AM - Arctic Monkeys
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 392 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 392

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    After two records that raised questions among fans of the bands early hit singles, Sheffield's coolest foursome return with what is essentially a pop masterpiece.
    AM, which has been a massive hit, is the bands most instantly gratifying album and has more hit singles than anything else they've done. "Humbug" was a tough but rewarding nut to crack. "Suck it and See" was pleasant enough but
    After two records that raised questions among fans of the bands early hit singles, Sheffield's coolest foursome return with what is essentially a pop masterpiece.
    AM, which has been a massive hit, is the bands most instantly gratifying album and has more hit singles than anything else they've done. "Humbug" was a tough but rewarding nut to crack. "Suck it and See" was pleasant enough but the band seemed a bit unsure of itself for the first time. AM is the opposite of these two albums. It's almost as if Alex Turner taught about what the masses would be looking to listen to in 2013, wrote an album based on his predictions and subsequently hit the jackpot.

    The bands sounds has almost completely moved from their very brit-rock sounding debut to a very much American sound, which shouldn't be a surprise as the band now spend lots time there. Despite its pop values AM has plenty of the Arctic Monkeys best traits - epic songs, layers of ridiculously catchy melodies and even if there not Turner's best, clever lyrics. AM is indie guitar music given an "urban" feel through the presence of falsetto's throughout the album. Pretty much everything about this album is good - the songs, production, sequencing, playing and innovation. One of those rare albums that just doesn't have a bad track on it. Definitely one of the albums of 2013
    Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    Since Humbug was dropped in 2009, Arctic Monkey' sound was never as it was like it was on their first two records. Since then, with Suck It & See and now AM, they've built on this psychedelic, 70's garage rock sound, & with this record they've officially mastered it. "Arabella" is a punchy track with Alex' clever wordplay, Sabbath like guitar riffs and a slick garage-y production. Also, aSince Humbug was dropped in 2009, Arctic Monkey' sound was never as it was like it was on their first two records. Since then, with Suck It & See and now AM, they've built on this psychedelic, 70's garage rock sound, & with this record they've officially mastered it. "Arabella" is a punchy track with Alex' clever wordplay, Sabbath like guitar riffs and a slick garage-y production. Also, a slight influence of hip-hop on this record.

    All In All, AM might be their second or third best record so far, but it's also an album of Los Angeles rock at it's finest. B+
    Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Apart from a couple of tracks, this album has some of the most exciting rock music I've heard in a long time. Some very great guitar work in here. Not to mention the vocals and lyrics. I'm very glad to have heard this.
  4. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    People are claiming that this is the best the band has been since their debut, and I definitely agree with that, even though I love all their albums. My expectations immediately shot to the ceiling with “Do I Wanna Know?”. It found the band in an entirely new place, riding this slick slow-burning groove with great guitar work & a new-found vibe that's, for lack of a less corny term,People are claiming that this is the best the band has been since their debut, and I definitely agree with that, even though I love all their albums. My expectations immediately shot to the ceiling with “Do I Wanna Know?”. It found the band in an entirely new place, riding this slick slow-burning groove with great guitar work & a new-found vibe that's, for lack of a less corny term, sexy. If I had to describe this album in one word, it would be 'cool'. Every aspect, from the guitar riffs to the grooves to the vocal delivery, has this attitude-filled charm to it that's just irresistible. It seems like this time around, Alex has basically embraced his coolness, rather than being somewhat tongue-in-cheek & ironic about it like he did on past albums, only emphasized by the rock-n-roll-badass style/image he's adopted lately. Of course this implies that AM has its own “sound” within the band's discography, but there are still comparisons to past albums to be made. For example the songs that fit this style I'm talking about the most sound to me like what would happen if Humbug walked into a smokey bar full of greasers in the 50's. Then the first 2 albums follow him in & we get “R U Mine?” & “I Want It All”, a pair of raw infectious riff-rockers. But there are also moments that are entirely new territory, like downbeat ballads “No. 1 Party Anthem” & “Mad Sounds”. Some new instrumental & compositional ground are covered too, like in the acoustic guitars & busy tom-heavy drumming on “Fireside”, or the on-beat piano chords in “Snap Out of It”. I was partially afraid going in that this album would be nice to listen to but kinda blend from track to track without much changing up, but thanks to songs like these it never gets dull for me.

    The lyrics on this album are worth noting too, though not quite as much. At first it just kinda sounded like run-of-the-mill breakup lyrics. But then I started to pick up a vague storyline, which followed the fallout of a messy relationship in the first third, then the narrator slipping into sadness about it while listening to music at the bar in the second third, then him drunkenly attempting to get the girl back through phone calls in the last third. Maybe I'm reading into it too much but that's my interpretation. There are 2 things about this that interested me. First, I love that despite AM's smooth feel musically/sonically, Alex (the main songwriter) didn't try desperately to match that in his lyrics through sex talk, which was another minor worry I had going in. And it says a lot that he's able to still come off likeable in the last third, where he plays the pathetically bitter & jealous ex, is really to be attributed to how extremely well-written & chock full of great imagery the lyrics are. As for any gripes, there are really only 2 I can think of. The more nitpicky one is that the guitar part in the chorus of “Arabella” is almost an exact copy of Bad Company's “Feel Like Makin Love”, and that can get a bit distracting to me. But the bigger one is that the last track “I Wanna Be Yours” just kind of annoys me. It's fine musically as a closer be the lyrics consist of awful pickup lines that feel like leftovers from Weird Al's “Wanna B Ur Lovr” that were rejected for barely not being so-bad-it's-good enough.

    Overall, I really loved AM. I'm curious to see where Arctic Monkeys will go sound-wise for their next album. And when you've got people already thinking about that positively, you gotta be doing something right.

    Top 5 tracks: Do I Wanna Know?, Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High?, R U Mine?, Snap Out of It, I Want It All
    Score: 86/100
    (Longer review can be found on my Facebook page "That Non-Elitist Music Fan".)
    Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Arctic Monkeys have definitely taken a turn with this release and with the wild success of singles 'R U Mine' and 'Don't You Wanna Know', high expectations were held for AM. Unfortunatley the rest of the album does not live up to the two leading singles. Twelve dark tales of desire and yearning, AM is a sleezy night out with the boys, where they sing about hooking up and closing more thanArctic Monkeys have definitely taken a turn with this release and with the wild success of singles 'R U Mine' and 'Don't You Wanna Know', high expectations were held for AM. Unfortunatley the rest of the album does not live up to the two leading singles. Twelve dark tales of desire and yearning, AM is a sleezy night out with the boys, where they sing about hooking up and closing more than they actually do in real life. Turner's lyrics are, as always, superb. They swap full on lead rock for heavy riffs and sick basslines. But something about it feels unfinished. With only half the songs being masterpieces, this is no 'Suck It And See'. But it's listenable and contains some fine, fine singles. At least two fine, fine singles. Keen to see where they go after here, but don't predict wild success with this album. Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    Arctic Monkeys have returned from what was unfortunately their least amazing album (Suck It And See) with a follow up that could just be their best album since Favorite Worst Nightmare, possibly even, Whatever People Say I Am That's What I'm Not. AM has a couple of slow, plodding moments, but only on two tracks, the rest is generally, overwhelmingly good.
  7. Aug 27, 2014
    6
    lolololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololo
  8. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    Arctic Monkey's latest effort has taken a turn in their rock style. While having heavy dance music like beats throughout most of this album, accompanied by some tight guitar playing, this record is definitely their most cohesive work since their debut. Definitely going to be one of my favourites this year.
  9. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Love this CD it is actually difficult, in my view, to discover a unique, hot, rock cd these days, although this one delivers in my view it is sensual and tough and hot, and I love it!
  10. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    An amazing blend of rock, psychedelic rock, and alternative. AM stuns listeners with it's slow paced songs and the classic feel to it. It is without a question tracks like "Do I Wanna Know" and "R U Mine" help carry AM to becoming arguably one of the best rock albums in the least 20 years.
  11. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    These guys really are Alex Turner put to is simply one of the best albums of the decade and for me there was no better release that ''AM'' in 2013. Arctic Monkeys since its debut, when they were still young and had the appearance of a garage band, only been evolving positively, this album now, until we see influences from genres of black music built, worth listening every minute of thisThese guys really are Alex Turner put to is simply one of the best albums of the decade and for me there was no better release that ''AM'' in 2013. Arctic Monkeys since its debut, when they were still young and had the appearance of a garage band, only been evolving positively, this album now, until we see influences from genres of black music built, worth listening every minute of this album. Recommend! Expand
  12. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Initially, I gave the album a 6, then after some more listens, an 8. Now I've got it bumped up to a 9. The album is simply fantastic and gets better with every listen. Every song makes me either want to dance or f*** or both. It's sexy and shows mastery for a band that is so young yet continues to churn out quality at a rate that is reminiscent of artists of the 70s and 80s.
  13. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This is a very interesting album for me. I loved the R&B influence combined with the indie rock in this album especially in "Do I Wanna Know" which the guitar riff remained in my head for weeks on weeks... Overall, I loved the album but I do understand that their previous audience may have been lost because this is such a change in sound where it is a bit softer and safer than theirThis is a very interesting album for me. I loved the R&B influence combined with the indie rock in this album especially in "Do I Wanna Know" which the guitar riff remained in my head for weeks on weeks... Overall, I loved the album but I do understand that their previous audience may have been lost because this is such a change in sound where it is a bit softer and safer than their previous records. Expand
  14. Sep 14, 2013
    6
    Some very catchy tunes, but a lack of hooks. After track 5 the album gets bogged down in it's 60s revivalism and becomes self-indulgent. It's still good music, but just not quite as good as I would have liked.
  15. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    With this loss of rough, dirty hooks and punk attributes, the Monkeys have crafted something else with a very experimental blend of neo psychedelic, blues rock and garage rock mixed with hip-hop beats, the new Monkeys' sound becomes something, not reminiscent of their old selves but still quite interesting. Although AM did have very bright spots and sweet catchy, hook driven tunes, thereWith this loss of rough, dirty hooks and punk attributes, the Monkeys have crafted something else with a very experimental blend of neo psychedelic, blues rock and garage rock mixed with hip-hop beats, the new Monkeys' sound becomes something, not reminiscent of their old selves but still quite interesting. Although AM did have very bright spots and sweet catchy, hook driven tunes, there is still something missing from the Monkeys' sound evident from the tame, soft and translucent weak tracks. The Monkeys need to revisit the past artistically and stylistically if they want to keep their fans interested in order to progress into their own musical future, one where they're still "the young Northern England clubbers" that we all know and love. Snap Out Of It guys.

    Follow @PRTYNTGRVS for more music reviews!
    Expand
  16. Oct 15, 2013
    3
    A fairly boring and lifeless album. Nothing to really latch onto. I honestly never thought I would call the Arctic Monkeys boring. The more "rock" songs on this album are the biggest disappointments (another shocker). With the exception of R U Mine they feel very dull (although that could be because Do I Wanna Know and Arabella feel as though they were stamped out of the R U Mine templateA fairly boring and lifeless album. Nothing to really latch onto. I honestly never thought I would call the Arctic Monkeys boring. The more "rock" songs on this album are the biggest disappointments (another shocker). With the exception of R U Mine they feel very dull (although that could be because Do I Wanna Know and Arabella feel as though they were stamped out of the R U Mine template without any of the excitement). Even the softer more ballad orientated songs fail to deliver anything memorable. Expand
  17. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    http://bit.ly/M276AL I never thought the Monkey's could top Suck It And See but they have done a lot more than that on AM. The talent of these four lads is on show on this record. Though what makes AM such an amazing record is how the outstanding songwriting uses this talent so well. I honestly can't wait to see where this band goes next.
  18. Sep 21, 2014
    7
    Do I Wanna Know & Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
  19. Sep 9, 2014
    8
    First: It isn't the best Arctic Monkeys album, this comes from a person that is a faithful fan of Whatever People....

    Second: It is better than the last album, Suck it and See doesn't have all the fruitful elements that AM does, but maybe Humbug does have a level with this one. Third: It is overall a great album. Arctic Monkeys are at their peak, they are the biggest rock band in the
    First: It isn't the best Arctic Monkeys album, this comes from a person that is a faithful fan of Whatever People....

    Second: It is better than the last album, Suck it and See doesn't have all the fruitful elements that AM does, but maybe Humbug does have a level with this one.

    Third: It is overall a great album. Arctic Monkeys are at their peak, they are the biggest rock band in the world and they know it, and know how to assert.

    AM is the result of an Alex Turner that writes like never before, semi-drug-influenced, but still with his distinctive style. The music is far from what, for example, Favourite Worst Nightmare could offer, with a more rocker mood and a strange but seductive combination of the last too albums. It still Arctic Monkeys and despite some flaws especially in the more low-tempo songs, it still a recommended rock album.
    Expand
  20. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    This album leaves me speechless, which is itself big deal. I lack words for describing it. At least adequate ones. So I am left with stream of consciousness.

    Mind blowing. All possible synonyms of amazing. Crazy. Subtle. Lobotomic. Evasive. Oscuro. Old-soul. Coherent. Wit. Sparkle. Sarcastic. Love. Sex. Nevertheless love. Hard. Low. Sultry. Drunk. Sleepy. Scary. Depressive. Ecstatic.
    This album leaves me speechless, which is itself big deal. I lack words for describing it. At least adequate ones. So I am left with stream of consciousness.

    Mind blowing. All possible synonyms of amazing. Crazy. Subtle. Lobotomic. Evasive. Oscuro. Old-soul. Coherent. Wit. Sparkle. Sarcastic. Love. Sex. Nevertheless love. Hard. Low. Sultry. Drunk. Sleepy. Scary. Depressive. Ecstatic. Full of smoke. On fire. Insomnia. Exhilarated. Vodka with rocks. Masochistic. Kick in the gut.

    It's name is very well chosen. (When the zeros line up on the 24 hour clock Knee Socks) It feels exactly like coming home in 5 am. After one long, long sleepless night. Driving on a empty bus. When you are not jet completely sober, but all comes back to you. (The nights were mainly made for saying things that you can't say tomorrow day Do I Wanna Know?) And than even more. When you are exhausted from alcohol, but Sun rising doesn't allow you to sleep. That are our brightest moments. A-ha ones. When you realize that you still love that idiot, even though that leads you nowhere. When you realize that relationship you are in has date of expiry. (It's not like I'm falling in love I just want you to do me no good No.1 Party Anthem) When you realize he has moved on, and you haven't. When you realize that real relationship is not based on love itself or sex, rather that love and sex are based on something other. You just have to figure out what. This is an album that kept that quest essence of my generation.
    Expand
  21. Jul 15, 2014
    7
    The Arctic Monkeys continue to dip their spoon in a cup of nostalgia, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. The sounds here are more controlled than previous efforts, very controlled in fact. The hooks catchy, Not jumpy, no rough spots. AM is a smooth experience and it’s a good time nevertheless.
  22. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    Simmer down and Pucker up! This album is overly hard hitting and will definitely be a staple for many years in the indie genre. Not their best work but will pass as a filler for what maybe could be a new release to innovate a little more on an already amazing discography. Well done Blokes!
  23. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    I wouldn't say this is their best work, as the NME said, but some songs really stand out (while others, namely I Want It All, are just horrendous) and Alex Turner changes voice and looks again to go along the Monkeys' new style - more glamourous, sexier and more "mature", whatever than means.

    You need two or three listens to get it in your system, then it's very good. Especially, listen
    I wouldn't say this is their best work, as the NME said, but some songs really stand out (while others, namely I Want It All, are just horrendous) and Alex Turner changes voice and looks again to go along the Monkeys' new style - more glamourous, sexier and more "mature", whatever than means.

    You need two or three listens to get it in your system, then it's very good. Especially, listen to "No. 1 Party Anthem" about stripclubs, and "Knee Socks" with Josh Homme, who is so much better on other people's records than on his own.
    Expand
  24. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    The Arctic Monkeys continue to dip their spoon in a cup of nostalgia, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. The sounds here are more controlled than previous efforts, very controlled in fact. The hooks catchy, Not jumpy, no rough spots. AM is a smooth experience and it’s a good time nevertheless.
  25. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    '[AM] is a great achievement: a cohesive mix of catchy tunes, slow-growers, ballads and booming riffs. 'AM' makes a case to be the best Arctic Monkeys album yet. Even if you decide that the case fails, it has definitely justified the specter of its hype. I highly recommend this album.

    Read the full review here:
    '[AM] is a great achievement: a cohesive mix of catchy tunes, slow-growers, ballads and booming riffs. 'AM' makes a case to be the best Arctic Monkeys album yet. Even if you decide that the case fails, it has definitely justified the specter of its hype. I highly recommend this album.

    Read the full review here:
    http://osianlewis.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/arctic-monkeys-am-review-did-sheffield.html

    I gave it an 8.5 but there are no half measures for metacritic user reviews so I've bumped it up to a 9.
    Expand
  26. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    The beginning of the album starts with two highlights: "Do I Wanna Know?" and "R U Mine" That both show originality as well as telling us that the band's talents haven't faded away over the years. With the unique voice provided by Alex Turner, it really takes a turn for Brit rock, but not dirty, filthy Brit rock. The production and Alex Turner's voice show us that we are getting a cleanThe beginning of the album starts with two highlights: "Do I Wanna Know?" and "R U Mine" That both show originality as well as telling us that the band's talents haven't faded away over the years. With the unique voice provided by Alex Turner, it really takes a turn for Brit rock, but not dirty, filthy Brit rock. The production and Alex Turner's voice show us that we are getting a clean cut album. The guitar riffs on R U Mine really get infectious. After the two highlight tracks, there is still no disappoint found after the two. The slick feel of "Arabella". Once the first half of the album is over, more mellow, downbeat songs come into place. The second half of the record shows that Arctic Monkeys aren't some crazy rock band, but a really lyrically, vocally, and instrumentally talented rock band that can deliver some deep emotional songs, and even on the track "Fireside" they stray into Coldplay territory, but do not fail one bit at the attempt. All in all, this album for someone who listened to Arctic Monkeys for the first time does not disappoint me. From the infectious guitar riffs, the smooth voice of Alex Turner, and the originality, Arctic Monkeys have captivated listeners young and old. Expand
  27. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    I really like it. The Alex's voice is orgasmic! And just saying, but to me the 3 last songs are definitely the best! PS: the songs don't deserve the videos, could be betterin this point...
  28. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    I heard of Arctic Monkeys a few months ago by a couple of friends who love their music. I wasn’t really interested to listen to this album at that time but as my music taste have been expanded over the summer, I gained interest into listening to Arctic Monkeys. It’s no wonder why this album has won so many awards including the BRIT Award for Best British Album of the Year as well asI heard of Arctic Monkeys a few months ago by a couple of friends who love their music. I wasn’t really interested to listen to this album at that time but as my music taste have been expanded over the summer, I gained interest into listening to Arctic Monkeys. It’s no wonder why this album has won so many awards including the BRIT Award for Best British Album of the Year as well as gaining more fans for the band which includes myself after listening to this album.

    The best part of this album was the sound. I feel like a totally different person during the entire album. I feel like a cool person with a cigarette in my mouth (though I don’t encourage smoking) in a gig with a lot of people in the crowd and I blend in very well. I never expected to like this kind of sound considering I am quite a pop person myself.

    The lyrics fits the sound of the album. Sure, the themes are not thought-provoking but I like the themes here which is about partying, a hot girl,etc., without them going through the cliches of exploring those kinds of themes.

    The vocals from Alex Turner were great. He has the voice for a great rock band. He has that voice I want to hear from a rock song.

    I sense that during production, Arctic Monkeys must have been experimenting some new stuff for this album and I like it when artists experiment. This makes me want to hear their previous albums which I will soon considering their sound was way different when they released their debut album.

    I never expected that I would like all the songs from this album. This is quite rare so that means I really really really like this album.

    If you’re wondering why Arctic Monkeys are considered the best band of their generation by some music critics, check this album out. Who knows? You might end up being a fan just like me.
    Expand
  29. May 2, 2014
    9
    I'm not a big fan of Indie Rock, but this band totally changed my opinion, I can't keep myself away form that replay button. It has some classic fuzz wall around it.
  30. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This is the best album you will listen to all year long. An absolute masterpiece from the Monkeys. They never fail to amaze with each album, constantly delivering pieces of pure genius but even for Alex Turner this propels him to an ever greater legendary status. 'AM' seems to have gained the Monkeys universal acclaim and got them the recognition and success they fully merit! It's easilyThis is the best album you will listen to all year long. An absolute masterpiece from the Monkeys. They never fail to amaze with each album, constantly delivering pieces of pure genius but even for Alex Turner this propels him to an ever greater legendary status. 'AM' seems to have gained the Monkeys universal acclaim and got them the recognition and success they fully merit! It's easily the most accessible of all their albums with such a range of and variety of emotions on show. Lead track 'Do I Wanna Know' kicks 'AM' off is fabulous fashion. It immediately draws you in and will have you playing it over and over again on repeat (Till you fall asleep?) and instant hit for sure. But from there they burst into an already cult classic for fans 'R U Mine?' It's a proper tune. And will have you rising to your feet and just chanting along. 'One For The Road' then takes you in a different direction, it's an unusual track from Arctic Monkeys. At it's roots seem an R&B rhythm mixed with 'Humbug' elements making for a splendid song. 'Arabella' is lyrically majestic! From interstellargator skinboots to helter skelters.. It's just an abundance of talent poured into one amazing tune which ends up erupting into rock guitar and banging drums. Track number 5, 'I Want It All' despite not being on pat with the majority of other songs on the album it's smart lyrics and delivery makes it enjoyable. Next, 'No.1 Party Anthem' which is in deep contrast as to what you'd expect from the name of the song. It's much more gentle and laid back and eases you into 'Mad Sounds,' A beautiful, slow, ballad-like, easy on the ears and catchy. 'Fireside' which features Bill Ryder-Jones rediscovers a rockier edge detailing Turner's doomed past encounters with a loved one. The second single, 'Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High' is another fantastic track. Nick O'Malley kills it on bass guitar with an addictive sound and punchy chorus. 'Snap Out Of It' is another standout track. This one is very catchy and instantly noticeable! From it's upbeat intro to relentless chorus. Sure to be a favourite on tour. Arctic Monkeys always have a tendancy to end things in an excellent manner and AM is no different. 'I Wanna Be Yours' is a seductive and stunning song originally by poet John Cooper Clarke but performed masterfully my the Monkeys gushing out some wonderful lyrics.

    'AM' is a career defining album from the best band around at the moment. It cements their legacy and ensures that they are unquestionably Britains greatest exports to date. They continue to improve and innovate producing some tremendous tunes and amazing albums. Alex Turner himself is a complete genius. Lyrically this is his finest hour! It is sublime songwriting of the highest degree. Simply the best lyricist of modern times and that's not an understatement. A masterpiece in it's entirety! Believe the hype!!
    Expand
  31. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Arctic Monkeys grabbed my attention with their debut album, but as their other records came out they kind of started to lose me. I bought this on a complete whim and I was blown away. This one is solid from start to finish. The opening song, Do I Wanna Know, starts off the CD with a bang. It is probably my favorite on here. I have to say that this is my favorite from them so far, and myArctic Monkeys grabbed my attention with their debut album, but as their other records came out they kind of started to lose me. I bought this on a complete whim and I was blown away. This one is solid from start to finish. The opening song, Do I Wanna Know, starts off the CD with a bang. It is probably my favorite on here. I have to say that this is my favorite from them so far, and my second favorite album of the year (only Paul McCartney ranks higher on my list). Collapse
  32. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Wow, after 1st listen i was dissapointed (it was like week ago). Yesterday cause of lack of new music (Reflektor, come out already please I gave it another chance at work JESUS, I kept on repeating album for like 4 strate hours, it's my 2nd fav AM album right now (WPSIATWIN is reason why I fell in love with this band in a 1st place). It's one of these albums that You don't like afterWow, after 1st listen i was dissapointed (it was like week ago). Yesterday cause of lack of new music (Reflektor, come out already please I gave it another chance at work JESUS, I kept on repeating album for like 4 strate hours, it's my 2nd fav AM album right now (WPSIATWIN is reason why I fell in love with this band in a 1st place). It's one of these albums that You don't like after 1st listen but if u give it another go you wont stop listening to it. Expand
  33. Sep 26, 2013
    4
    Not the worst album I have heard but definitely not The Arctic's best. Half the album is great, half is forgettable. Not as bad as Humbug, which lacked real focus and direction. AM sounds like a sleezy night out, coming home in the blurry morning without having pulled any girls. Looking forward to their next offering.
  34. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    The Arctic monkeys (again) create an album that is fine tuned and realized. For such a young band, now with a respectable number of albums under their belt, their sound has matured to a point where most bands take decades to reach. If you liked Suck it and See and Humbug, you'll find a lot here. AM's track list is a good length, but doesn't overstay it's welcome. The hooks are catchyThe Arctic monkeys (again) create an album that is fine tuned and realized. For such a young band, now with a respectable number of albums under their belt, their sound has matured to a point where most bands take decades to reach. If you liked Suck it and See and Humbug, you'll find a lot here. AM's track list is a good length, but doesn't overstay it's welcome. The hooks are catchy and the vocal are smooth as silk. The content is dark and dreary, like being a smoke filled speak-easy, but that's what I love about this band. This isn't the punk garage band anymore, they have moved on to the big leagues. AM is an album that proves this even further. Expand
  35. Feb 13, 2014
    6
    What I don't like about this album is that it not much of an Rock or even Indie Rock album. There aren't many good solos, songs are getting by very lazy and sound a bit boring because of that they are very cookie-cutter with their repetitive guitar parts (well-heard in the opening "Do I Wanna Know") . I hate the women-sounding-like choirs too ("one for the road... uh! uh!"). Anyways itsWhat I don't like about this album is that it not much of an Rock or even Indie Rock album. There aren't many good solos, songs are getting by very lazy and sound a bit boring because of that they are very cookie-cutter with their repetitive guitar parts (well-heard in the opening "Do I Wanna Know") . I hate the women-sounding-like choirs too ("one for the road... uh! uh!"). Anyways its still a great album. A pity that I usually get bored when it comes to "Arabella". Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    Bro, listening to this album forced me to take up smoking and wear leather jackets everyday. But anyway man like great album, changed my life for the best (I think)
  37. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    This album showcases a very mature vibe its an instant classic its addicting well crafted ,has great lyrics and has the potential to be the best album of the decade Great Rock Record.
  38. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    La evolución y madurez de la banda se hizo notoria en una obra maestra. Un álbum conceptual que te lleva sin aburrir desde el rock fuerte de R U Mine? hasta los rinconces melancólicos de I Wanna Be Yours o No. 1 Party Anthem. Genial uso de la voz y los falsetes, mejor uso del bajo. Puntos altísimos: Do I Wanna Know?, R U Mine?, No. 1 Party Anthem, Knee Socks.
  39. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    There is a term that many, myself included, use to describe an incredibly phenomenal album. That term is "lightning in a bottle", when all the right things happen when making an album that results in a perfect storm of incredibly solid songs from start to finish. Most bands are lucky if they get ONE album like that. Songs for the Deaf by Queens of the Stone Age, as well as Blue Album andThere is a term that many, myself included, use to describe an incredibly phenomenal album. That term is "lightning in a bottle", when all the right things happen when making an album that results in a perfect storm of incredibly solid songs from start to finish. Most bands are lucky if they get ONE album like that. Songs for the Deaf by Queens of the Stone Age, as well as Blue Album and Pinkerton by Weezer, are generally considered to be within this category of greatness. Obviously this is a personal opinion, but I feel that AM is easily "lightning in a bottle". Every song is either catchy as all Hell, centered around heavy and satisfying riffs, or romantically indulging, with many of the songs being 2 or 3 at once. This is my first taste of Arctic Monkeys, and it was a pretty **** good taste. 10/10, will be listening to their other albums now. Expand
  40. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic record, and I thought a completely unexpected twist for the Arctic Monkeys. They took the rock sound from the last couple of albums, knocked it up a notch in a few songs (Do I Wanna Know and R U Mine of course), added some catchy falsetto chanting and sprinkled in some interesting older influences. Alex Turner's voice seriously comes into its own on this album, IThis is a fantastic record, and I thought a completely unexpected twist for the Arctic Monkeys. They took the rock sound from the last couple of albums, knocked it up a notch in a few songs (Do I Wanna Know and R U Mine of course), added some catchy falsetto chanting and sprinkled in some interesting older influences. Alex Turner's voice seriously comes into its own on this album, I realised how fantastic his voice, style and lyricism have become in this record. Give it a listen, whether you've loved all of Arctic Monkeys, or even if you fell out of love with them after their last two albums (I know quite a few people who have which is a shame). Expand
  41. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. A work with truthful and deep creativity, the band shows a wide reach that surprised me. They made an album that transforms itself in an unexpected but astonishing way. A great turn point for the band.
  42. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    In my opinion this is one of the best albums they have ever done, I love the hip-hop vibe you can tell were incorporated into their songs.. One of the best albums in a long while
  43. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Just amazing, one of the best 2013 albums, I have fallen in love with this band... definitely is a must. They deserved a grammy nomination, but probably this album is greater than a grammy award.
  44. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    This album completely blew me away. I had high expectations for this album since I heard the first single, but I never expected it to possible be their best album. This very well may be the album of the year.
  45. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    Brilliant album, one of the coolest I've ever heard. My favourite song from the album is Arabella, one of the best songs I've heard in a long time. Some very catchy songs like Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High?, Snap Out Of It and I Want It All. Can't recommend this album enough.
  46. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    An album that oozes style, drips with lust, and suggests that the Arctic Monkeys have well and truly grown up. AM, while perhaps not creating such as big an impact as their debut, will inspire you to grab the hair grease and rock out until you're dizzy. Slick, stylish, and sensational.
  47. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    One of the best proper rock albums in a while. They managed to merge the sounds of the past two records into something magical. A serious contender for album of the year!
  48. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    A generic, typically terrible arctic monkeys release that unsurprisingly fails in any sort of attempt at innovation. Sadly, it will sell by the truckload.
  49. Oct 3, 2013
    3
    This is is just not as worse as suck it and see. The album depends too much of the first too songs, the rest is all boring musics. Note 3 for the first two and arabella.
  50. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    On first listen I absolutely hated this album. But, as with most things, it takes time to accept change.
    By the third and fourth listens I was absolutely hooked. I thought that since Humbug, AM have taken their sound in the right direction to something more mature and timeless.
  51. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    I love the first single, and the album does not disappoint. Catchy and great hooks there. However, there are sounds that are bit repetitive for me personally.
  52. Jan 8, 2014
    5
    They are trying very hard to sound american and like Queens of Stone Age, I can even picture a producer trying to hire someone to dress Turner with one of that american retro tshirts. The magic that attracted me to Arctic Monkeys isn't there anymore.
  53. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    AM Does it's job as a post midnight, chilled out rock album. Simple, strong compositions, singular beats that give so much feeling. Unlike Suck it and See, they've knocked this one out of the park.
  54. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    AM sees Arctic Monkeys take another step in their evolution that has been obvious since Favourite Worst Nightmare; and this time it's more daring than Suck It and See. The album successfully manages to combine the R&B influences which have been there from the start with the rock influences that inevitably come with being a guitar band. And this is never more evident than on Arabella, whereAM sees Arctic Monkeys take another step in their evolution that has been obvious since Favourite Worst Nightmare; and this time it's more daring than Suck It and See. The album successfully manages to combine the R&B influences which have been there from the start with the rock influences that inevitably come with being a guitar band. And this is never more evident than on Arabella, where R&B style verses culminate in a Black Sabbath-rocking chorus. Thematically, the album could be about a single girl that Alex Turner is lusting for. In fact, at time he seems rather desperate for her like on opener Do I Wanna Know? (ever thought of calling when you've had a few/'cos I always do). This theme continues throughout the album and is particularly evident on lyrical highlight of the album No. 1 Party Anthem, where the listener is taken to a scene in a dingy club ('sweat on the walls, cages and poles'). Other highlights include last years single R U Mine?, Arabella, Knee Socks and the John Cooper Clarke cover I Wanna Be Yours. Overall, AM seems evidence that Arctic Monkeys are the best thing in Britain right now, and one of the most interesting bands of the last decade. Expand
  55. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It seems to go without saying that Arctic Monkeys are one of the musical ‘greats’ in the making, and rightfully so. Their 5th studio album, “AM”, takes you on a voyage through the emotions, the push and pull of every day life, leaving you perfectly satisfied when looking back on where you’ve been. This is a band really at the top of their game, doing what they do best: producing fantastic music.

    “AM” is such a diverse album, full of creativity and experimentation, that really keeps you excited throughout. The opening combination of sister tracks “Do I Wanna Know?” and “R U Mine?” is pure genius, after the drowsy downbeat tempo of the first you simply cannot help rising to your feet and losing it a little to the sublime latter. Talk about a contrast in emotions! But the musical delight has only just begun, as we are introduced to an unfamiliar track in “One For The Road” which brings together a Dre-esque rhythm and “oooh-ooohs” borrowed from “Sympathy For The Devil” with echoes of “Humbug”.

    “Arabella’s got some interstellar gatorskin boots/ And a Helter Skelter ‘round her little finger and I ride it endlessly” Alex Turner croons in the opening seconds of “Arabella”, satisfying fans of his lyrical talent, before the track builds into an eruption of rock guitar and pounding drums. Contrast yet again intervenes as the ironically-named “No.1 Party Anthem”, which has “Submarine” written all over it, combines with the beautiful “Mad Sounds” to create a couple of tracks that recall Lou Reed & The Velvet Underground (Let’s not forget that the title “AM” is a sure imitation of the latter band’s “VU”). Slow paced, these “mad sounds in your ears” are romantic and extremely pleasant to listen to.

    After the central relaxation of the LP, the pace and energy build yet again around Matt Helders’ drums in “Fireside” and Nick O’Malley’s bass in “Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?”. The next track, “Snap Out Of It” is a personal favourite amongst the unheard pieces on the album, namely because it is so damn catchy: before you know it you’ll be singing along to “I wanna grab both your shoulders and shake, baby, snap out of it” oh if only life were that simple.

    Arctic Monkeys have a knack for closing tracks. Think of “A Certain Romance”, “505”, “The Jewelers Hands” and “That’s Where You’re Wrong” over their last four LPs. “AM” is no exception to the rule; “I Wanna Be Yours” is a stunning tribute to one of Alex Turner’s most important influences in poet John Cooper Clarke. Turner’s interpretation certainly sounds nothing like the original performed by Clarke, but adds a dimension of eerie despair as backing vocals desperately repeat “I wanna be yours” before a decrescendo into silence marks the start of another few years of waiting until Arctic Monkeys’ next release.
    Expand
  56. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    It does not seem that long ago since everyone was rocking out 2006 with the Arctic Monkeys’ hit “I Bet You Look Good On The Dance Floor.” It would have been easy for the Sheffield, England band to stay the course over the last seven years but with each album since their debut, Whatever People Say I Am That’s What I’m Not (2006), the group has taken progressive steps towards a differentIt does not seem that long ago since everyone was rocking out 2006 with the Arctic Monkeys’ hit “I Bet You Look Good On The Dance Floor.” It would have been easy for the Sheffield, England band to stay the course over the last seven years but with each album since their debut, Whatever People Say I Am That’s What I’m Not (2006), the group has taken progressive steps towards a different sound. It really started when Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age) produced Humbug (2009) and the Arctic Monkeys came off way more serious and interested in tempo and song structures. The result for me was their weakest record to date but without it, their new long player, AM, would not exist.

    As their last LP, Suck It and See (2011), proved the band did not need some big stand out single to succeed. The songwriting, rhythms and confidence helped Suck It sound fresh and give Arctic Monkeys a renewal on their musical life. All of this development has now landed the Artic Monkeys in 2013 with a very rewarding record in AM. It is an album that I will warn right away that it is not like their first two and keeps most of the tracks at a very steady mid-tempo beat.

    If you are still reading this review after that warning great! I say that because AM is a record that will challenge your every sense of what you think the Artic Monkeys should be doing these days. Things start with the deep rock blues groove on the opening “Do I Wanna Know?” which will instantly have you thinking Black Keys. The swaying track features singer Alex Turner in full control delivering the verses as the whispering harmonies in the supporting background will have your foot tapping along in no time. The catchy upbeat wordplay in “R U Mine?” will quickly grab you, as the song once again features this grooving strong guitar structure that gives the album its strength. This prominent big rock backdrop runs throughout AM but is extremely prominent on “Arabella.” The track has several recognizable guitar licks behind the scenes that include Sabbath’s “War Pig” and Mötley Crüe’s “Shout at the Devil.” They are subtle but the song resemblances are there and never distract from the new song because the pulsing rock continues as Turner once again rapid fires back n forth with the band vocally.

    Some of this sound should be credited to producer James Ford as he is already responsible for three other Monkeys records but maybe even more from the mixing of Tchad Blake. Blake mixed the last several Black Keys’ records and you can hear the influence on this album. AM also finds guest appearances from Queens of the Stone Age’s Josh Homme, Elvis Costello’s drummer Pete Thomas and ex-Coral man Bill Ryder-Jones. The guests are a nice addition and blend in well with the project. It is a good balance of not standing out too much but also being careful not to hinder the album’s flow.

    AM’s only small drawback for me is that its tone and tempo all hit around the same area and just a little more diversity in range would have went a long way for me. AM really is never too low and never too high. With that said, there is plenty to like as the group infuses a stylistic R&B and bluesy rock into their unique indie sound. This makes for tracks that you can’t get out of your head quickly and regardless of why you hit repeat you just do! AM is a record to sit with and give multiple spins before passing judgment because it not only gets more catchy with each spin but you discover new things in the mix. I think AM is better than the Arctic Monkeys last two records and will find its way into my best of list at the end of the year as its darker songs about drugs, lust and isolation somehow, someway, still make a very bright listen that I can’t turn off!
    Expand
  57. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Arctic Monkeys have been making albums for years, making music for more than a decade. Each album of theirs represents a different feel, all reflecting something distinctively English and bittersweet; even their more upbeat songs have something darker hidden subtly inside them.
    In recent years the boys have gone back to simple elegance; the cover art for Suck it And See was, well,
    Arctic Monkeys have been making albums for years, making music for more than a decade. Each album of theirs represents a different feel, all reflecting something distinctively English and bittersweet; even their more upbeat songs have something darker hidden subtly inside them.
    In recent years the boys have gone back to simple elegance; the cover art for Suck it And See was, well, unpopulated by anything more significant than a title, and last year’s single R U Mine? had nothing but the record on the jacket. The film clip, edited well to make it look like one constant shot, was put in black and white, and when Do I Wanna Know was released this year, the film clip was made almost entirely of simple cartoons in white on a black background, with the exception of some familiar random Arctic Monkeys-ness in Technicolour, like a fish and a car. When you look at it this way, the cover for AM is just another in a long line of craziness from the Sheffield natives.
    Every artist changes with the release of every new album, and these lads are no exception. But what is most surprising is how much they’ve matured with their music. Guitarist Jamie is married off, and drummer Matt is engaged to Black Treacle’s love interest, Breana McDow, while Alex Turner has transformed into a ’50s-villian with a slick quiff and a leather jacket. With this maturity comes a whole new sound, a whole new feel, a whole new Arctic Monkeys.
    AM is, very simply, very very different from Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not. Without any of their schoolboy charm, there’s less cheekiness and more sultry tones across all instruments. No song can be called ‘upbeat’ except maybe Firestarter; almost all of them are love songs.
    But with that said, there is something very special about this album. It’s that rare thing, a record that defies normal music adjectives like sweet or happy or eerie or sad. They’re still bittersweet, still lusty, but also lithe and suave and slinky and sexy and dark and intoxicating. If AM was a hairstyle, it would be messy. If AM was an item of clothing, it would be studded leather shorts. If AM were a photo, it’s of a girl with messy hair and studded leather shorts with her hands by her side, legs open, maybe mid-walk. No. 1 Party Anthem is the song playing in your head when you’re cleaning up the mess after a bash at your place the night before, or walking home after seeing someone you want kissing someone else. I Wanna Be Yours needs to be playing in a sex scene in a movie, like, now. It’s the album that’ll make you remember moments in nightclubs and mornings-after, the album that’ll make you, just for a second, love the evil cruelty of love and sex. It’s the best record yet from Arctic Monkeys, and possibly the best record released this year. Standout track? Knee Socks.
    Expand
  58. Sep 15, 2013
    7
    The first three singles had gotten me excited about this record, but as it turned out, they are the only really good songs in this album, with an exception perhaps for One for The Road. No. 1 Party Anthem and Mad Sounds don't do as much half as good in reviving the 60's-70's as Suck It and See did, hence making up the most tedious section of this record. Arabella and Knee Socks areThe first three singles had gotten me excited about this record, but as it turned out, they are the only really good songs in this album, with an exception perhaps for One for The Road. No. 1 Party Anthem and Mad Sounds don't do as much half as good in reviving the 60's-70's as Suck It and See did, hence making up the most tedious section of this record. Arabella and Knee Socks are somewhat decent I should note the latter's got a catchy riff, though its use of falsettos gets repetitive overtime but the rest of the album just simply and sadly fails to synchronise with what I've come to love about the Arctic Monkeys. It may still find its way into my heart, but as far as I've listened to it (4 times front to back), it's my least favourite Arctic Monkeys' album; several times I found asking myself if it was really Arctic Monkeys who recorded that or just some pop American band. Expand
  59. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Good solid album. Catchy songs no matter what the pace. Personally they took the best parts of both of the previous albums and fused them together into a catchy masterpiece. 9/10
  60. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This album is one of the most complete pieces of art I have ever heard. The band has clearly matured and taken their music to a new level, translating their signature youth rebellion spirit into something much deeper, transcendent, and ultimately collectively uplifting. Fireside is a hidden gem.
  61. Sep 24, 2013
    6
    A very highly overrated album. people are now being sucked in by the name of the band who make the album and cannot see that it is basically a long drawn out bore fest. sure there are some catchy riffs but all the catchy riffs are only catchy because they are repeated over and over and over and over again. Not the worst album but certainly not the masterpiece most people think it is
  62. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    Amazing, RnB/Hip Hop inspired indie album by a maturing band that can write and perform some great songs. I love Turner's voice and the cohesiveness of the group. The songs are top drawer, and this album has me going back for more. Such a great album. Try it out You won't be disappointed.
  63. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    A very good record! The production gave me FIRST the feeling that many songs were variations on each others! I got over it to appreciate many well written songs. Not as perfect as many claim it is, in my opinion!
  64. Nov 18, 2013
    3
    Call me critical but this album brings nothing new to the table.
    Being a longtime arctic monkeys fan, I was incredibly disappointed with this album. The fun, energetic and frantic sounds of previous arctic monkeys albums was merely thrown aside when this album was made.
    The sounds that made them so popular in the past were no where in sight in this LP. In small doses, perhaps when
    Call me critical but this album brings nothing new to the table.
    Being a longtime arctic monkeys fan, I was incredibly disappointed with this album. The fun, energetic and frantic sounds of previous arctic monkeys albums was merely thrown aside when this album was made.
    The sounds that made them so popular in the past were no where in sight in this LP.
    In small doses, perhaps when listening to two or three songs in a row, the songs are quite interesting. R U Mine? Being my favourite as it is closest to arctic monkeys hit song formula- being very riff driven and with a hard hitting beat to bring the song home.

    It often feels like vocals drone on. Complaining about women troubles and what not. With very disinterested vocals, easy beats, whinging lyrics and slow boring riffs, this album almost embarrasses it's fun having predecessors.

    Slow songs from a band like arctic monkeys are often gems when they stand alone in a record, but as this features nothing but, it's hard to see what it does for me to enjoy it.
    A regression in instrumentation, vocals and compelling, cheeky lyrics, this album is best left on the shelf. What once made arctic monkeys such a unique and fun band looks to be disregarded.

    HAD IT HAVE BEEN ANY OTHER BAND TO MAKE THIS ALBUM, IT WOULD BE PANNED BY CRITICS AND FANS ALIKE.
    Expand
  65. Jan 16, 2014
    6
    Very good album, a lot of good songs, but does not have the same essence that previous albums like "Favourite worst nightmare" or "Whatever people say i am..."
  66. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Arctic album I've ever heard. As a new fan, I like their newer songs/voices as the older Alex doesn't somehow appeal to me. AM is truly a sucess, with super catchy hits like ' Do I Wanna Know', which is my favorite track on the album. Since I do not like hard, metal, loud rock, indie rock is the best choice for me. R U Mine is also amazing. I could have rated it a 10 if Mad Sounds was exchanged with 505. That would make the best album ever. Great work Arctic Monkeys! -randomcritic Expand
  67. Jun 17, 2014
    7
    The songs on the album are pretty good, they're catchy and enjoyable to listen. However, the songs kind of lack originality. Once you've heard one song, you've heard them all.
  68. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    The most pre-fabircated commercial **** i've ever listened. Instead of Arctic Monkeys I would call them Daniel Day Lewis Monkeys because their music is as awful as Daniel's performances.
  69. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Anyone who likes music must check this out. Really. Its that good. It told me that music is not dead. So buy it. Or don't, if you hate music. There is someone out there. Just saying.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    AM continues a pattern, then: every couple of years, the Monkeys make a great album, sounding tighter and more telepathic with each release. [Oct 2013, p.97]
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    78
    AM's a heavy seduction, restless and all the better for it.
  3. 90
    In the end AM not only signifies a career-defining moment that neatly places the band on a proper pedestal for all to admire--this is where not only Arctic Monkeys have come but in many ways, how they’ve masterfully conquered and continue to simply win.