Alright, Still - Lily Allen
Alright, Still Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This debut album from the British singer (and daughter of actor Keith Allen) mixes pop with ska and reggae.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Allen has fused together a uniquely acidic brand of pop, and the icing on the cake is that brutally barbed tongue.
  2. Only two songs ring false. [Feb/Mar 2007]
  3. Like Blondie circa 1981, Allen breathes needed fresh air into the game.
  4. The music deliberately sits somewhere between glossy and unobtrusive. It shimmers enough to mask Allen's tepid singing voice but remains far enough away to allow her largest asset -- her snappy personality -- to take charge.
  5. As much of a cliché as it is, you're either going to love Allen or hate her.
  6. Enough of Alright, Still works -- as pure pop and on the meta level Allen aims for -- to make the album a fun, summery fling, and maybe more.
  7. Alright Still is nothing more than pop for people who hate pop music, poptimist Quorn, phony music for people who can't let go of their inhibitions (indie-bitions?) and have to have their music classified as REAL.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 47
  2. Negative: 10 out of 47
  1. petec
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    I thought this album was really good! Its way different to other pop albums and Lily uses really new and unique lyrics! She also deals with I thought this album was really good! Its way different to other pop albums and Lily uses really new and unique lyrics! She also deals with issues which teens can relate to! Such as having an annoying sibling (Alfie) or finding out people arent true friends (friend of mine)! This is a must have album in my opinion! Expand
  2. ixata
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    i dont understand it why some people n critics gave dis album less than 7... its fresh n maddeningly catchy n outspoken 4 sumone who's i dont understand it why some people n critics gave dis album less than 7... its fresh n maddeningly catchy n outspoken 4 sumone who's just debuted in d music scene.. I love every track n Litllest Things is very classical! Expand
  3. caseyAr!dubya
    May 17, 2007
    10
    Not as good as her earlier work. Just kidding. I just wanted to use the most common phrase on this website. A thrilling mess of talent.
  4. b
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    this is bubblegum music with an edge.....she brought salvation to ska and rescue to pop....and does it with more wit than most platinum music this is bubblegum music with an edge.....she brought salvation to ska and rescue to pop....and does it with more wit than most platinum music stars today Expand
  5. KhalidB
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    put it like this, the cd has 2 crappy toons, and everything else is good, an amazing example of a good song is Everything is just wonderful, put it like this, the cd has 2 crappy toons, and everything else is good, an amazing example of a good song is Everything is just wonderful, i wish that were the third single,instead of alfie, which i find great, but dosent feel like a single. Anyways Great cd lily Expand
  6. May 12, 2014
    5
    This is ok. Sme songs are better than others and I particularly liked the lyrics to 'Friend of Mine', The main reason I bought the albumThis is ok. Sme songs are better than others and I particularly liked the lyrics to 'Friend of Mine', The main reason I bought the album ,though, was for the track entitled 'Littlest Things' Which sets the beautiful main theme from the 1974 film 'Emmanuelle' to lyrics. I am somewhat amazed that permission was granted to do this. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Oct 24, 2006
    0
    Why do we have to be subjected to another talentless Brit Pop waste of space. I wouldn't buy this even if it were the last album on the Why do we have to be subjected to another talentless Brit Pop waste of space. I wouldn't buy this even if it were the last album on the face of the planet Expand

See all 47 User Reviews