Alright, Still - Lily Allen
Alright, Still Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This debut album from the British singer (and daughter of actor Keith Allen) mixes pop with ska and reggae.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. The female Mike Skinner? She's far, far better than that.
  2. A great summer record it remains, even in the dead of winter.
  3. Like Blondie circa 1981, Allen breathes needed fresh air into the game.
  4. 80
    Alright's sparkly high-life beats... all gleam with upmarket panache. But strong medicine always requires a little sugar. [Feb 2007, p.82]
  5. If the pop dreams get slightly tarnished by the graffiti put-downs of 'Not Big' (her ex has a 'size problem') and 'Alfie' (her brother smokes too much dope) then that's not too worrying. With a personality this size, this isn't the last time you'll be hearing from her.
  6. She never sounds like she's trying too hard.
  7. Alright Still is nothing more than pop for people who hate pop music, poptimist Quorn, phony music for people who can't let go of their inhibitions (indie-bitions?) and have to have their music classified as REAL.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 46
  2. Negative: 10 out of 46
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Genius pop music and one of the most pleasant-sounding albums I have ever heard. Just sunny, sassy, British pop music. LDN is one of the Top 5 best pop songs of the 2000s, in my opinion. One of my favorite albums ever, actually. Yeah, it's good. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    "Alright, Still" is one of that few albums that manages to create a pop sound and incorporate sarcasm in it - it's just wonderful. Try the deluxe version - you'll be surprised. Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    There are no bad songs on this album. This will always be my favorite CD and Lily will always be one of my favorite singers. The best track is probably "Friday Night". Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2014
    8
    I laughed a lot with this album. Lily just explores things through other points of view. She's literal: she doesn't need to say what she believes with metaphors, she just says what she feels with the words she feels. All tracks are catchy and lovely. Her voice is sweet, and the music is just great. I really enjoyed this album: it's hilariously good! Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    The best of britpop began with this beautiful pin-up album from Lily Allen. She setted again the fire for the pop from the Great Britain, with different style. We get the best from her in 'Alfie', 'Smile' and 'LDN', songs that remind us from the very first beggining of the knockout of England, musically speaking. Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2012
    7
    Mixing clever lyrics with some nice tunes and plenty of samples thrown on top, Alright Still is something fresh and different. Released when it was fashionable to sing with a strong accent (Arctic Monkeys, Kate Nash all on the scene at this time), this can grate a little when listening to it now. Although a totally different genre, I find this record almost like a sister album to the Arctic Monkeys "Whatever You Say I Am...". Tales of daily life and weekend nights out portrayed using clever lyrics and accented vocals. Alright Still - not usually my kind of thing but I enjoy listening to it. Well worth a listen. Expand
  7. May 12, 2014
    5
    This is ok. Sme songs are better than others and I particularly liked the lyrics to 'Friend of Mine', The main reason I bought the album ,though, was for the track entitled 'Littlest Things' Which sets the beautiful main theme from the 1974 film 'Emmanuelle' to lyrics. I am somewhat amazed that permission was granted to do this. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews