AM - Arctic Monkeys
AM Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 390 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by James Ford and Ross Orton, the fifth full-length studio release for the indie rock band includes guest appearances by Josh Homme, Bill Ryder-Jones, and Pete Thomas.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 100
    Arctic Monkeys’ fifth record is absolutely and unarguably the most incredible album of their career. It might also be the greatest record of the last decade.
  2. 90
    In the end AM not only signifies a career-defining moment that neatly places the band on a proper pedestal for all to admire--this is where not only Arctic Monkeys have come but in many ways, how they’ve masterfully conquered and continue to simply win.
  3. AM is a pitch black party record, full of menacing pop and grimy, indelible grooves drowned in bourbon.
  4. 80
    There is a depth--a willingness to experiment, a refusal to be pigeonholed--that rewards repeated listens and makes this their most coherent, most satisfying album since their debut. Where they go next is anybody's guess.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Almost a decade into their career, the Arctic Monkeys have aged gracefully into their precociously world-weary image with a mature album about immaturity, a carefully written and produced effort about the desultory careen of youth.
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    78
    AM's a heavy seduction, restless and all the better for it.
  7. Sep 5, 2013
    50
    AM lacks that character empathy: rather than being detached--ie, cool, wry, transverted--Turner is removed (impulsive, anxious, dull) and it is this subtle distinction that shoots AM down in its shiny leather metal-toed boots.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 69
  2. Negative: 5 out of 69
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This album is one of the most complete pieces of art I have ever heard. The band has clearly matured and taken their music to a new level,This album is one of the most complete pieces of art I have ever heard. The band has clearly matured and taken their music to a new level, translating their signature youth rebellion spirit into something much deeper, transcendent, and ultimately collectively uplifting. Fireside is a hidden gem. Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    There is a term that many, myself included, use to describe an incredibly phenomenal album. That term is "lightning in a bottle", when all theThere is a term that many, myself included, use to describe an incredibly phenomenal album. That term is "lightning in a bottle", when all the right things happen when making an album that results in a perfect storm of incredibly solid songs from start to finish. Most bands are lucky if they get ONE album like that. Songs for the Deaf by Queens of the Stone Age, as well as Blue Album and Pinkerton by Weezer, are generally considered to be within this category of greatness. Obviously this is a personal opinion, but I feel that AM is easily "lightning in a bottle". Every song is either catchy as all Hell, centered around heavy and satisfying riffs, or romantically indulging, with many of the songs being 2 or 3 at once. This is my first taste of Arctic Monkeys, and it was a pretty **** good taste. 10/10, will be listening to their other albums now. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    One of the best proper rock albums in a while. They managed to merge the sounds of the past two records into something magical. A seriousOne of the best proper rock albums in a while. They managed to merge the sounds of the past two records into something magical. A serious contender for album of the year! Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    AM sees Arctic Monkeys take another step in their evolution that has been obvious since Favourite Worst Nightmare; and this time it's moreAM sees Arctic Monkeys take another step in their evolution that has been obvious since Favourite Worst Nightmare; and this time it's more daring than Suck It and See. The album successfully manages to combine the R&B influences which have been there from the start with the rock influences that inevitably come with being a guitar band. And this is never more evident than on Arabella, where R&B style verses culminate in a Black Sabbath-rocking chorus. Thematically, the album could be about a single girl that Alex Turner is lusting for. In fact, at time he seems rather desperate for her like on opener Do I Wanna Know? (ever thought of calling when you've had a few/'cos I always do). This theme continues throughout the album and is particularly evident on lyrical highlight of the album No. 1 Party Anthem, where the listener is taken to a scene in a dingy club ('sweat on the walls, cages and poles'). Other highlights include last years single R U Mine?, Arabella, Knee Socks and the John Cooper Clarke cover I Wanna Be Yours. Overall, AM seems evidence that Arctic Monkeys are the best thing in Britain right now, and one of the most interesting bands of the last decade. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    The beginning of the album starts with two highlights: "Do I Wanna Know?" and "R U Mine" That both show originality as well as telling us thatThe beginning of the album starts with two highlights: "Do I Wanna Know?" and "R U Mine" That both show originality as well as telling us that the band's talents haven't faded away over the years. With the unique voice provided by Alex Turner, it really takes a turn for Brit rock, but not dirty, filthy Brit rock. The production and Alex Turner's voice show us that we are getting a clean cut album. The guitar riffs on R U Mine really get infectious. After the two highlight tracks, there is still no disappoint found after the two. The slick feel of "Arabella". Once the first half of the album is over, more mellow, downbeat songs come into place. The second half of the record shows that Arctic Monkeys aren't some crazy rock band, but a really lyrically, vocally, and instrumentally talented rock band that can deliver some deep emotional songs, and even on the track "Fireside" they stray into Coldplay territory, but do not fail one bit at the attempt. All in all, this album for someone who listened to Arctic Monkeys for the first time does not disappoint me. From the infectious guitar riffs, the smooth voice of Alex Turner, and the originality, Arctic Monkeys have captivated listeners young and old. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    On first listen I absolutely hated this album. But, as with most things, it takes time to accept change.
    By the third and fourth listens I
    On first listen I absolutely hated this album. But, as with most things, it takes time to accept change.
    By the third and fourth listens I was absolutely hooked. I thought that since Humbug, AM have taken their sound in the right direction to something more mature and timeless.
    Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    The most pre-fabircated commercial **** i've ever listened. Instead of Arctic Monkeys I would call them Daniel Day Lewis Monkeys because theirThe most pre-fabircated commercial **** i've ever listened. Instead of Arctic Monkeys I would call them Daniel Day Lewis Monkeys because their music is as awful as Daniel's performances. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.