AM

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
AM Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 541 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by James Ford and Ross Orton, the fifth full-length studio release for the indie rock band includes guest appearances by Josh Homme, Bill Ryder-Jones, and Pete Thomas.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 100
    Arctic Monkeys’ fifth record is absolutely and unarguably the most incredible album of their career. It might also be the greatest record of the last decade.
  2. 90
    In the end AM not only signifies a career-defining moment that neatly places the band on a proper pedestal for all to admire--this is where not only Arctic Monkeys have come but in many ways, how they’ve masterfully conquered and continue to simply win.
  3. AM is a pitch black party record, full of menacing pop and grimy, indelible grooves drowned in bourbon.
  4. 80
    There is a depth--a willingness to experiment, a refusal to be pigeonholed--that rewards repeated listens and makes this their most coherent, most satisfying album since their debut. Where they go next is anybody's guess.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    With its multi-layered and complex music (incorporating many subgenres of rock and a great many styles in one cohesive whole), this is a great album for repeat listening, regardless of content.
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    78
    AM's a heavy seduction, restless and all the better for it.
  7. Sep 5, 2013
    50
    AM lacks that character empathy: rather than being detached--ie, cool, wry, transverted--Turner is removed (impulsive, anxious, dull) and it is this subtle distinction that shoots AM down in its shiny leather metal-toed boots.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 84
  2. Negative: 5 out of 84
  1. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    There is a term that many, myself included, use to describe an incredibly phenomenal album. That term is "lightning in a bottle", when all theThere is a term that many, myself included, use to describe an incredibly phenomenal album. That term is "lightning in a bottle", when all the right things happen when making an album that results in a perfect storm of incredibly solid songs from start to finish. Most bands are lucky if they get ONE album like that. Songs for the Deaf by Queens of the Stone Age, as well as Blue Album and Pinkerton by Weezer, are generally considered to be within this category of greatness. Obviously this is a personal opinion, but I feel that AM is easily "lightning in a bottle". Every song is either catchy as all Hell, centered around heavy and satisfying riffs, or romantically indulging, with many of the songs being 2 or 3 at once. This is my first taste of Arctic Monkeys, and it was a pretty **** good taste. 10/10, will be listening to their other albums now. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This is the best album you will listen to all year long. An absolute masterpiece from the Monkeys. They never fail to amaze with each album,This is the best album you will listen to all year long. An absolute masterpiece from the Monkeys. They never fail to amaze with each album, constantly delivering pieces of pure genius but even for Alex Turner this propels him to an ever greater legendary status. 'AM' seems to have gained the Monkeys universal acclaim and got them the recognition and success they fully merit! It's easily the most accessible of all their albums with such a range of and variety of emotions on show. Lead track 'Do I Wanna Know' kicks 'AM' off is fabulous fashion. It immediately draws you in and will have you playing it over and over again on repeat (Till you fall asleep?) and instant hit for sure. But from there they burst into an already cult classic for fans 'R U Mine?' It's a proper tune. And will have you rising to your feet and just chanting along. 'One For The Road' then takes you in a different direction, it's an unusual track from Arctic Monkeys. At it's roots seem an R&B rhythm mixed with 'Humbug' elements making for a splendid song. 'Arabella' is lyrically majestic! From interstellargator skinboots to helter skelters.. It's just an abundance of talent poured into one amazing tune which ends up erupting into rock guitar and banging drums. Track number 5, 'I Want It All' despite not being on pat with the majority of other songs on the album it's smart lyrics and delivery makes it enjoyable. Next, 'No.1 Party Anthem' which is in deep contrast as to what you'd expect from the name of the song. It's much more gentle and laid back and eases you into 'Mad Sounds,' A beautiful, slow, ballad-like, easy on the ears and catchy. 'Fireside' which features Bill Ryder-Jones rediscovers a rockier edge detailing Turner's doomed past encounters with a loved one. The second single, 'Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High' is another fantastic track. Nick O'Malley kills it on bass guitar with an addictive sound and punchy chorus. 'Snap Out Of It' is another standout track. This one is very catchy and instantly noticeable! From it's upbeat intro to relentless chorus. Sure to be a favourite on tour. Arctic Monkeys always have a tendancy to end things in an excellent manner and AM is no different. 'I Wanna Be Yours' is a seductive and stunning song originally by poet John Cooper Clarke but performed masterfully my the Monkeys gushing out some wonderful lyrics.

    'AM' is a career defining album from the best band around at the moment. It cements their legacy and ensures that they are unquestionably Britains greatest exports to date. They continue to improve and innovate producing some tremendous tunes and amazing albums. Alex Turner himself is a complete genius. Lyrically this is his finest hour! It is sublime songwriting of the highest degree. Simply the best lyricist of modern times and that's not an understatement. A masterpiece in it's entirety! Believe the hype!!
    Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    One of the best proper rock albums in a while. They managed to merge the sounds of the past two records into something magical. A seriousOne of the best proper rock albums in a while. They managed to merge the sounds of the past two records into something magical. A serious contender for album of the year! Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    Amazing, RnB/Hip Hop inspired indie album by a maturing band that can write and perform some great songs. I love Turner's voice and theAmazing, RnB/Hip Hop inspired indie album by a maturing band that can write and perform some great songs. I love Turner's voice and the cohesiveness of the group. The songs are top drawer, and this album has me going back for more. Such a great album. Try it out You won't be disappointed. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2015
    8
    This is the album that propelled the Arctic Monkeys to the mainstream. However, it seems that the Arctic Monkeys made a trade-off betweenThis is the album that propelled the Arctic Monkeys to the mainstream. However, it seems that the Arctic Monkeys made a trade-off between exposure and originality. AM drifts further away from their indie-rock roots, sounding more like imitators of their former selves. Although the record is catchy, I hope this is not the new direction the band is taking. Although some songs are clearly filler songs, every song on the album compliments each other, creating a pleasing, coherent album as a whole. Each song has a slightly laid-back vibe, although some songs start to sound similar after a few repeated listens. Overall, AM is a great indie-rock record that is musically and lyrically solid. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    A very good record! The production gave me FIRST the feeling that many songs were variations on each others! I got over it to appreciate manyA very good record! The production gave me FIRST the feeling that many songs were variations on each others! I got over it to appreciate many well written songs. Not as perfect as many claim it is, in my opinion! Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2015
    0
    Poor and weak **** for hipsters and tumblr fans. I don't understand how could they make such a boring album. I can't remember any of thesePoor and weak **** for hipsters and tumblr fans. I don't understand how could they make such a boring album. I can't remember any of these songs. Maybe only two first singles - they were quite good but it's not the same Arctic Monkeys I liked. Expand

See all 84 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.