Amaryllis

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 27, 2012
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On
  1. Metal Hammer (UK)
    Mar 28, 2012
    70
    If it ain't broke, why fix it? And the results speak for themselves. [Apr 2012, p.108]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Mar 28, 2012
    58
    Their fourth album genuflects once again to the standard over-revered '70s idols. [301 Mar 2012, p.75]
  3. AllMusic
    Apr 3, 2012
    50
    Even with this change of tone, the album is still classic Shinedown, and though this kind of triumphant mood will probably disappoint fans looking for something to cut loose and pump their fists to.
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    50
    Shinedown has the raw talent to keep Amaryllis afloat, but the album is full of holes and it always appears to be on the verge of sinking.
  5. Q Magazine
    Apr 24, 2012
    40
    Shiny slabs of US radio rock. [May 2012, p.94]
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    40
    On their fourth album, these Florida rockers muster up anthems that would embarrass a Hallmark Card hack.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. May 13, 2012
    6
    Shinedown - "Amaryllis" is a very energetic, post-grunge disk bordering with hard rock. Songs like "I'm Not Alright", "Enemies" and "NowhereShinedown - "Amaryllis" is a very energetic, post-grunge disk bordering with hard rock. Songs like "I'm Not Alright", "Enemies" and "Nowhere Kids" are a decent composition, but none of them really deserve to be awarded comparing to the material proposed by the competition. Nevertheless, the album is still a good one. Full Review »
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    Amaryllis is one of the best albums i have heard this year. I love the direction that Shinedown is heading in and Rob Cavallo was definitelyAmaryllis is one of the best albums i have heard this year. I love the direction that Shinedown is heading in and Rob Cavallo was definitely the right man for the job, when you're looking for an epic production (The Black Parade, Dizzy Up The Girl and The Sound of Madness) he gets the job done right.

    Adrenaline: The perfect opener for the album, high energy and a familiar sound to get the fans excited.
    Bully : Lyrically open for interpretation, no hiding behind metaphors, just a bold message.

    Amaryllis : When i first heard this song I had to play it about 5 times before progressing through the album. Amaryllis is the kind of song that is lucky to come around once in a band's career, but this is not the case for Shinedown, they've done it before and haven't stopped at this song either.

    Unity: The melody and lyrics, along with Smith's voice cutting through the mix on this track provide for an incredible uplifting feeling, it's very hard to feel down or alone while listening to this song. Not only is this song about "Unity" But more than that, it is unifying.

    Enemies: This track treads on familiar ground with a guitar riff that reminds you of Shinedown's previous efforts. New and old fans will both enjoy this song even though it is one of the weaker tracks on the record. I'm Not Alright: A great contribution to "Amaryllis". This song deserves and award for the instrumentation alone, The strings really set this song apart from the rest. Nowhere Kids: High energy angst filled song "Guess who's back and mad as hell, the nowhere kids that wish you well"

    Miracle: An acoustic driven love song, one of the best tracks on the album.

    I'll Follow You: A perfectly placed song to catch your attention. 3/4 time signature, lovely piano work throughout and a soaring chorus. The only thing i can fault about this track are the lyrics in the chorus, The rhymes seem a bit forced and the cliche lyrics sound like they were rushed.

    For My Sake: Where do i start with this song.. There really is too much to talk about in my short, yet getting longer review. To sum it up in short: Catchy chorus without the need for Smith to sing notes at the end or out of his range (Which he tends to do quite often) and overall a very instrumentally versatile yet structured song.

    My Name: Probably the weakest track on the album, yet I'm sure a lot of people can relate to the lyrics "You're **** wearing me out." Through The Ghost: An acoustically dominated album closer. Not the best stripped down performance but still a solid finish to a well produced, well recorded and an outstanding effort from a band that has already given so much. I give Amaryllis a 9/10.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    This album is great i love the fact that many jerks who only like hip hop and ditched rock music talk poorly about this album asi if whatThis album is great i love the fact that many jerks who only like hip hop and ditched rock music talk poorly about this album asi if what theyre stupid comments matter it simply falls to one fact they are a bully!!! buy this album on itunes it is epic perfect for gaming as well in battlefield 3 >:-) Full Review »