• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2011
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    7
    A beautiful mix of songs by a talented act. I love their blend of alt. country, folk and jangle pop. Great album to chill out to. Good down-home atmosphere pours from the speakers...enjoy!
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    I will say this is my favorite release of the year so far. Their others albums are brilliant imo both lyrically and musically but more of an acquired taste to many. This album however keeps that vibe but also has the most straight forward and mass appealing songs they have ever written like Fletcher and Love The Way You Walk Away. The latter is one of my favorite songs ever written. II will say this is my favorite release of the year so far. Their others albums are brilliant imo both lyrically and musically but more of an acquired taste to many. This album however keeps that vibe but also has the most straight forward and mass appealing songs they have ever written like Fletcher and Love The Way You Walk Away. The latter is one of my favorite songs ever written. I feel Eric Earley is one of the most underrated lyricists right now and music. He is unreal. For those who have not heard of this band, this would be the perfect starter album to build interest. Too bad that fool shrimp has no clue who these guys are. Collapse
  3. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    This is my first review--and one I feel obligated to write due to the insultingly-low score given to this album by the critics. Immediately-gratifying and full of hooks that draw you in and bring you back for more, American Goldwing is yet another triumph for a band that has consistently impressed for the better part of ten years. While not the stratospheric leap between "Wild MountainThis is my first review--and one I feel obligated to write due to the insultingly-low score given to this album by the critics. Immediately-gratifying and full of hooks that draw you in and bring you back for more, American Goldwing is yet another triumph for a band that has consistently impressed for the better part of ten years. While not the stratospheric leap between "Wild Mountain Nation" and "Furr", this album is still of a quality lacking in most new releases this year. I challenge you to find another "indie" band with three consecutive releases that deliver so completely. "American Goldwing" does exactly what it was intended to do--it evokes a time and place of yore. And it still sounds 100% like Blitzen Trapper. These guys are the real deal, folks. Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    This album, to me, hits the sweet spot. Sure, it reaches back to Skynyrd, the Band, the Allman Bros, etc. But perhaps that is not a bad thing, ey? There is no doubt that this album rocks like so little of contemporary releases- -even ones I really like--do. And is that not refreshing?
  5. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    It bothers me that The Guardian wrote the following line in their review. "but presumably that form of nostalgia was unintentional." This bothers me because if they had done just a little bit of background research, they would have realized that the nostalgia experienced while listening to this album was 100% intentional. Blitzen Trapper's main singer Eric Earley said it in an interviewIt bothers me that The Guardian wrote the following line in their review. "but presumably that form of nostalgia was unintentional." This bothers me because if they had done just a little bit of background research, they would have realized that the nostalgia experienced while listening to this album was 100% intentional. Blitzen Trapper's main singer Eric Earley said it in an interview near first announcing their new album. When asked what he's trying to express when crafting the album, he says "It's me trying to evoke a true American nostalgia." When it comes to modern albums/bands attempting to recreate that 70's rock feeling, Blitzen Trapper have created a true nostalgic masterpiece. The only thing this album is missing is a small bit more of the creation that the band can call their own. This album is one of the most immediately enjoyable albums I have listened to this year. No matter how much the critics and hipsters say it's not creative, I can tell you that I don't care. Sometimes it's nice to have a break from the overwhelming creativity that's sprouting in a lot of new music nowadays. For Blitzen Trapper to bring us back to the simpler days when everybody could sit around and enjoy some of the popular rock music I think is absolutely genius. Say what you will about this album and it's so-called "Underwhelming" creativity, I think a good album is one you can immediately enjoy, and this album definitely fits that category. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    78
    About half of American Goldwing owes more to Faulkner than Jack London.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    40
    Sure, Blitzen Trapper attempt to vary the formula a bit--there's the jangly campfire number, or that one about astronauts--but when it comes right down to it, everything's all the same.
  3. Oct 20, 2011
    40
    The eclectic approach was often messy but also fresh, which can't be said for their middling sixth LP.