• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
AM Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 424 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by James Ford and Ross Orton, the fifth full-length studio release for the indie rock band includes guest appearances by Josh Homme, Bill Ryder-Jones, and Pete Thomas.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 100
    Arctic Monkeys’ fifth record is absolutely and unarguably the most incredible album of their career. It might also be the greatest record of the last decade.
  2. 90
    In the end AM not only signifies a career-defining moment that neatly places the band on a proper pedestal for all to admire--this is where not only Arctic Monkeys have come but in many ways, how they’ve masterfully conquered and continue to simply win.
  3. AM is a pitch black party record, full of menacing pop and grimy, indelible grooves drowned in bourbon.
  4. 80
    There is a depth--a willingness to experiment, a refusal to be pigeonholed--that rewards repeated listens and makes this their most coherent, most satisfying album since their debut. Where they go next is anybody's guess.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    With its multi-layered and complex music (incorporating many subgenres of rock and a great many styles in one cohesive whole), this is a great album for repeat listening, regardless of content.
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    78
    AM's a heavy seduction, restless and all the better for it.
  7. Sep 5, 2013
    50
    AM lacks that character empathy: rather than being detached--ie, cool, wry, transverted--Turner is removed (impulsive, anxious, dull) and it is this subtle distinction that shoots AM down in its shiny leather metal-toed boots.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 73
  2. Negative: 5 out of 73
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This album is one of the most complete pieces of art I have ever heard. The band has clearly matured and taken their music to a new level,This album is one of the most complete pieces of art I have ever heard. The band has clearly matured and taken their music to a new level, translating their signature youth rebellion spirit into something much deeper, transcendent, and ultimately collectively uplifting. Fireside is a hidden gem. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    vou ser sincera nao gostei muito pois tem musicas muito rock n roll , nao gosto muito de rock n roll , eu so baixei o albúm pq o alex turner évou ser sincera nao gostei muito pois tem musicas muito rock n roll , nao gosto muito de rock n roll , eu so baixei o albúm pq o alex turner é gostoso pr crlh , e tmb pq gosto muito de arabella !! um 10 pra vc Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    One of the best proper rock albums in a while. They managed to merge the sounds of the past two records into something magical. A seriousOne of the best proper rock albums in a while. They managed to merge the sounds of the past two records into something magical. A serious contender for album of the year! Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Initially, I gave the album a 6, then after some more listens, an 8. Now I've got it bumped up to a 9. The album is simply fantastic and getsInitially, I gave the album a 6, then after some more listens, an 8. Now I've got it bumped up to a 9. The album is simply fantastic and gets better with every listen. Every song makes me either want to dance or f*** or both. It's sexy and shows mastery for a band that is so young yet continues to churn out quality at a rate that is reminiscent of artists of the 70s and 80s. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2014
    8
    First: It isn't the best Arctic Monkeys album, this comes from a person that is a faithful fan of Whatever People....

    Second: It is better
    First: It isn't the best Arctic Monkeys album, this comes from a person that is a faithful fan of Whatever People....

    Second: It is better than the last album, Suck it and See doesn't have all the fruitful elements that AM does, but maybe Humbug does have a level with this one.

    Third: It is overall a great album. Arctic Monkeys are at their peak, they are the biggest rock band in the world and they know it, and know how to assert.

    AM is the result of an Alex Turner that writes like never before, semi-drug-influenced, but still with his distinctive style. The music is far from what, for example, Favourite Worst Nightmare could offer, with a more rocker mood and a strange but seductive combination of the last too albums. It still Arctic Monkeys and despite some flaws especially in the more low-tempo songs, it still a recommended rock album.
    Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    On first listen I absolutely hated this album. But, as with most things, it takes time to accept change.
    By the third and fourth listens I
    On first listen I absolutely hated this album. But, as with most things, it takes time to accept change.
    By the third and fourth listens I was absolutely hooked. I thought that since Humbug, AM have taken their sound in the right direction to something more mature and timeless.
    Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    The most pre-fabircated commercial **** i've ever listened. Instead of Arctic Monkeys I would call them Daniel Day Lewis Monkeys because theirThe most pre-fabircated commercial **** i've ever listened. Instead of Arctic Monkeys I would call them Daniel Day Lewis Monkeys because their music is as awful as Daniel's performances. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.