• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 21, 2004
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 578 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 578

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GreenDayFan
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Although I love Green Day and have enjoyed every album since Dookie, American Idiot has clearly gone beyond even those. every song on the iis good and you rarely end up enjoying every song on a CD. There are too many exellent songs to point out just one but "Boulevard of Broken Dreams" is truly a great song along with "Jesus of Surburbia" and "Homecoming". I think that this "rock opera" Although I love Green Day and have enjoyed every album since Dookie, American Idiot has clearly gone beyond even those. every song on the iis good and you rarely end up enjoying every song on a CD. There are too many exellent songs to point out just one but "Boulevard of Broken Dreams" is truly a great song along with "Jesus of Surburbia" and "Homecoming". I think that this "rock opera" is reminicent of the ever ecclectic Queen of the 1970's and early 80's. They are truly the best in punk rock genre going well beyond the mold of punk rock is supposed to allow. So congradulations to Green Day on thier best yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Rufus
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    This is an epic that will last generations. Excellent!!
  3. larryc
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    this is awesome i listen 2 it every day
  4. EdC
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    While not an insanely complex album, American Idiot is a an excellent and creative album. It shows that Green Day finally grew up.
  5. beb
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Amazing album full of brilliant songs. I had actually not really heard of Green Day before this but i'm off to buy their older albums. Bye!
  6. JhonsonC
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    Best rock album Ive ever heard of my life.
  7. jackie
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    billie joe is hot
  8. kitb
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    thank god i found this site i was doing a speech on green day cuz i love em to death and i needed reviews to show thier the fuckin best!!!!
  9. TheBlob
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    I was a huge Green Day fan in 1994 when Dookie came out. This album was THE reference in punk-pop style back in the days. Then i grew up and stop listening to this band cause it sounded way too "childish" to match my new musical tastes, music for teen and not much. And they strike back with American Idiot. This band is still alive, no doubt. I must admit that i'm really impressed by I was a huge Green Day fan in 1994 when Dookie came out. This album was THE reference in punk-pop style back in the days. Then i grew up and stop listening to this band cause it sounded way too "childish" to match my new musical tastes, music for teen and not much. And they strike back with American Idiot. This band is still alive, no doubt. I must admit that i'm really impressed by this album. I'd never thought that such a thing was possible from Green Day. Wow, a punk-pop opera rock from the band i used to idolized more than 10 years ago. Congrats guys, great career! Expand
  10. earl
    Mar 15, 2006
    9
    excellent
  11. JamieP
    Mar 3, 2006
    9
    bloody brilliant album
  12. mirandas
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    I love this cd.
  13. bw
    May 5, 2006
    8
    Why is this cd NOT AVAILABLE without cursing? you can't but it edited anywhere. I love to rock, my kids love to rock, but without the profanity. It is a great CD. There's not an edited version out there anywhere. I can usually depend on wal-mart for edited versions of cd's, but they don't carry it edited because it doesn't exist. It gets played on the radio Why is this cd NOT AVAILABLE without cursing? you can't but it edited anywhere. I love to rock, my kids love to rock, but without the profanity. It is a great CD. There's not an edited version out there anywhere. I can usually depend on wal-mart for edited versions of cd's, but they don't carry it edited because it doesn't exist. It gets played on the radio without cursing. At least greenday (or the record label) could offer an edited version for those of us with kids. P.S. Leave out the politics and Billie Joe-take it easy on the eye liner. Expand
  14. uber
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    This is equal to Dookie at least. The concept is well thought out and delivered
  15. ToddH
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    Awsome album that continues to be amazing even 2 1/2 years later. It will be a classic that will be refered to for many years to come.
  16. ericr
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    can you say BEST CD EVER!??!
  17. PepS!
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums ever! I can listen to it over and over again!
  18. mirandas
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    I love this cd.
  19. maplejet
    May 25, 2007
    7
    Don't get me wrong. This isn't a bad album, but it ain't GD's greatest. Their previous albums are better and should be given a listen. As for GD haters, go listen to you generic Led Zeppelin and be a poser
  20. BernS
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    I'm normally annoyed by the user votes being averaged out from some people voting 0 and the rest 10, but this is one of my favourite albums ever, so... Apparently it's not punk, but that means nothing to the likes of me. It's all very accessible pop-rock, and just plain pleasant to listen to. It's not often I can say that I love 11 songs out of 13.
  21. GavinB
    Feb 23, 2008
    9
    After listening to this album twice I heard it playing in a second hand clothes store in Camden and found I could sing along to every track. Speaks for itself really. Occasionally cringeworthy lyrics fail to sabotage an incredibly punchy album of hookladen songs delivered with incredible energy.
  22. SMT
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    Anyone giving this album a 0 should really consider their taste in music. This is by far the best album, the reason they're anti-american is because there are so many problems in America. Not because they're promoting terrorism, music needs some political influence as they need to get out the message to some people who believe the world is perfect. Rock on Green Day, one of the Anyone giving this album a 0 should really consider their taste in music. This is by far the best album, the reason they're anti-american is because there are so many problems in America. Not because they're promoting terrorism, music needs some political influence as they need to get out the message to some people who believe the world is perfect. Rock on Green Day, one of the best albums of all time! Best songs; Boulevard of Broken Dreams, Give Me Novacaine and Wake Me Up When September End. Expand
  23. NourezRl
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Simply Amazing. This is not anti-american, its at worst, anti-commercialist and anti-isolationist. The big theme of the album is feeling isolated in the world around you, not being able to connect and relate with all the people you know. And about the fact that the guitar is simply one or two repeated chords, Green Day is still at it's core a punk band, and the repeated chord Simply Amazing. This is not anti-american, its at worst, anti-commercialist and anti-isolationist. The big theme of the album is feeling isolated in the world around you, not being able to connect and relate with all the people you know. And about the fact that the guitar is simply one or two repeated chords, Green Day is still at it's core a punk band, and the repeated chord structure is a facet of punk music. Even if you go back to bands like Sex Pistols and the Buzzcocks, you'll see the same repetitive structure. Expand
  24. TomP.
    May 5, 2008
    7
    Honestly, I've barely even listened to this album, I just wanted to comment on how Jon C. may just be the most ignorant person to ever listen to a CD.
  25. Joey
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    OK, this album is great, Green Day's best album, not IMO, almost a fact. The 0 to 3 ratings on this album are made by 1, frustrated American who does not care about the record itself, 2, people who say they are fans, but honestly and obviously, are not (haters), 3, a tip, before you can say anything, listen to it, I mean, listen to the music, not the lyrics, then, listen to the OK, this album is great, Green Day's best album, not IMO, almost a fact. The 0 to 3 ratings on this album are made by 1, frustrated American who does not care about the record itself, 2, people who say they are fans, but honestly and obviously, are not (haters), 3, a tip, before you can say anything, listen to it, I mean, listen to the music, not the lyrics, then, listen to the lyrics. Overall, most of you guys, are all over old punk, seriously, 70's punk, 80's ? It's shit, bad music, I may seem like a hater, but this thing really sounds like... garbage ? No just kidding, it's good, but so is pop punk (Green Day), you're just a freaking hater, you do not know what you're talking about. This album is maybe not a masterpiece, but definitely Green Day's best record, period. Expand
  26. JackS
    May 13, 2009
    10
    All of the people below will regret the zero's you have given this album when, in twenty years time, it becomes one of the most influential albums in rock history.
  27. AndreaP
    Aug 4, 2009
    8
    A well done record, some songs are awesome but one or two aren't so good. Sure one of the best album by Green Day.
  28. bobbyn
    Nov 1, 2004
    8
    Great album,cant take it off the player. winona k REM ha ha there new album is so shite its awfull.
  29. jons
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    phenomonoal
  30. KennethH
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Great cd Green day has defenatly hit the big time
  31. MattG
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    Tremendously solid both melodically and lyrically, it also puts forth a political message the young voters need to listen to.
  32. z28blue
    Nov 28, 2004
    10
    Lyrical Genius! Catchy Tunes! And it all makes sense! Absolutely, hands down, the best album ive heard all year!
  33. CourtlandC
    Nov 4, 2004
    9
    Songs 1-7 are the best seven songs in a row off of any album in the last ten years. The opening strains of guitar and first verse of "We are the Waiting" blow away anything else out there right now.
  34. jessw
    Oct 16, 2004
    8
    yeah its good, i like it.
  35. SebMan
    Nov 9, 2004
    8
    I liked this one, it's got some good slow songs and good faster, catchy songs. "We are the Waiting" sucks shite, though.
  36. AlexB
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    One of the best albums ever! Jesus of Suburbia rocks! Green Day ROCKS!
  37. gregw
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    their Best since Dookie, which is saying something.its almost as perfect as that masterpiece. GO AND BUY IT NOW!!! GREN DAY!!!!!!!!
  38. markf
    Oct 7, 2004
    9
    I'm still debating how great it is, but it should easily be the equal of anything of theirs as far as "entertainment value", and it's obviously their most mature set of lyrics, even if it borrows from The Who's "Tommy" and Pink Floyd's "The Wall" to tell its story of a sheltered lad awakening to reality, becoming a "prophet", going insane, trying to commit suicide, I'm still debating how great it is, but it should easily be the equal of anything of theirs as far as "entertainment value", and it's obviously their most mature set of lyrics, even if it borrows from The Who's "Tommy" and Pink Floyd's "The Wall" to tell its story of a sheltered lad awakening to reality, becoming a "prophet", going insane, trying to commit suicide, etc. It is amazing how such a "heavy" story can be presented through a ton of hooks and riffs, whether they be inspired by pure Green Day, or their "mentors", the Ramones and the Clash, or even the further-removed Bruce Springsteen, Phil Spector/Motown and MeatLoaf. It might be a tad overlong, but that's usually the case when a band is audacious enough to try to pull off a rock opera. This should satisfy anyone who enjoys pop-punk of any variety and maybe some people who don't think they like "punk". Expand
  39. stevek
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    The best Green Day album since Nimrod, and in my opinion one of the best albums ever made. Green Day has always been one of my favourite bands, and American Idiot rose them to #1 in my books. Highlights were 'Jesus of Seburbia' and 'Holiday.'
  40. Anthony
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    O Man I just got the CD and it blew my mind!!!!! I agree with everything they say that Bush is a dumbass
  41. Slu
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    This album is amazing, literary, schizophrenic, depressing, and a musical amalgamation of just about every style, but with the clear distinction of being Green Day. A masterpiece.
  42. SebB.
    Jan 11, 2005
    7
    I found this album to get boring after a while. My favorite songs are American Idiot and holiday. Boulevard just got lame after hearing it a million times on t.v. and on the radio. And no matter how hard you try and convince yourself that they're not, the 2 10 milute songs are WAY to long!
  43. Lt.Drebin
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Their best album...and that's saying a lot.
  44. glenng
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Sets the standard in the 00s!
  45. EmilyO.
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    This is such an intelligent CD with real insights. The Greenday band has really grown up, which is quite visable in "American Idiot". It was well worth the $20 I paid for it!
  46. MiguelC
    Jan 18, 2005
    9
    awesome album
  47. kayliep
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! i can relate to it in so many ways. i fell in love with this album the moment i heard it. 10!!!
  48. OZyYoung
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    Wow! THis CD is amazing.
  49. HelenB
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Fantastic work! The best rock album i've ever known.!
  50. douglasm
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    An absolutely complete and stunning album, it doesnt get much better than this!
  51. RobF
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Great Album to listen from a different sound of Green Day. They did a great job doing this album about America and what has happen through the years in America. Alot of Green Day fans who are only into the punk of Green Day put Green Day had grown up a bit and change there sound and songwriting. Great Job Green Day.
  52. mattr
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    One of the best rock abums i have er heard defintly greendays best
  53. Kristin
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    This is the best album by greenday! I love this cd!
  54. Pj
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    1 word-PERFECTION!
  55. JoshuaE
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    holy crap this album is amazing. green days best
  56. BENL
    Mar 17, 2005
    10
    Green Day's best. The only album I can listen to from start to end. Bush Bashers include American Idiot and Holiday (Holiday is better than AI). Boulevard is an extremly good song and any one who buys this cd will not be dissappointed.
  57. dunnolostit
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    a good album, compared to whats around today its fantastic. Greenday will definatly make an imprint in music history.
  58. DavidL
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Just for the record, IGN gave this a 10/10
  59. DanielN
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    This album is their best yet. I loved Dookie and appreciate the far more mature lyrics and outstanding music from this album. I'm hooked!
  60. angelab
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    One of if not the best CD i have ever listened to. Every song is amazing and i could listen to it over and over again w/o getting bored or tired. i love all of Green Day's previous albums but this is by far the best and the most fun. My favorite track is number 10-Letterbomb.
  61. anona
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    After reading the blittering pontifications of the village voice review, who apparantly fancies him/herself (didn't bother to look) some sort of intellectual, I felt compelled to add my voice (pun intended) to the discussion. I work with and enjoy music very much, so I am always listening to what is new/old/obscure, etc. It is very difficult to be original these days and the mark of After reading the blittering pontifications of the village voice review, who apparantly fancies him/herself (didn't bother to look) some sort of intellectual, I felt compelled to add my voice (pun intended) to the discussion. I work with and enjoy music very much, so I am always listening to what is new/old/obscure, etc. It is very difficult to be original these days and the mark of creativity reaches beyond the realm of just making a new sound-any 'idiot' can do that. The ability to synthesize and extrapolate what one hears (the who, the beatles, even david bowie-listen carefully- and pink floyd, of course husker du) and still have a singular voice as GD does, is something that I find remarkable in this 'event'. The voice in the arc of the concept is one of alienation, fear, resignation but not total abandon to despair. The music rocks. The only people who should NOT touch this disc are the consevative (politically and musically) or vapid. Actually, maybe the vapid would learn something. Go put this in your pipe and smoke it...intellectual dick. Expand
  62. DavidP
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    I don't dislike today's candy-punk because of silly teen lyrics that I've long outgrown. It's because of the stunning lack of musical variety- just how many sounds can you generate with a bass, lead, & drums, anyway? Green Day answers the question in an amazing fashion on American Idiot. I doesn't matter whether or not you agree with the decidedly Anti-Bush I don't dislike today's candy-punk because of silly teen lyrics that I've long outgrown. It's because of the stunning lack of musical variety- just how many sounds can you generate with a bass, lead, & drums, anyway? Green Day answers the question in an amazing fashion on American Idiot. I doesn't matter whether or not you agree with the decidedly Anti-Bush sentiments. Each song is incredibly different and unique. Even "Jesus of Surburbia" contains 5 songs that could stand on their own. Songs range from the driving rock of "American Idiot" and "Holiday", to the catchy hooks of "Novacaine" and ""Whatshername". Sure it is sappy, but "Wake Me Up When September Ends" is an excellent song. Thanks Green Day for providing a CD that I can listen to in its ENTIRETY and one of the 5 best albums I have ever purchased. Expand
  63. SamM
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    They manage to link together musically diverse songs with surprising cohesion. And here I thought they were washed up years ago.
  64. sophied
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    i think that american idot is the best album released so far by green day.
  65. meghanc
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    this cd was amazing, one of the best i've heard in a long time, its not the usually whiny pop-punk u get today. and like all the other green day albums i can sit through the whole thing with out wanting to skip songs or just plain turn it off
  66. JamesH.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Holy crap...i got this cd after reading ign's review (perfect 10) and i listen to the whole album on a regular basis. Green Day is one of those bands who just consistantly get better and more mature. One of my favorite albums of all time
  67. jayb
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    this is great! and the best songs arent even the singles... whatsername is the best!
  68. DanielB
    Apr 6, 2005
    9
    It isn't that often that an album comes along where I like ALL of the songs. I was never a fan of Green Day, but after hearing a few songs from the album and the rave reviews, I gave it a listen, but I didn't expect it to be THAT good!! Every time a new song came on, I was blown away with its creativity and great melodies. Although I rarely listen to lyrics on albums, it's It isn't that often that an album comes along where I like ALL of the songs. I was never a fan of Green Day, but after hearing a few songs from the album and the rave reviews, I gave it a listen, but I didn't expect it to be THAT good!! Every time a new song came on, I was blown away with its creativity and great melodies. Although I rarely listen to lyrics on albums, it's pretty hard to ignore the multiple F-words (hence the explicit language warning), which is why I give American Idiot a 9 instead of a 10. Expand
  69. CherelleA
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Greenday are da bomb n i dont care wat ne1 says they were named On eof the Best Rock Band still performing and most successful punk rock bands of all time so they deserve all the credit they are getting, and if I had my way I would make them President of the United States!! Most of my fave albums consist of all the Greenday albums and I believe it was worth the four year wait for their Greenday are da bomb n i dont care wat ne1 says they were named On eof the Best Rock Band still performing and most successful punk rock bands of all time so they deserve all the credit they are getting, and if I had my way I would make them President of the United States!! Most of my fave albums consist of all the Greenday albums and I believe it was worth the four year wait for their newest album American Idiot. I luv Greenday and I always will, Billie-Joe Armstrong is da hottest babe eva n all my m8s can think orlando bloom and chad michael murray are da hottest but I know better. A big 10 outta 10 not just for American Idiot, but for the whole band and the 16 years they've been together!! Lurve you guys soooooooo much ur da best band in da world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cherelle xxx Expand
  70. RandyE
    May 14, 2005
    10
    This CD will rank with Seargent Peppers.
  71. christianeo
    May 27, 2005
    10
    this album is such a really good one of them .. I love Green day!!!
  72. AlexP
    May 4, 2005
    10
    undoubtedly the best band ever as far as music goes for me. i gave it a ten because it really appealed to my soul... it is for those with those of broken souls and have romantic passion... it is everything i ever wanted from a cd. I walk a lonely road...
  73. BillieJoe'sLover
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    i think the album is one of the best..i had just started to get into green day right before the album came out but this c d really started me up w/green day i honestly love the new look they have... and they are one of the best bands i have ever seen! exohexoh billie joe is hott
  74. DavidMac
    Jun 23, 2005
    10
    this wus a gr8 album i think that it will relly take them places
  75. eddyf
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    this is the best fucking album released in 20 years
  76. FloP
    Jun 26, 2005
    10
    This is the best punk rock album which has ever been released!!!!!!
  77. NunyoB
    Jul 19, 2005
    9
    I have always loved Green Day, but this album simply blew my mind! Every song on this album is different and great. It has the perfect mix of politics and punk-riffs. Anybody who says Green Day sucks, has never heard any REAL music before in their lives. This is what an album should be. This is the standard. This is perfection!
  78. ash?????
    Jul 20, 2005
    9
    this is savage and green day are even better in concert and u cant say that about alot of bands !!!!!
  79. JoleneF
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    This album of Green day rocks!!
  80. AdrinaA
    Aug 14, 2005
    9
    Amazing album full of brilliant songs! :D
  81. VictoriaK
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    I LOVE GREEN DAY!!! omg this is such a good CD....the concert in Barrie rocked
  82. ThomasH
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    Outstanding and addictive
  83. BIC
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    Green Day is pure genius. You people are listening to decent music for a change.
  84. JesseS
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    This Green Day album is da best thing that ever happened in their career!
  85. EliYoudon
    Sep 30, 2005
    8
    This is a good album overall, but it isn't ALL GOOD. Wake Me Up When September Ends is basically the one I'm not crazy about. Otherwise though, it's good stuff, if just a tad lengthy.
  86. earl
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    excellent
  87. badont
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    i love this album green day is the best love them go green day i love all ur songs
  88. ExecutionerJones
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece.
  89. AlexG
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    one of my all time fave albums althought hated on alot,
  90. Kirsten
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    I love this CD!! I never get bored of it! It's brillient and amazing. The storyline is interesting, the lyrics are powerful and meaningful and its very catchy. It deals with actual problems with government, media and life. Everything is put together perfectly. And i can't wait to see the movie that they are supposed to start filming sometime in 2006. EVERY SONG IS AWESOME!! The I love this CD!! I never get bored of it! It's brillient and amazing. The storyline is interesting, the lyrics are powerful and meaningful and its very catchy. It deals with actual problems with government, media and life. Everything is put together perfectly. And i can't wait to see the movie that they are supposed to start filming sometime in 2006. EVERY SONG IS AWESOME!! The concerts are just as incredible! I LOVE THEM! THEY ROCK! Expand
  91. joec
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    enough said
  92. joel
    Mar 11, 2006
    7
    it's not their best album but its ok.
  93. Mike
    Mar 17, 2006
    10
    To me, this album did for music what Lord of the Rings did for movies. Almost everything else seems petty by comparison.
  94. Wayne
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    In my top 20 albums of all time, and I'm hard to please. Will be remembered as a classic American rock compilation. A thematic rock opera with no soft spots; there are no tracks to skip on this disc. Green Day has made its undeniable influence on all American rock-n-roll bands with this masterpiece, and the genius is that its derived from the simplicity of a 3 peice band. Its a In my top 20 albums of all time, and I'm hard to please. Will be remembered as a classic American rock compilation. A thematic rock opera with no soft spots; there are no tracks to skip on this disc. Green Day has made its undeniable influence on all American rock-n-roll bands with this masterpiece, and the genius is that its derived from the simplicity of a 3 peice band. Its a blueprint for young songwriters, even those without the punk edge Green Day offers. It has everything that composers strive for: catchy melodies, "in your face" lyrics with a story to tell, and raw energetic sound. A "must have" for those that appreciate contemporary American rock music (yes, it still exists...thank you for reminding me Green Day). This album comes just when some of us questioned who will be the next artist to step up and and prove that rock and roll will last forever. Thanks to American Idiot, I have faith. Expand
  95. Scott
    Apr 20, 2006
    9
    This albums rocks. One of the best rock albums so far this decade
  96. kyliet
    May 11, 2006
    10
    this album is brill i love it!!!!!!!!!!!!11111
  97. Dylan
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    I give it a nine, the songs are very creative and talk about the real world, but 10 minute songs that sometimes go on and on about the same thing dragged the score down. Songs like "Jesus of Suburbia" and "Home Coming" are one of their longer songs,though they do give a message about America today. I give "American Idiot" a great 9 out of 10
  98. hannah
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    Amazing!!!!! best band ever!!!!
  99. SunnyG
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Always best and rocking one. Best album
  100. DaveN
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    This easily the best CD Green Day has released since Dookie.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. It is exactly what the band needs to boost itself to the next level of pop-punk prowess.
  2. There's still plenty of spunk in to be found in this Sgt. Pepper-lite.
  3. Not only does it contain Green Day’s finest songs (and choruses) to date... but it also scratches at the surface of political dissatisfaction with nails sharp enough to leave a nasty scar.