rest of the album is kinda dissapointing. It's not necessarily bad at all...in fact...it's really listenable and all the songs are well-arranged and clever...they just all blend into each other. None of the melodies (besides LDN and Smile) really stick in your head afterwards and despite the overall happy-vibe of the album, it just didn't stick. Like I said, I can't actually find fault with any specific songs, due to the fact I couldn't tell them apart. The whole thing just kinda dragged and bored me (and it's only like 35 minutes long!!). I would recommend waiting for this CD cheap in your local used CD shop until you buy. Expand
  5. OrlandoC
    Mar 28, 2007
    3
    Trash trash trash
  6. scummerb
    Apr 15, 2007
    3
    not much good
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    There are no bad songs on this album. This will always be my favorite CD and Lily will always be one of my favorite singers. The best track is probably "Friday Night".
  8. [Anonymous]
    Oct 24, 2006
    0
    Why do we have to be subjected to another talentless Brit Pop waste of space. I wouldn't buy this even if it were the last album on the face of the planet
  9. wander
    Jan 30, 2007
    8
    good lyrics and sound, very funny and honest
  10. olit
    Feb 15, 2007
    0
    crap
  11. AntoineG
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    Catchy tunes, the overall quality is high
  12. matta
    Aug 14, 2006
    9
    People who rate this album low are trying way too hard to be cool. Like last year's Annie-Anniemal disc, this is just pure pop music, and anyway who thinks its overproduced, or the lyrics are cheesy need to lighten up (or just stick with tv on the radio).
  13. GretchenV
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    I think Lily is truly a unique talent. Could the music be a little more gritty like her lyrics, sure, but the bubble gum makes the lyrics seem sarcastic and silly. I love the giggle I get just listening to her make light of getting her friends to beat up her ex.....it's classic.
  14. saramcg
    Jan 2, 2007
    5
    Bland and dull. Why such a success - well because Lily is brilliant at being ... well ... Lily Allen. But musically? Its nothing much. poppy, ephemeral, quick to date and really a bit vapid. Prediction: 1 more album, then an acting - or possibly presenting - career will beckon. She's good, but not neccesarily at this. She is also - lets be honest - just a tad irritating.
  15. HenrikA
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    a really refreshing album with varation in the songs, lots of really good songs and few stinkers makes this a good buy for anyone that likes this kind of music. Personal favorites: 1. Littlest Things 2. Alfie 3. Smile 4. Not Big 5. Friday Night I won't push it as far as to give it a 10 because there are better albums out there but still, it's a pretty darn good album.
  16. Seeds13
    Feb 9, 2007
    5
    4 points go to Lily's legs. 1 point for the music. Dull. Belongs in an elevator. When will we divide music into two groups: people who are musicians, and people who make music. Lily Allen belongs to the latter.
  17. GraemeS
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    this has been my favourite cd for months now....superb
  18. b
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    this is bubblegum music with an edge.....she brought salvation to ska and rescue to pop....and does it with more wit than most platinum music stars today
  19. time
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    I paid $23 for this record and I have to say it was worth every penny. Yes she's brash, arrogant, rude and perverse but that's what makes her so endearing.
  20. ixata
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    i dont understand it why some people n critics gave dis album less than 7... its fresh n maddeningly catchy n outspoken 4 sumone who's just debuted in d music scene.. I love every track n Litllest Things is very classical!
  21. Tasmin
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    It is a very good album and my favourite song is 'Smile'!!
  22. GraemeR
    Jul 29, 2006
    2
    Smells a little too much of major record label involvement to be the 'real thing'. She signed her record deal with EMI in 2005, which takes all of the truth out of her coming through myspace. Oh well, we always get the pop music we deserve
  23. FionaL
    Jul 30, 2006
    3
    I'll give it to her, she has a good voice. But the music is so overproduced and the lyrics vapid. Sorry, I don't get it.
  24. peterc
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    brilliant.
  25. JuniorB
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    Lily brings indie pop to another level, combining ska, hip hop, calypso, & other genres into her music. Best Songs - LDN, Smile, Knock'em Out, Nan You're a Window Shopper. Also look out for Kooks cover song Naive. Also Stylus and Slant magazines reviews are straight bullshit, obviously myspace backlash or they don't like her character which has nothing to do with a music Lily brings indie pop to another level, combining ska, hip hop, calypso, & other genres into her music. Best Songs - LDN, Smile, Knock'em Out, Nan You're a Window Shopper. Also look out for Kooks cover song Naive. Also Stylus and Slant magazines reviews are straight bullshit, obviously myspace backlash or they don't like her character which has nothing to do with a music review. Revenge is imminent. Expand
  26. MichaelW
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    2nd best album of 2006 (after Arctic Monkeys), but I guess it'll be for 2007 thanks to Capital.
  27. MartinS
    Feb 26, 2007
    8
    I'm probably like some starved beachcomer stubling on a saltine but after the last year of switch stations when a Gwen Stefani song comes on this album is a real breath. Let's hope it starts a trend.
  28. BenK
    May 11, 2007
    9
    Although there are weak spots on the album, it is generally a pretty solid effort. Lily's music both quirky and original. Her lyrics are very straight-forward and witty, with really blunt innuendo. I enjoy her music a lot...."Everything's Just Wonderful" and "Alfie" are just amazing.
  29. ashs
    Jul 27, 2007
    0
    disgusting!
  30. Andrew
    Jul 25, 2006
    9
    so deliciously fun and mischievious. if you are the type to trash a cheating ex and shake ur stuff for someone new at the same time, why even hesistate? very british, a lot of attitude, a total firecracker. i give it a 9 only cuz a few songs (like alfie) just completely dont fit on the album...or to who she is.
  31. KeleO
    Aug 12, 2006
    3
    One of her legs is shorter than the other! Shite!
  32. JeyB
    Feb 16, 2007
    8
    Even though this album would be called by most critics as a pop album for those who don't like pop music, I want to make one thing clear, pop music means popular music and if it's popular, than something must have been done right. Lilly Allen did it! Her album is fresh and open to anyone. I really enjoyed her outer naivety when I otice her iner wisdom. This album is worth to stop!!
  33. MattD.
    Feb 22, 2007
    5
    Too many bratty lyrics - Slant Magazine is right that Pink is much more authentic. The sound has interesting sonics in spots, but really there is better out there - Casey Dienel and Madeline to name a couple.
  34. SeanP.
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Totally infectious. The production ranges from acceptably catchy to downright innovative. Some are complaining about her contempt for everything, but this isnt any darker than, say, Eminem, or The Good The Bad and The Queen's anti-war album. It's just telling it like it is. It adds grittiness to the sunshiney and poppy surface. The melodies are always catchy, the hooks are Totally infectious. The production ranges from acceptably catchy to downright innovative. Some are complaining about her contempt for everything, but this isnt any darker than, say, Eminem, or The Good The Bad and The Queen's anti-war album. It's just telling it like it is. It adds grittiness to the sunshiney and poppy surface. The melodies are always catchy, the hooks are strong, and her vocal style is unique, not quite singing, not quite spoken word. Therefore, one cannot judge her voice using those standards. Expand
  35. ChrisW
    Mar 18, 2007
    8
    A nice suprise of a CD. I really thought it was going to be crap, but it turns out to be pretty good. She's got a long way to go musically and this cd shows that she has more potential than any American Idol artist besides Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood.
  36. HilaryS
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    very original with a unique happy pop sound and contrasting lyrics. love it.
  37. caseyAr!dubya
    May 17, 2007
    10
    Not as good as her earlier work. Just kidding. I just wanted to use the most common phrase on this website. A thrilling mess of talent.
  38. KhalidB
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    put it like this, the cd has 2 crappy toons, and everything else is good, an amazing example of a good song is Everything is just wonderful, i wish that were the third single,instead of alfie, which i find great, but dosent feel like a single. Anyways Great cd lily
  39. Aug 24, 2010
    6
    I bought this album in my younger, Pop-loving days, and remember thoroughly enjoying it upon first listening. Highlights include "Knock 'Em Out" (the chorus makes that song. A poppy, interesting and catchy tune.) and "Take What You Take", (good lyrics and the appropriate pop voice) although there is some less-worthy songs on here. These include "Friday Night" (just, not a very good song.I bought this album in my younger, Pop-loving days, and remember thoroughly enjoying it upon first listening. Highlights include "Knock 'Em Out" (the chorus makes that song. A poppy, interesting and catchy tune.) and "Take What You Take", (good lyrics and the appropriate pop voice) although there is some less-worthy songs on here. These include "Friday Night" (just, not a very good song. uninteresting and irritating) and "Friend Of Mine" (frankly, boring.)
    While the album is mainly made up of good tracks, it also includes not-so-good tracks, and, while this is acceptable, her singing voice is barely past satisfactory either. Coming from her rich background, the album has a strong feel of "I DID NOT WRITE THESE LYRICS, AND NEITHER DO I FEEL THEM!" and although she fits in perfectly with "Take What You Take" and few others, most songs seem out of her genre. Better luck fitting in next time Lily.
    6/10. Why? Because while the album includes good songs, she isn't amazingly talented and doesn't sport the greatest of personalities, which reflects in her songs to create a more manufactured feel across the otherwise satisfactory record.
    Expand
  40. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    "Alright, Still" is one of that few albums that manages to create a pop sound and incorporate sarcasm in it - it's just wonderful. Try the deluxe version - you'll be surprised.
  41. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    "Alright, Still" is an album that sounds catchy as the nursery rhymes with mature lyrics. The album is pop with Caribbean influences and the soft voice which make it sounds so entertaining. It stays away from the generic mainstream pop sound and it sounds cool as ever.
  42. Jul 25, 2012
    7
    Mixing clever lyrics with some nice tunes and plenty of samples thrown on top, Alright Still is something fresh and different. Released when it was fashionable to sing with a strong accent (Arctic Monkeys, Kate Nash all on the scene at this time), this can grate a little when listening to it now. Although a totally different genre, I find this record almost like a sister album to theMixing clever lyrics with some nice tunes and plenty of samples thrown on top, Alright Still is something fresh and different. Released when it was fashionable to sing with a strong accent (Arctic Monkeys, Kate Nash all on the scene at this time), this can grate a little when listening to it now. Although a totally different genre, I find this record almost like a sister album to the Arctic Monkeys "Whatever You Say I Am...". Tales of daily life and weekend nights out portrayed using clever lyrics and accented vocals. Alright Still - not usually my kind of thing but I enjoy listening to it. Well worth a listen. Expand
  43. Dec 29, 2014
    6
    Frank, bold and... very British. Lily Allen's debut features much more than unique vocals: you'll find fun beats and forever catchy hits, such as: 'LDN' and 'Smile.'
  44. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Genius pop music and one of the most pleasant-sounding albums I have ever heard. Just sunny, sassy, British pop music. LDN is one of the Top 5 best pop songs of the 2000s, in my opinion. One of my favorite albums ever, actually. Yeah, it's good.
  45. May 12, 2014
    5
    This is ok. Sme songs are better than others and I particularly liked the lyrics to 'Friend of Mine', The main reason I bought the album ,though, was for the track entitled 'Littlest Things' Which sets the beautiful main theme from the 1974 film 'Emmanuelle' to lyrics. I am somewhat amazed that permission was granted to do this.
  46. Apr 16, 2014
    8
    I laughed a lot with this album. Lily just explores things through other points of view. She's literal: she doesn't need to say what she believes with metaphors, she just says what she feels with the words she feels. All tracks are catchy and lovely. Her voice is sweet, and the music is just great. I really enjoyed this album: it's hilariously good!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Lyrically, Allen spins the street-slang tales of blowjobs and booze told with varying success by everyone from The Streets to Shampoo.
  2. Sheâ??s funky, confident and fun, and thatâ??s just on the first song.
  3. For now, it's way more than a stop-gap but sadly not the second coming you might have been hoping for.