• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 21, 2004
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 578 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 578

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. patc
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    its got it all. great album.
  2. CRL
    Jul 26, 2011
    7
    No one saw this coming. Green Day makes a rock opera, and then that rock opera becomes one of the greatest of the decade. This album never lets up from the scorching prelude that is the title track, to the emotionally charged ending.
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    I don't know much about songs, but it doesn't take an American to realize how rocking out this music is, as well as the lyrics too.
  4. Jan 16, 2012
    8
    Never been a big fan of Greenday before or since this record. I've always found them very average musically and borderline childish lyrically. This record however is very very good. Definitely GreenDay at their very best. apart from the singles there are half a dozen other excellent tracks on this.
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of the 2000-2009 decade. This album was a classic and it still is. I dont listen to it as much as i did in 2004 **** still the best album since Nirvana's Nevermind
  6. Brian
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    A deep,and just flat out incredible album!
  7. Nickcooldaddy
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    I was blown away by this album, it covers the whole range of moods from heavy punk to soft and slow relaxing music. They've hit the big one with American Idiot.
  8. PunkyMcpunkerFunkypunky
    Sep 25, 2004
    9
    This album has made itself a special spot in my heart and I have been waiting for it for four years. For those who are looking for another masterpiece like "Dookie" might be a little disappointed, but I believe this is the most thought provoking Green Day album yet, you should go pick it up, I don't care who you are. I walk a lonely road!
  9. LarissaM
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    i love this album its brilliant ... i cant get enough of it
  10. LevisO
    Sep 29, 2004
    9
    It's official: green day are back.
  11. kyleroach
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    kicks ass
  12. May 17, 2012
    10
    This is the definition of perfection. It starts of with the energetic first single and title track American Idiot: 10/10. Next there comes the super epic Jesus of Suburbia: 10/10. The 3rd track off the album is Holiday (10/10) which leads right into Boulevard of Broken Dreams. Boulevard of Broken Dreams is my second favourite song of all time and won the Grammy award for Record of theThis is the definition of perfection. It starts of with the energetic first single and title track American Idiot: 10/10. Next there comes the super epic Jesus of Suburbia: 10/10. The 3rd track off the album is Holiday (10/10) which leads right into Boulevard of Broken Dreams. Boulevard of Broken Dreams is my second favourite song of all time and won the Grammy award for Record of the Year, I think. It fully deserved it: 10/10. Next comes Are We The Waiting (9/10) which is a slow track, but still really amazing. I look at it from 3 different points of view. First of all it's a good track. Then I sometimes take it as a kind of sow interlude in the album. Then I sometimes also understand it as an intro for the next fast track it leads right into: St. Jimmy (9/10). The 7th track off the album is Give Me Noavacaine which is kind of a bit slow like Are We The Waiting but again, really amazing: 10/10. She's a Rebel is the 8th track and is pretty fast-paced: 9/10. The 9th track is Extraordinary Girl. Sure, the verse isn't that convincing, but the chorus is just... Words can't express how great it is: 10/10. Next comes the epic Letterbomb. Just amazing: 10/10. Then there comes Wake Me Up When September Ends which opens quietly, with an acoustic guitar, finally evolving into an amazing song with solos, great melodies, and fantastic vocals: 10/10 Track 12 is Homecoming, a 9-minute epic just like Jesus of Suburbia: 10/10. The last track off American Idiot is Whatsername, evolving from a muffled guitar riff to an energetic, loud song: 10/10. Well done Green Day! Well done! There is NO bad track on this album. And I am realistic. Trust me, there is no bad song on this album at all. Expand
  13. St.Jimmy
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    Meatcritic is full of BS. American Idiot deserves a 90 or higher.
  14. AndrewC.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    "American Idiot" is one of the leading rock operas of our time. The epic starts off with the title track. One of the album's highlights is "Jesus of Suburbia", which is, like every song, a serious one, telling about the economy, although the most politics-headed song is the song that follows, "Holiday", which will have people singing along as the classic blasts through the speakers, "American Idiot" is one of the leading rock operas of our time. The epic starts off with the title track. One of the album's highlights is "Jesus of Suburbia", which is, like every song, a serious one, telling about the economy, although the most politics-headed song is the song that follows, "Holiday", which will have people singing along as the classic blasts through the speakers, with strong lines. Billie Joe Armstrong says the topic sentence in just one line, "I beg to dream and differ from the hollow lies". The guitar feedback transitions into "Boulevard of Broken Dreams", a song we all knew from the radio. Songs 5-10 are good, but not the strong points. 11 is "Wake Me Up When September Ends" confused as a song for 9/11, although it was to honor his father. Another nine minute epic follows after "Jesus of Suburbia", which was song 2, called "Homecoming". The last song is "Whatsername", originally to be released as a single, although Green Day thought the video was terrible. Overall, "American Idiot" is a classic, and hopefully, it will also be re-mastered. Expand
  15. flabslab
    Jun 8, 2007
    3
    Gee, there sure must be a load of American Idiots out there. I can only assume that the moonbats who like this simplistic dross were no more rthan a gleam in their mummy's pantie's in the late 70's when true punk bands like the Pistols, Stranglers and Clash were reinventing rock, Listen young guys, when are you going to stop copying my generation and come up with some Gee, there sure must be a load of American Idiots out there. I can only assume that the moonbats who like this simplistic dross were no more rthan a gleam in their mummy's pantie's in the late 70's when true punk bands like the Pistols, Stranglers and Clash were reinventing rock, Listen young guys, when are you going to stop copying my generation and come up with some musical and political ideas of your own. Both the Jim's and John are dead, and so is the mass murdering concentration camp commander Che. Get over it and move on. If you like this you are indeed an American Idiot. Expand
  16. PhillipR
    Sep 24, 2004
    0
    I was absolutely shocked and disgusted at how disappointing this album was, as this was recommended to me bya friend with normal good taste in music.
  17. StevenI
    Oct 2, 2004
    9
    The Best Green Day Album to date, Billy Joe and the gang prove that it is possible to take multiple influences from other bands and still create a unique and catchy album. While some may dismiss this album as "messy," this couldn't be farther from the truth, as American Idiot smoothly tells its provocative story through addictively complex songs.
  18. S.Toncray
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    Just buy it... now! Sublime stuff. The perfect punk headtrip. Wildly original and one of the most timely albums to come out in a long time!
  19. MatthewM
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    As a Green Day fan for over ten years, I have to say this is almost certainly their best album to date, FANTASTIC!
  20. WinonaK
    Oct 13, 2004
    0
    Utter shite. do not listen to this crap. I love REM
  21. GreenDayKicksass
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    WOW!!!! is I all I have to say... This is one of Green Day's best, if not best, CD's ever made!!! I've already got my tickets to see these guys live... amazing CD! Good work Green Day!
  22. rakxii
    Sep 22, 2004
    8
    Don't they grow up so fast? No? well never mind American Idiot shows that Billiejo and co might have actually learned to read a newspaper or watched the news since releasing Dookie. This album shows that they realise life is not so one-dimensional as some of their earlier songs would have us believe. And don't get me wrong I liked those songs but there is something to be said Don't they grow up so fast? No? well never mind American Idiot shows that Billiejo and co might have actually learned to read a newspaper or watched the news since releasing Dookie. This album shows that they realise life is not so one-dimensional as some of their earlier songs would have us believe. And don't get me wrong I liked those songs but there is something to be said for music that people can relate to. I must admit when I first heard about this album I was worried. Greenday going political was either going to be really good or really naff. Fortunately I feel, this is a really good. I imagine many people will disagree with me about this because it doesn?t sound like everything else ever written by Greenday. But frankly if it did, people would complain that Greenday were just too scared to try something new. The two 9min marathons 'Jesus of Suburbia' and 'Homecoming' show a different style of music, something kept out of mainstream ears for years. While 'Boulevard of Broken Dreams' is dark and grunge-like while not becoming a cliché. As for the Greenday 'puritans', there is still plenty of more classic punk on offer. 'Holiday' is a fantastic song, while keeping to a similar (if not darker) sound to that of previous Greenday albums. There are other obvious tracks such as 'St. Jimmy' and of course 'American Idiot' that strike a similar tone and stick in the mind over certain other tracks. Many people have criticised American Idiot for being similar to music by The Who or Clash. I pondered this and figured that I had never listened too much by those artists so could not possibly comment on that front. However I do think that Greenday's target audience for the album is 17+, How many 17yr olds (such as myself) do you know who listen to The Who? Infact, how many 28yr olds do you know who listen to The Who? So to sum up, this album has come from a mature, older Greenday but is no doubt of high a quality to be enjoyed by anyone with the patience to sit and really listen, for Greenday fans it will be the case of doing what they did and 'trying something new'. Collapse
  23. JustinS.
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    This album is a huge artistic leap for Green Day, in terms of lyrics, concept, and musical ambition. Their best album - yes, better than Dookie.
  24. SteveM
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    A big messy sprawl of power, melancholic sentiment, anger, confusion, love, rebellion. Fantastic stuff. Green Day's best album yet. Stunning.
  25. SaeedSaeed
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    Its been four long years since Green Day?s last effort and lot of things changed since then: Four punk icons died, Bush as President, Gulf War Part 2 and what some may argue as the most distressing event ? the rise of kiddy punk which is been played to great success by the likes of Simple Plan, Good Charlotte, Avril Lavigne and those twats from Busted. If we ever need an album that Its been four long years since Green Day?s last effort and lot of things changed since then: Four punk icons died, Bush as President, Gulf War Part 2 and what some may argue as the most distressing event ? the rise of kiddy punk which is been played to great success by the likes of Simple Plan, Good Charlotte, Avril Lavigne and those twats from Busted. If we ever need an album that re-affirms our faith in punk music surely this Berkley trio can deliver it and with American Idiot, Green Day?s seventh record, not only have they fashioned a punk-rock opera but a punk-rock masterpiece. Concepts albums is a swear word in this currently pop oriented market but in Green Day?s hands they have delivered the friendliest concept album ever recorded. There is no fat ladies singing, nor is there a choir or pretentious ten minute guitar solos. What you have here frankly is thirteen songs that are all laced with great hooks and delivered with indignant passion. And oh yeah?.two of the songs are nine minutes suites that frenziedly careens from straight up punk ravers to 60?s bubblegum pop to a flamenco styled power ballad. All from the guys who made their name by writing songs about sniffing glue and masturbation! The tale been spun here is about disaffected youth and the death of American Idealism. That?s only the overview for if you decide to take the lyrics literally it becomes a mess with characters such as Jesus of Suburbia and St. Jimmy morphing into each other and by the story?s end you don?t know who is alive or who?s dead. Thankfully, the band decides to pay more attention to the music rather than the words and the album benefits in spades. Green Day packs more hooks in this album than other bands can muster in their whole career. Title track and killer lead single ?American Idiot? proves that Green Day can still fashion pop nuggets by only using 3 chords and the thrashy fun of ?St. Jimmy? shows that these thirty something punks haven?t lost their chops just yet. Like their last album, the folk-infused Warning, the real surprises lie in the different musical elements and styles the trio incorporates into their work. Unlike The Offspring who continually and sometimes embarrassingly copy the same formula (Pretty Fly/Original Prankster), Green Day?s music continues to evolve to often stunning results. ?Extraordinary Girl? with its chiming guitars and backing vocals evoke the Shangri La?s and ?Boulevard of Broken Dreams? is the type of power ballad that Noel Gallagher would kill for. But the most outrageous efforts lay in ?Jesus of Suburbia? and ?Home Coming?, both nine minutes monoliths that boast several musical movements. At first listen these two tracks (that roughly form a third of the album) seem scattered at best but once absorbed the listener gets a kick out of the time changes and the sheer urgency of the lyrics. To call ?American Idiot? a protest record is an understatement. Billie Joe?s lyrics does a great job in describing the characters inhabiting this ?land of make believe?. From ?Jesus of Suburbia? who is raised ?on a steady diet of Soda Pop and Ritalin? to ?St. Jimmy? who is ?here to represent the needle in the vein of the establishment?. Billie Joe is also not scared to vent his anger especially on tracks such as the anti-Bush anthem ?American Idiot? and the Clash sounding ?Holiday? where he labels Bush as ?the President Gasman!?. American Idiot is not the first rock opera ever made despite claims from some sections of the media. Husker Du?s ?Zen Arcade? still remains a landmark punk concept album and there is off-course The Who?s ?Tommy? which sold squillions of records. But American Idiot is equally impressive and over time will stand in the same pantheon as the aforementioned classics. In a time where the whole world seems to go pear shaped and death robbed us of our punk idols (RIP Joe Strummer, Joey, Dee Dee, and Johnny Ramone) Green Day?s existence is now more vital than ever. With ?American Idiot?, Green Day has not only released their greatest and grandest musical statement. But an album that returns the social and political relevance back to punk. For that, there is no rating high enough. Expand
  26. DominicS
    Sep 30, 2004
    4
    Don't get me wrong - it's a good, solid album. But there is no way that it lives up to the extensive hype it's being given. Especially given their political views - I just feel that this album is getting excess acclaim because it is _fashionable_ to be anti-imperialist these days. If you don't consider the political message, they just aren't making good music on Don't get me wrong - it's a good, solid album. But there is no way that it lives up to the extensive hype it's being given. Especially given their political views - I just feel that this album is getting excess acclaim because it is _fashionable_ to be anti-imperialist these days. If you don't consider the political message, they just aren't making good music on this album. Expand
  27. [Anonymous]]
    Jul 2, 2005
    5
    Disappointing. Period.
  28. greendaysucksyuptheysuck
    Apr 6, 2006
    0
    i personally wish i could give a negative score on this vote but unfortently 0 is as low as it gets, green days old stuff was alright but american idiot is exactly that stupid as shit
  29. dex
    May 7, 2006
    2
    This album has no inventiveness, its a typical sell-ot album. There old stuff was reasonable but they have got considerably worse with this album.
  30. Mike
    Nov 3, 2008
    1
    This CD is BAD. Seriously. Have you ever listened to their older stuff? They went from amazing to crap in a matter of a few years. If you like this CD, then you're probably a 10-year-old goth kid who thinks they're being rebellious. There's nothing "hardcore" about this album They went from being smart and catchy to stereotypical and cliche. If you listened to any albums This CD is BAD. Seriously. Have you ever listened to their older stuff? They went from amazing to crap in a matter of a few years. If you like this CD, then you're probably a 10-year-old goth kid who thinks they're being rebellious. There's nothing "hardcore" about this album They went from being smart and catchy to stereotypical and cliche. If you listened to any albums before Nimrod, then you will agree that this CD is just horrible! Expand
  31. zackz
    Oct 2, 2004
    7
    This album is good but they are trying to keep popular so they are changing their music to whats popular NOW not in the 90's when the music was good and not good charlette
  32. AlexK
    Oct 21, 2004
    1
    This album by Green Day sucks compared to their old shit
  33. DominicT
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    Very good album, one of the best I ever listened. Buy it right now.
  34. ddcc
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    awesome, the best album i ever heard!!!!!!!!!
  35. benm
    Nov 22, 2005
    1
    it sucked....period
  36. JelloBiafra
    Jan 15, 2005
    0
    GOD DAMN THIS MUSIC SUX. ALL THEY Do is play rock chords they do not work together. if you like to listen to good rock music listen to something b4 1985.
  37. Somebody
    Dec 9, 2005
    4
    Meh. Green Day redefines what is known as "generic punk-pop." I have been trying to hear a song on this CD with "mature lyrics," but all I manage to hear is Green Day.
  38. BangoSkank
    May 21, 2005
    5
    I heard about this album from a lot of people so I decided to give it a go. Now ive never really been too much of a fan of greenday, but when i heard all the hype swarming this album I was excited. But...once again hype has let me down. The music in this album, claiming to be a "rock opera", is bland and repetitive. I have no idea how anyone could ever listen to this album more than I heard about this album from a lot of people so I decided to give it a go. Now ive never really been too much of a fan of greenday, but when i heard all the hype swarming this album I was excited. But...once again hype has let me down. The music in this album, claiming to be a "rock opera", is bland and repetitive. I have no idea how anyone could ever listen to this album more than twice, i got bored with the songs on the first go. Also I heard this album dealt with politics and other intriguing things, but again I was let down. This album has nothing to do with politics or anything important for that matter. It's just a bunch of nonsensical drivel piled together. The reason im giving this album a 5 and not a 0 is because although i was bored with the songs, some of the guitar is at least somewhat memorable but other than that this album has no substance. (Oh yeah, and anyone who says that Billy Joe, or whatever, is hot...hes in his 30s and the only reason he "looks" hot is because he uses a LOT of makeup) Expand
  39. MasonB
    Jul 21, 2005
    0
    It all sounds the same. nuff said
  40. NIC
    Sep 15, 2005
    0
    Green Day is pure trash. You peolpe should listen to decent music for a change.
  41. ACDCritic
    Oct 27, 2006
    3
    I don't understand the great reviews this CD's gotten. Green Day have become political and boring. So many songs on this CD are so slow that they might as well be pop music. Very few intelligent lyrics, and, most importantly, very few catchy songs. The only bright spots on the CD include the epic 2nd song as well as Broken Dreams and Holiday, although even that latter is stopped I don't understand the great reviews this CD's gotten. Green Day have become political and boring. So many songs on this CD are so slow that they might as well be pop music. Very few intelligent lyrics, and, most importantly, very few catchy songs. The only bright spots on the CD include the epic 2nd song as well as Broken Dreams and Holiday, although even that latter is stopped in its tracks by a pace-killing political agenda in the middle of the song. Much of the CD is basically slow songs. Even in the fast ones, though, the lyrics just are not interesting. It's like Blink 182 (their excellent final CD aside,) but without any of that band's hooks or personality. Just...not a good CD. On another note, if anyone thought Green Day was punk, this CD should erase that thought. Songs like Extraordinary Girl, She's a Rebel, Wake me up when September Ends, Are We the Waiting, and Rock and Roll Girlfriend (among others) are practically written for the TRL countdown. Expand
  42. Ace
    Feb 18, 2006
    0
    A bunch of idiot drugies! A flash in the pan pathetic group!
  43. BrianM
    Mar 2, 2006
    3
    Pretentious, overblown, and boring. You can hear all the chords and harmonies in the music from musicians that pioneered the sound in the 70's. Skip this record, it's nothing new.
  44. DaveyB
    Sep 15, 2006
    4
    Average at best. Greenday employ the oldest "reinvented" trick in the book and fool every freshman in the world. As a massive greenday fan since 2031/smoothed out/ slappy hours, I was bitterly dissapointed. Typical greenday, well have to wait 3 years for another album too. The promise of the title track squandered at the expense of selling a mythical rock opera!! One word to describe Average at best. Greenday employ the oldest "reinvented" trick in the book and fool every freshman in the world. As a massive greenday fan since 2031/smoothed out/ slappy hours, I was bitterly dissapointed. Typical greenday, well have to wait 3 years for another album too. The promise of the title track squandered at the expense of selling a mythical rock opera!! One word to describe it... Pants!! Expand
  45. alexa
    Jun 18, 2008
    4
    Sub-sub-par Green Day at best. So much of it is forced and reachy, musically and lyrically. The well is tapped I'm sad sad sad to say; I'm the biggest GD fan there ever was...was.
  46. Dave
    Aug 28, 2008
    0
    Green Day hate what U.S. soldiers are trained to do, and yet they filmed the "Wake Me Up When September Ends" on a real American military training base. Green Day smoke so much dope that they shouldn't be allowed to have opinions on politics or the military.
  47. TrudiJ
    Sep 21, 2004
    2
    Sorely disappointing. My friends made it out to be something it wasn't, that's the last time I take their word for it.
  48. ChrisL
    Feb 13, 2005
    4
    This lot are solely responsible for so many shit bands like Good Charlotte.This is such a pointless predictable mainstream album.Nobody should bother making or listening to retro shit like this anymore,guitar music is dead.There is nothing new under the sun.Thank God for electronica.
  49. AndrewS
    Mar 24, 2005
    0
    This album is an absolute joke. I guess you might like it if you're used to listening to any anything written in the last 35 years. Green Day knows nothing of the nature of music, they know nothing about text-setting, and they know nothing about lyric writing. If you love music, you will study it. Green Day obviously does not love music.
  50. dano
    Apr 23, 2005
    3
    complete filth, green day at their worst. the songs are annoying and whiny. very dissapointing, check out any of their previous work, and you can't go wrong.
  51. JonathanH
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    Do you know what, I would of paid more attention if Billie Joe had written "Brian Stew" and dedicated it to George Bush! Now that would of been dangerous (eh Billie) But i guess whining about not wanting to be an AMERICAN IDIOT does the job and makes people pay attention eh?
  52. BrandonS.
    Mar 13, 2006
    0
    Oh my god, this shit is horrible. I can never trust the critics again.
  53. JA.
    Nov 12, 2007
    2
    It's funny how the people who are praising this album, are the same people being criticised on it.
  54. JonC.
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    There's so many reasons to not like this album. First off, Green Day is just plain not talented, playing beginner guitar player's style power chords and lazy riffs that turn into the same hooks in every song. Also, it's anti-American. They're basically make a statement that America sucks, and that everybody should just leave it, which is pretty much a terrorist's There's so many reasons to not like this album. First off, Green Day is just plain not talented, playing beginner guitar player's style power chords and lazy riffs that turn into the same hooks in every song. Also, it's anti-American. They're basically make a statement that America sucks, and that everybody should just leave it, which is pretty much a terrorist's point of view. Don't support this trash, or else more and more bands will get political and it'll just ruin music altogether. Expand
  55. KickerTom
    Feb 14, 2007
    0
    Green Day are an embarrassment to music. The greats are rolling in their graves.
  56. AaronH
    Mar 11, 2007
    0
    Green Day is an embarrasment to Punk. Punk died with Joe Strummer.
  57. marc
    Nov 17, 2005
    2
    Wow..... ............Yet another cardboard cut out punk album with Green Day getting 'all mature' by having a pop at George Bush and his cronies. Punk has all been done before (in the 70/80's and it was much better then too) its about as relevant now as last years lottery results!!!!
  58. Dec 29, 2010
    0
    Its quite interesting how alot of the people who give this low scores explain absolutly no detail into their justification of that score and instead just personally insults the band or anyone that listens to it, how can you trust the opinion of a person who believes that enjoying certain types of music is correlated to inteligence? Sometimes, I think metacritic should just keep theIts quite interesting how alot of the people who give this low scores explain absolutly no detail into their justification of that score and instead just personally insults the band or anyone that listens to it, how can you trust the opinion of a person who believes that enjoying certain types of music is correlated to inteligence? Sometimes, I think metacritic should just keep the unbiased reviewer magazine crtics and nothing more. Nothing wrong with this album. The opinion of the public can be quite distorted such as Justin Bieber, Alot of people hate him for his music and perhaps 40% of his haters hate him because the other 60% hate him and want to look cool (peer pressure). Expand
  59. Sep 23, 2010
    1
    Green Day's PR manager walks up to them one day and says "You guys are has-beens, but you're under contract for one more album, and I've got just the thing to make you hits, even at your old age! See, everybody hates President Bush now, and you guys can just ride that to the bank, right?" The band convened and decided they could by ripping off everything that made their 1994 album Dookie aGreen Day's PR manager walks up to them one day and says "You guys are has-beens, but you're under contract for one more album, and I've got just the thing to make you hits, even at your old age! See, everybody hates President Bush now, and you guys can just ride that to the bank, right?" The band convened and decided they could by ripping off everything that made their 1994 album Dookie a success, then loading it with political bullpucky. Kids ate it up, adults praised it, and three men who made their fortunes writing songs about masturbation and marijuana became the sages of the 21st century. God help us all. Expand
  60. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    After years of hollow, uninspired guitar rock, this clever opus emerged as an instant classic. American Idiot delivers inventive hooks along with socially conscious lyrics, making this album stick out like a sore thumb in comparison to almost every other rock album of the era. It would be hard to dislike this album unless you were biased against the band for some other reason. The fact isAfter years of hollow, uninspired guitar rock, this clever opus emerged as an instant classic. American Idiot delivers inventive hooks along with socially conscious lyrics, making this album stick out like a sore thumb in comparison to almost every other rock album of the era. It would be hard to dislike this album unless you were biased against the band for some other reason. The fact is that rock music is almost completely dead, and American Idiot may end up being the last truly great rock album. Expand
  61. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    A lot of the songs on here are interminably long (i.e. "Jesus of Suburbia", "Homecoming"), but every single act in this musical rock opera is constructed to perfection and unbelievability.
  62. Rev.Rikard
    Oct 7, 2005
    8
    Most bands struggle to write songs combining hard edged rock and melodic hooks. This album is the best in years at ensnaring the listener with blistering energy, relevant cultural observations, and melodies that "stick" in one's ear. "Novocaine" is indicative of this album's strength: its soothing melody allows the angst-laden lyrics to catch us off-guard, like the unexpected Most bands struggle to write songs combining hard edged rock and melodic hooks. This album is the best in years at ensnaring the listener with blistering energy, relevant cultural observations, and melodies that "stick" in one's ear. "Novocaine" is indicative of this album's strength: its soothing melody allows the angst-laden lyrics to catch us off-guard, like the unexpected stick from a dentist's needle as we sleepily listen to piped-in music. If a person wants to be awakened at the "end of September," they should give American Idiot a listen. Expand
  63. SolK
    Mar 3, 2005
    8
    A solid album, but not deserving of 10 or 9. Yes, the "Broken Dreams" does get old after a while but every other song is just as good.
  64. JohnsonH
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Awesome album, though I believe it is a little front heavy. I find myself listening to the first 7 tracks over and over.
  65. AngusM
    May 5, 2005
    10
    this cd is like a manic depressive: happiness turns to sadness so quickly GREEN DAY ROX
  66. DanielS
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Green Day is, in my opinion,the best band in the world!!
  67. andiev
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    this album literally rocks. i love his angry lyrics and the way joe picks at political matters, american idiot was the best song on the album, and also holiday, it just makes you wanna snarl at the government and scream, "cafeteria food freakin sucks!!!" okay, well, i was just getting carried away...but anyway, this album kicks ass
  68. chrisf
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    Best album in years by a band that sounds like a band "drums, bass, guitar". Billie Joe has always had a knack of writing catchy punk-a-rock songs and here is no exception yet they add a storyline and politics to the groove. Sheryl Crow said immediately after Dookie hit "only 19-20 year olds could write songs like that"... maybe so but only Billie Joe and Green Day could have wrote these Best album in years by a band that sounds like a band "drums, bass, guitar". Billie Joe has always had a knack of writing catchy punk-a-rock songs and here is no exception yet they add a storyline and politics to the groove. Sheryl Crow said immediately after Dookie hit "only 19-20 year olds could write songs like that"... maybe so but only Billie Joe and Green Day could have wrote these songs and they rock !! Expand
  69. Tyler
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    This album is in my opinion one of their best, if you don't own a copy get one now.
  70. SarahT
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    This CD is tottaly awsome. I love the music. Green Day have done a super album. I love it.
  71. yolandam
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    i love this album it rocks. anyone who rates less than ten is mad.
  72. drewm
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    never reviewed an album before...probably won't do it again. an amazing record. that begs for repeated listening with big volume. The funny thing is I never reeally liked Green Day's music before.
  73. deew
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    it was an awesome cd i think there best so far!!!
  74. IngvildSomething
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    American Idiot rocks!!! It is the best Cd ever. Can anybody disagree of that?! I love Green Day!
  75. LeannN
    May 3, 2005
    10
    American Idiot is an absolutely amazing album, every song is strong and it is refreshing to be able to listen to an CD that contains no filler tracks. Green Day has burst back into the music scene after four years with their best effort yet, and that is saying alot! :)
  76. SethH
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    fantastic album that illustrates the best that a concept album can.
  77. KonalD
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    Awsome , this is Green Day's best album to date.It's a stunning experience to listen to these meaningful songs.
  78. KyleN
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Pure genius this album really shows that the government are totally wrong
  79. MelissaB
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    It honestly completely changed the way I felt about music. The first album I've ever completely fallen in love with -- it opened so many doors to different bands for me and, almost 4 years on, 'Whatsername' still blows my mind every time I listen.
  80. BarbaraS
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    They grew up. As musicians and people. That's it.
  81. [Anonymous]
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    Best Green Day album, the band finally reaching a level plateau of pop-punk prowess.
  82. shoun
    Oct 19, 2004
    9
    Great album! The Green Day's "London Calling".
  83. bent
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    holy shit it's good
  84. RonL
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Insane good. One of the best albums to come along in years. It's a total wake up call for all the junk that seems to make it's way on to the american airways.
  85. urafrenchybob
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    the best cd ever!!!!!!!!! Who gives about cussing when they have a frickin awesome story line. ALL YOU PARENTS WHO GIVE ABOUT SWEARS DONT LET THAT STOP UR KIDZ OR NE1 ELSE FROM GETTIN THIS CD.
  86. SamD
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    Wow. And I thought Dookie wasd tops. Music is finally edgy as opposed to grungy and the lyrics are AMAZING plus its fun to listen to the story line. love whatsername and letterbomb, while st. jimmy pushes the limits between punk and pop a little far lost a little bit of the green day charm with the edgy music, though... still awesome!
  87. JeffP
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    Absolutely one of the best albums this year. This is nothing short of a masterpiece and shows how very talented this group is. If nothing else, their 6 grammy nominations proves that this album a great one.
  88. MarcW
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    It s a masterpiece especially the lyrics
  89. NathanG
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Superb.
  90. MoB
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    Best CD I've heard in a long ass time. Highly recommend buying it. My parents even bought it!
  91. BrendonFromLA
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Is this a original work? Hardly. Sounds like the guys in Green Day have listened to their fair share of Cheap Trick, U2, the Who, the Clash, and Husker Du. Still, it's executed with a lot of passion, energy and vitrol -- and that's what comprises a great deal of very good rock and roll. The first LP in a long time to make me stay in my car and finish listening to it after my Is this a original work? Hardly. Sounds like the guys in Green Day have listened to their fair share of Cheap Trick, U2, the Who, the Clash, and Husker Du. Still, it's executed with a lot of passion, energy and vitrol -- and that's what comprises a great deal of very good rock and roll. The first LP in a long time to make me stay in my car and finish listening to it after my evening commute home -- in fact, I've NEVER done that before. Nice one! Expand
  92. StevenP
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Cannot stop listening1 Politics aside, it's a melodic energy force that can't be resisted.
  93. danw
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    This cd is amazing and I cannot wait to see them live!
  94. ChrisD
    Apr 7, 2005
    9
    Undoubtedly their best album so far - they'd been going downhill anyway, but this album puts even the old classic singalongs to shame.
  95. ChristyL
    May 10, 2005
    10
    best album yet by green day. the lyrics are great the beat is septacular, and the f*** u to politics makes it even better. if u dont love this what do u love?!
  96. AshM
    May 31, 2005
    9
    Well... what a great album, I think this one will stand the test of time and people will be buying it in 30 years time, there isn't one track that stands above the rest on the album, there all great, its very consistant, you wont find your self skipping through to find better songs. Oh yeah, all you people going 'Green Day R DA BEST' grow up you little trolls.
  97. JYeatman
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Best album I've run across in the past few years.
  98. EmmaS
    May 9, 2005
    10
    i av listened 2 greenday eva since i heard of thm a few years ago n i loved them then n still do now. anyone hu disses greenday are gonna get there face smashed in. Green Day rock n always will do. ;D
  99. sylvian
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    I used to think Green Day was ok, but now with the release of American Idiot I have finally awakened from my dazed sleep and realized that Green Day is easily the best modern band I know of. This album is absolutely spectacular! Holiday, BoBB, St. Jimmy, American Idiot, Shes a Rebel, they're all wonderful songs that I could listen t oover and over again! They never get old. Overall I used to think Green Day was ok, but now with the release of American Idiot I have finally awakened from my dazed sleep and realized that Green Day is easily the best modern band I know of. This album is absolutely spectacular! Holiday, BoBB, St. Jimmy, American Idiot, Shes a Rebel, they're all wonderful songs that I could listen t oover and over again! They never get old. Overall this masterpiece is easily one to go and buy. Expand
  100. JohnS
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Incredible! This is undoubtedly on of the best albums I have ever listened to! I highly recommend this cd. Holiday and BOBB sre easily award winners!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. It is exactly what the band needs to boost itself to the next level of pop-punk prowess.
  2. There's still plenty of spunk in to be found in this Sgt. Pepper-lite.
  3. Not only does it contain Green Day’s finest songs (and choruses) to date... but it also scratches at the surface of political dissatisfaction with nails sharp enough to leave a nasty scar.