American Doll Posse Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer-songwriter-pianist's ninth studio album is political, confrontational, and lengthy (at over 20 tracks)--and also falls under the dreaded "concept album" category, as its songs come from the viewpoints of five different characters.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. 90
    Trading obscure metaphors for assertive personae, Amos sings with a remarkably forceful focus. [Jun 2007, p.92]
  2. If American Doll Posse sees her remain an acquired taste, those who have already been converted are in for a treat.
  3. 80
    Texturally, it's a middle ground between her searing early album Under the Pink and the sun-dappled 2005 The Beekeeper. [Jun 2007, p.105]
  4. Her musical vision and production skills are almost astonishing in places. [But] American Doll Posse is a work that has its problems due to its sprawling nature.
  5. 60
    Here's a concept Tori: less is more. [Jun 2007, p.108]
  6. In typical Tori fashion, there's way too much conceptual malarkey surrounding the songs, but if you can ignore her fake posse, you'll find this is Amos' best album in many years.
  7. Adding a set of young female characters to this drab mix only accentuates that a concept is needed to bolster the actual music.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 82
  2. Negative: 4 out of 82
  1. TheKingOfRock
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Contains many great songs which somehow even fit together in spite of their variability, Tori is very talented musically, vocally and Contains many great songs which somehow even fit together in spite of their variability, Tori is very talented musically, vocally and lyrically and here she uses this talent to produce great music that is fun to listen to. Rocks and kicks ass.i Collapse
  2. chris
    May 5, 2007
    10
    She NEVER fails to stun me, i think all her albums are all amazing for different reasons and this, is no exception! lots of fantasic songs. I She NEVER fails to stun me, i think all her albums are all amazing for different reasons and this, is no exception! lots of fantasic songs. I really am shocked when people say the don't get Tori, she is a musical genius! Expand
  3. MelissaC
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Amazing. Different. Beautiful. Inspirational. She needs everything wonderful to happen to her. She spreads wonder with each song. Thankou tori.
  4. EleannaE
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Ever since Choirgil have I been so moved by an Amos' record. I love all the different styles in it, I have some issues with the lurics Ever since Choirgil have I been so moved by an Amos' record. I love all the different styles in it, I have some issues with the lurics but that's ok, she has always had lines that I just couldn't get. But her voice is back, her ENERGY is back and that's what I've been missing most. Hooray for American Doll Posse. :-) Expand
  5. JamieG.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Really great album, and a step, not a reproduction of past successes for Tori. Some truly spectacular tracks (Digital Ghost, Teenage Really great album, and a step, not a reproduction of past successes for Tori. Some truly spectacular tracks (Digital Ghost, Teenage Hustling, for example), and then some others that haven't grabbed me. All in all, its become one of those albums I listen to consistently and always enjoy to the point of distraction. Expand
  6. BrandonS
    May 8, 2007
    8
    I like that Tori's albums are overlong, even though things tend to get muddled. This has been particularly true from Scarlet's Walk I like that Tori's albums are overlong, even though things tend to get muddled. This has been particularly true from Scarlet's Walk on. But it's nice to see some ambition in an artist, and there is a lot going on in Tori's songs, so there will be much to discover through many repeated listens. Better than usual lyrics, this cd also boasts some of her best "pop songs" since To Venus and Back. Standout tracks include "Big Wheel," Bouncing Off Clouds," and "Secret Spell." Expand
  7. DAneNo
    Jun 3, 2007
    0
    1 good song - bouncing - the rest is like Boys for Pele outtakes...

See all 82 User Reviews