AM

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
AM Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 589 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by James Ford and Ross Orton, the fifth full-length studio release for the indie rock band includes guest appearances by Josh Homme, Bill Ryder-Jones, and Pete Thomas.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 100
    Arctic Monkeys’ fifth record is absolutely and unarguably the most incredible album of their career. It might also be the greatest record of the last decade.
  2. 90
    In the end AM not only signifies a career-defining moment that neatly places the band on a proper pedestal for all to admire--this is where not only Arctic Monkeys have come but in many ways, how they’ve masterfully conquered and continue to simply win.
  3. AM is a pitch black party record, full of menacing pop and grimy, indelible grooves drowned in bourbon.
  4. 80
    There is a depth--a willingness to experiment, a refusal to be pigeonholed--that rewards repeated listens and makes this their most coherent, most satisfying album since their debut. Where they go next is anybody's guess.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    With its multi-layered and complex music (incorporating many subgenres of rock and a great many styles in one cohesive whole), this is a great album for repeat listening, regardless of content.
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    78
    AM's a heavy seduction, restless and all the better for it.
  7. Sep 5, 2013
    50
    AM lacks that character empathy: rather than being detached--ie, cool, wry, transverted--Turner is removed (impulsive, anxious, dull) and it is this subtle distinction that shoots AM down in its shiny leather metal-toed boots.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 85
  2. Negative: 4 out of 85
  1. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    I heard of Arctic Monkeys a few months ago by a couple of friends who love their music. I wasn’t really interested to listen to this album atI heard of Arctic Monkeys a few months ago by a couple of friends who love their music. I wasn’t really interested to listen to this album at that time but as my music taste have been expanded over the summer, I gained interest into listening to Arctic Monkeys. It’s no wonder why this album has won so many awards including the BRIT Award for Best British Album of the Year as well as gaining more fans for the band which includes myself after listening to this album.

    The best part of this album was the sound. I feel like a totally different person during the entire album. I feel like a cool person with a cigarette in my mouth (though I don’t encourage smoking) in a gig with a lot of people in the crowd and I blend in very well. I never expected to like this kind of sound considering I am quite a pop person myself.

    The lyrics fits the sound of the album. Sure, the themes are not thought-provoking but I like the themes here which is about partying, a hot girl,etc., without them going through the cliches of exploring those kinds of themes.

    The vocals from Alex Turner were great. He has the voice for a great rock band. He has that voice I want to hear from a rock song.

    I sense that during production, Arctic Monkeys must have been experimenting some new stuff for this album and I like it when artists experiment. This makes me want to hear their previous albums which I will soon considering their sound was way different when they released their debut album.

    I never expected that I would like all the songs from this album. This is quite rare so that means I really really really like this album.

    If you’re wondering why Arctic Monkeys are considered the best band of their generation by some music critics, check this album out. Who knows? You might end up being a fan just like me.
    Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This is the best album you will listen to all year long. An absolute masterpiece from the Monkeys. They never fail to amaze with each album,This is the best album you will listen to all year long. An absolute masterpiece from the Monkeys. They never fail to amaze with each album, constantly delivering pieces of pure genius but even for Alex Turner this propels him to an ever greater legendary status. 'AM' seems to have gained the Monkeys universal acclaim and got them the recognition and success they fully merit! It's easily the most accessible of all their albums with such a range of and variety of emotions on show. Lead track 'Do I Wanna Know' kicks 'AM' off is fabulous fashion. It immediately draws you in and will have you playing it over and over again on repeat (Till you fall asleep?) and instant hit for sure. But from there they burst into an already cult classic for fans 'R U Mine?' It's a proper tune. And will have you rising to your feet and just chanting along. 'One For The Road' then takes you in a different direction, it's an unusual track from Arctic Monkeys. At it's roots seem an R&B rhythm mixed with 'Humbug' elements making for a splendid song. 'Arabella' is lyrically majestic! From interstellargator skinboots to helter skelters.. It's just an abundance of talent poured into one amazing tune which ends up erupting into rock guitar and banging drums. Track number 5, 'I Want It All' despite not being on pat with the majority of other songs on the album it's smart lyrics and delivery makes it enjoyable. Next, 'No.1 Party Anthem' which is in deep contrast as to what you'd expect from the name of the song. It's much more gentle and laid back and eases you into 'Mad Sounds,' A beautiful, slow, ballad-like, easy on the ears and catchy. 'Fireside' which features Bill Ryder-Jones rediscovers a rockier edge detailing Turner's doomed past encounters with a loved one. The second single, 'Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High' is another fantastic track. Nick O'Malley kills it on bass guitar with an addictive sound and punchy chorus. 'Snap Out Of It' is another standout track. This one is very catchy and instantly noticeable! From it's upbeat intro to relentless chorus. Sure to be a favourite on tour. Arctic Monkeys always have a tendancy to end things in an excellent manner and AM is no different. 'I Wanna Be Yours' is a seductive and stunning song originally by poet John Cooper Clarke but performed masterfully my the Monkeys gushing out some wonderful lyrics.

    'AM' is a career defining album from the best band around at the moment. It cements their legacy and ensures that they are unquestionably Britains greatest exports to date. They continue to improve and innovate producing some tremendous tunes and amazing albums. Alex Turner himself is a complete genius. Lyrically this is his finest hour! It is sublime songwriting of the highest degree. Simply the best lyricist of modern times and that's not an understatement. A masterpiece in it's entirety! Believe the hype!!
    Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    One of the best proper rock albums in a while. They managed to merge the sounds of the past two records into something magical. A seriousOne of the best proper rock albums in a while. They managed to merge the sounds of the past two records into something magical. A serious contender for album of the year! Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    I really like it. The Alex's voice is orgasmic! And just saying, but to me the 3 last songs are definitely the best! PS: the songs don'tI really like it. The Alex's voice is orgasmic! And just saying, but to me the 3 last songs are definitely the best! PS: the songs don't deserve the videos, could be betterin this point... Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2016
    8
    The album has three of the best indie rock songs of all time ("R u mine", "Do I Wanna Know" and "Snap out of it") but some other songs areThe album has three of the best indie rock songs of all time ("R u mine", "Do I Wanna Know" and "Snap out of it") but some other songs are just regular. Overall the album is a very good album, but i wouldn't call it more than that. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    Since Humbug was dropped in 2009, Arctic Monkey' sound was never as it was like it was on their first two records. Since then, with Suck It &Since Humbug was dropped in 2009, Arctic Monkey' sound was never as it was like it was on their first two records. Since then, with Suck It & See and now AM, they've built on this psychedelic, 70's garage rock sound, & with this record they've officially mastered it. "Arabella" is a punchy track with Alex' clever wordplay, Sabbath like guitar riffs and a slick garage-y production. Also, a slight influence of hip-hop on this record.

    All In All, AM might be their second or third best record so far, but it's also an album of Los Angeles rock at it's finest. B+
    Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2015
    0
    Poor and weak **** for hipsters and tumblr fans. I don't understand how could they make such a boring album. I can't remember any of thesePoor and weak **** for hipsters and tumblr fans. I don't understand how could they make such a boring album. I can't remember any of these songs. Maybe only two first singles - they were quite good but it's not the same Arctic Monkeys I liked. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.