• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
American Doll Posse Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 151 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer-songwriter-pianist's ninth studio album is political, confrontational, and lengthy (at over 20 tracks)--and also falls under the dreaded "concept album" category, as its songs come from the viewpoints of five different characters.

Top Track

Bouncing Off Clouds
Bouncing off of clouds we were Is there a love lost and found? Make it easy, make this easy It's not as heavy as it seems Wrapped in metal, wrapped... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Spin
    90
    Trading obscure metaphors for assertive personae, Amos sings with a remarkably forceful focus. [Jun 2007, p.92]
  2. A message to lapsed Tori Amos fans: come back. You won’t be bored.
  3. Some of her best work in years is here... There's far too much, though; cut to 10 tracks it would have been her one of her most significant records.
  4. If still too uneven and entirely too overstuffed to rank among her most essential albums, American Doll Posse is certainly Amos's most ambitious record, both for the breadth of its sound and for the scope of its driving concept.
  5. Billboard
    60
    Despite it being more rock-oriented than 2005's "The Beekeeper," this album isn't much of a sonic progression, and it takes a while for "Posse" to find its voice. [5 May 2007]
  6. Uncut
    60
    American Doll Posse sounds like a return to more conventional songwriting form. [Jun 2007, p.87]
  7. Adding a set of young female characters to this drab mix only accentuates that a concept is needed to bolster the actual music.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 85
  2. Negative: 4 out of 85
  1. Dec 11, 2017
    10
    solid work and better than the beekpeer. It's a Ambitious LP with a good concept (a little similar with Strange Little Girls)
    Favorite
    solid work and better than the beekpeer. It's a Ambitious LP with a good concept (a little similar with Strange Little Girls)
    Favorite Tracks: Dragon, Almost Rosey & Smokey Joe
    Expand
  2. steoc
    May 5, 2007
    10
    her best album since FromTheChoirgirlHotel
  3. ElsaL.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    The best Tori's album since From the choirgirl hotel. Tori's magic is back!!!! and as Tori's fan I have to say: thank you, The best Tori's album since From the choirgirl hotel. Tori's magic is back!!!! and as Tori's fan I have to say: thank you, Tori, for these amazing 23 tracks!!! Expand
  4. EleannaE
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Ever since Choirgil have I been so moved by an Amos' record. I love all the different styles in it, I have some issues with the lurics Ever since Choirgil have I been so moved by an Amos' record. I love all the different styles in it, I have some issues with the lurics but that's ok, she has always had lines that I just couldn't get. But her voice is back, her ENERGY is back and that's what I've been missing most. Hooray for American Doll Posse. :-) Expand
  5. JamieG.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Really great album, and a step, not a reproduction of past successes for Tori. Some truly spectacular tracks (Digital Ghost, Teenage Really great album, and a step, not a reproduction of past successes for Tori. Some truly spectacular tracks (Digital Ghost, Teenage Hustling, for example), and then some others that haven't grabbed me. All in all, its become one of those albums I listen to consistently and always enjoy to the point of distraction. Expand
  6. BrandonS
    May 8, 2007
    8
    I like that Tori's albums are overlong, even though things tend to get muddled. This has been particularly true from Scarlet's Walk I like that Tori's albums are overlong, even though things tend to get muddled. This has been particularly true from Scarlet's Walk on. But it's nice to see some ambition in an artist, and there is a lot going on in Tori's songs, so there will be much to discover through many repeated listens. Better than usual lyrics, this cd also boasts some of her best "pop songs" since To Venus and Back. Standout tracks include "Big Wheel," Bouncing Off Clouds," and "Secret Spell." Expand
  7. DAneNo
    Jun 3, 2007
    0
    1 good song - bouncing - the rest is like Boys for Pele outtakes...

See all 85 User Reviews