• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 21, 2004
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 578 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 578

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnsonH
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Awesome album, though I believe it is a little front heavy. I find myself listening to the first 7 tracks over and over.
  2. AngusM
    May 5, 2005
    10
    this cd is like a manic depressive: happiness turns to sadness so quickly GREEN DAY ROX
  3. DanielS
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Green Day is, in my opinion,the best band in the world!!
  4. andiev
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    this album literally rocks. i love his angry lyrics and the way joe picks at political matters, american idiot was the best song on the album, and also holiday, it just makes you wanna snarl at the government and scream, "cafeteria food freakin sucks!!!" okay, well, i was just getting carried away...but anyway, this album kicks ass
  5. chrisf
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    Best album in years by a band that sounds like a band "drums, bass, guitar". Billie Joe has always had a knack of writing catchy punk-a-rock songs and here is no exception yet they add a storyline and politics to the groove. Sheryl Crow said immediately after Dookie hit "only 19-20 year olds could write songs like that"... maybe so but only Billie Joe and Green Day could have wrote these Best album in years by a band that sounds like a band "drums, bass, guitar". Billie Joe has always had a knack of writing catchy punk-a-rock songs and here is no exception yet they add a storyline and politics to the groove. Sheryl Crow said immediately after Dookie hit "only 19-20 year olds could write songs like that"... maybe so but only Billie Joe and Green Day could have wrote these songs and they rock !! Expand
  6. Tyler
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    This album is in my opinion one of their best, if you don't own a copy get one now.
  7. S.Toncray
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    Just buy it... now! Sublime stuff. The perfect punk headtrip. Wildly original and one of the most timely albums to come out in a long time!
  8. SarahT
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    This CD is tottaly awsome. I love the music. Green Day have done a super album. I love it.
  9. yolandam
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    i love this album it rocks. anyone who rates less than ten is mad.
  10. MatthewM
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    As a Green Day fan for over ten years, I have to say this is almost certainly their best album to date, FANTASTIC!
  11. drewm
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    never reviewed an album before...probably won't do it again. an amazing record. that begs for repeated listening with big volume. The funny thing is I never reeally liked Green Day's music before.
  12. deew
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    it was an awesome cd i think there best so far!!!
  13. IngvildSomething
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    American Idiot rocks!!! It is the best Cd ever. Can anybody disagree of that?! I love Green Day!
  14. LeannN
    May 3, 2005
    10
    American Idiot is an absolutely amazing album, every song is strong and it is refreshing to be able to listen to an CD that contains no filler tracks. Green Day has burst back into the music scene after four years with their best effort yet, and that is saying alot! :)
  15. SethH
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    fantastic album that illustrates the best that a concept album can.
  16. KonalD
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    Awsome , this is Green Day's best album to date.It's a stunning experience to listen to these meaningful songs.
  17. KyleN
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Pure genius this album really shows that the government are totally wrong
  18. MelissaB
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    It honestly completely changed the way I felt about music. The first album I've ever completely fallen in love with -- it opened so many doors to different bands for me and, almost 4 years on, 'Whatsername' still blows my mind every time I listen.
  19. BarbaraS
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    They grew up. As musicians and people. That's it.
  20. bent
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    holy shit it's good
  21. Nickcooldaddy
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    I was blown away by this album, it covers the whole range of moods from heavy punk to soft and slow relaxing music. They've hit the big one with American Idiot.
  22. patc
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    its got it all. great album.
  23. GreenDayKicksass
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    WOW!!!! is I all I have to say... This is one of Green Day's best, if not best, CD's ever made!!! I've already got my tickets to see these guys live... amazing CD! Good work Green Day!
  24. JustinS.
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    This album is a huge artistic leap for Green Day, in terms of lyrics, concept, and musical ambition. Their best album - yes, better than Dookie.
  25. SteveM
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    A big messy sprawl of power, melancholic sentiment, anger, confusion, love, rebellion. Fantastic stuff. Green Day's best album yet. Stunning.
  26. SaeedSaeed
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    Its been four long years since Green Day?s last effort and lot of things changed since then: Four punk icons died, Bush as President, Gulf War Part 2 and what some may argue as the most distressing event ? the rise of kiddy punk which is been played to great success by the likes of Simple Plan, Good Charlotte, Avril Lavigne and those twats from Busted. If we ever need an album that Its been four long years since Green Day?s last effort and lot of things changed since then: Four punk icons died, Bush as President, Gulf War Part 2 and what some may argue as the most distressing event ? the rise of kiddy punk which is been played to great success by the likes of Simple Plan, Good Charlotte, Avril Lavigne and those twats from Busted. If we ever need an album that re-affirms our faith in punk music surely this Berkley trio can deliver it and with American Idiot, Green Day?s seventh record, not only have they fashioned a punk-rock opera but a punk-rock masterpiece. Concepts albums is a swear word in this currently pop oriented market but in Green Day?s hands they have delivered the friendliest concept album ever recorded. There is no fat ladies singing, nor is there a choir or pretentious ten minute guitar solos. What you have here frankly is thirteen songs that are all laced with great hooks and delivered with indignant passion. And oh yeah?.two of the songs are nine minutes suites that frenziedly careens from straight up punk ravers to 60?s bubblegum pop to a flamenco styled power ballad. All from the guys who made their name by writing songs about sniffing glue and masturbation! The tale been spun here is about disaffected youth and the death of American Idealism. That?s only the overview for if you decide to take the lyrics literally it becomes a mess with characters such as Jesus of Suburbia and St. Jimmy morphing into each other and by the story?s end you don?t know who is alive or who?s dead. Thankfully, the band decides to pay more attention to the music rather than the words and the album benefits in spades. Green Day packs more hooks in this album than other bands can muster in their whole career. Title track and killer lead single ?American Idiot? proves that Green Day can still fashion pop nuggets by only using 3 chords and the thrashy fun of ?St. Jimmy? shows that these thirty something punks haven?t lost their chops just yet. Like their last album, the folk-infused Warning, the real surprises lie in the different musical elements and styles the trio incorporates into their work. Unlike The Offspring who continually and sometimes embarrassingly copy the same formula (Pretty Fly/Original Prankster), Green Day?s music continues to evolve to often stunning results. ?Extraordinary Girl? with its chiming guitars and backing vocals evoke the Shangri La?s and ?Boulevard of Broken Dreams? is the type of power ballad that Noel Gallagher would kill for. But the most outrageous efforts lay in ?Jesus of Suburbia? and ?Home Coming?, both nine minutes monoliths that boast several musical movements. At first listen these two tracks (that roughly form a third of the album) seem scattered at best but once absorbed the listener gets a kick out of the time changes and the sheer urgency of the lyrics. To call ?American Idiot? a protest record is an understatement. Billie Joe?s lyrics does a great job in describing the characters inhabiting this ?land of make believe?. From ?Jesus of Suburbia? who is raised ?on a steady diet of Soda Pop and Ritalin? to ?St. Jimmy? who is ?here to represent the needle in the vein of the establishment?. Billie Joe is also not scared to vent his anger especially on tracks such as the anti-Bush anthem ?American Idiot? and the Clash sounding ?Holiday? where he labels Bush as ?the President Gasman!?. American Idiot is not the first rock opera ever made despite claims from some sections of the media. Husker Du?s ?Zen Arcade? still remains a landmark punk concept album and there is off-course The Who?s ?Tommy? which sold squillions of records. But American Idiot is equally impressive and over time will stand in the same pantheon as the aforementioned classics. In a time where the whole world seems to go pear shaped and death robbed us of our punk idols (RIP Joe Strummer, Joey, Dee Dee, and Johnny Ramone) Green Day?s existence is now more vital than ever. With ?American Idiot?, Green Day has not only released their greatest and grandest musical statement. But an album that returns the social and political relevance back to punk. For that, there is no rating high enough. Expand
  27. LarissaM
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    i love this album its brilliant ... i cant get enough of it
  28. RonL
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Insane good. One of the best albums to come along in years. It's a total wake up call for all the junk that seems to make it's way on to the american airways.
  29. urafrenchybob
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    the best cd ever!!!!!!!!! Who gives about cussing when they have a frickin awesome story line. ALL YOU PARENTS WHO GIVE ABOUT SWEARS DONT LET THAT STOP UR KIDZ OR NE1 ELSE FROM GETTIN THIS CD.
  30. SamD
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    Wow. And I thought Dookie wasd tops. Music is finally edgy as opposed to grungy and the lyrics are AMAZING plus its fun to listen to the story line. love whatsername and letterbomb, while st. jimmy pushes the limits between punk and pop a little far lost a little bit of the green day charm with the edgy music, though... still awesome!
  31. JeffP
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    Absolutely one of the best albums this year. This is nothing short of a masterpiece and shows how very talented this group is. If nothing else, their 6 grammy nominations proves that this album a great one.
  32. MarcW
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    It s a masterpiece especially the lyrics
  33. NathanG
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Superb.
  34. MoB
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    Best CD I've heard in a long ass time. Highly recommend buying it. My parents even bought it!
  35. BrendonFromLA
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Is this a original work? Hardly. Sounds like the guys in Green Day have listened to their fair share of Cheap Trick, U2, the Who, the Clash, and Husker Du. Still, it's executed with a lot of passion, energy and vitrol -- and that's what comprises a great deal of very good rock and roll. The first LP in a long time to make me stay in my car and finish listening to it after my Is this a original work? Hardly. Sounds like the guys in Green Day have listened to their fair share of Cheap Trick, U2, the Who, the Clash, and Husker Du. Still, it's executed with a lot of passion, energy and vitrol -- and that's what comprises a great deal of very good rock and roll. The first LP in a long time to make me stay in my car and finish listening to it after my evening commute home -- in fact, I've NEVER done that before. Nice one! Expand
  36. StevenP
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Cannot stop listening1 Politics aside, it's a melodic energy force that can't be resisted.
  37. danw
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    This cd is amazing and I cannot wait to see them live!
  38. ChristyL
    May 10, 2005
    10
    best album yet by green day. the lyrics are great the beat is septacular, and the f*** u to politics makes it even better. if u dont love this what do u love?!
  39. JYeatman
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Best album I've run across in the past few years.
  40. EmmaS
    May 9, 2005
    10
    i av listened 2 greenday eva since i heard of thm a few years ago n i loved them then n still do now. anyone hu disses greenday are gonna get there face smashed in. Green Day rock n always will do. ;D
  41. sylvian
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    I used to think Green Day was ok, but now with the release of American Idiot I have finally awakened from my dazed sleep and realized that Green Day is easily the best modern band I know of. This album is absolutely spectacular! Holiday, BoBB, St. Jimmy, American Idiot, Shes a Rebel, they're all wonderful songs that I could listen t oover and over again! They never get old. Overall I used to think Green Day was ok, but now with the release of American Idiot I have finally awakened from my dazed sleep and realized that Green Day is easily the best modern band I know of. This album is absolutely spectacular! Holiday, BoBB, St. Jimmy, American Idiot, Shes a Rebel, they're all wonderful songs that I could listen t oover and over again! They never get old. Overall this masterpiece is easily one to go and buy. Expand
  42. JohnS
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Incredible! This is undoubtedly on of the best albums I have ever listened to! I highly recommend this cd. Holiday and BOBB sre easily award winners!
  43. GreenDayFan
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Although I love Green Day and have enjoyed every album since Dookie, American Idiot has clearly gone beyond even those. every song on the iis good and you rarely end up enjoying every song on a CD. There are too many exellent songs to point out just one but "Boulevard of Broken Dreams" is truly a great song along with "Jesus of Surburbia" and "Homecoming". I think that this "rock opera" Although I love Green Day and have enjoyed every album since Dookie, American Idiot has clearly gone beyond even those. every song on the iis good and you rarely end up enjoying every song on a CD. There are too many exellent songs to point out just one but "Boulevard of Broken Dreams" is truly a great song along with "Jesus of Surburbia" and "Homecoming". I think that this "rock opera" is reminicent of the ever ecclectic Queen of the 1970's and early 80's. They are truly the best in punk rock genre going well beyond the mold of punk rock is supposed to allow. So congradulations to Green Day on thier best yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  44. Rufus
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    This is an epic that will last generations. Excellent!!
  45. larryc
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    this is awesome i listen 2 it every day
  46. EdC
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    While not an insanely complex album, American Idiot is a an excellent and creative album. It shows that Green Day finally grew up.
  47. beb
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Amazing album full of brilliant songs. I had actually not really heard of Green Day before this but i'm off to buy their older albums. Bye!
  48. JhonsonC
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    Best rock album Ive ever heard of my life.
  49. jackie
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    billie joe is hot
  50. kitb
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    thank god i found this site i was doing a speech on green day cuz i love em to death and i needed reviews to show thier the fuckin best!!!!
  51. mirandas
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    I love this cd.
  52. uber
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    This is equal to Dookie at least. The concept is well thought out and delivered
  53. ToddH
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    Awsome album that continues to be amazing even 2 1/2 years later. It will be a classic that will be refered to for many years to come.
  54. ericr
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    can you say BEST CD EVER!??!
  55. PepS!
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums ever! I can listen to it over and over again!
  56. mirandas
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    I love this cd.
  57. BernS
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    I'm normally annoyed by the user votes being averaged out from some people voting 0 and the rest 10, but this is one of my favourite albums ever, so... Apparently it's not punk, but that means nothing to the likes of me. It's all very accessible pop-rock, and just plain pleasant to listen to. It's not often I can say that I love 11 songs out of 13.
  58. SMT
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    Anyone giving this album a 0 should really consider their taste in music. This is by far the best album, the reason they're anti-american is because there are so many problems in America. Not because they're promoting terrorism, music needs some political influence as they need to get out the message to some people who believe the world is perfect. Rock on Green Day, one of the Anyone giving this album a 0 should really consider their taste in music. This is by far the best album, the reason they're anti-american is because there are so many problems in America. Not because they're promoting terrorism, music needs some political influence as they need to get out the message to some people who believe the world is perfect. Rock on Green Day, one of the best albums of all time! Best songs; Boulevard of Broken Dreams, Give Me Novacaine and Wake Me Up When September End. Collapse
  59. NourezRl
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Simply Amazing. This is not anti-american, its at worst, anti-commercialist and anti-isolationist. The big theme of the album is feeling isolated in the world around you, not being able to connect and relate with all the people you know. And about the fact that the guitar is simply one or two repeated chords, Green Day is still at it's core a punk band, and the repeated chord Simply Amazing. This is not anti-american, its at worst, anti-commercialist and anti-isolationist. The big theme of the album is feeling isolated in the world around you, not being able to connect and relate with all the people you know. And about the fact that the guitar is simply one or two repeated chords, Green Day is still at it's core a punk band, and the repeated chord structure is a facet of punk music. Even if you go back to bands like Sex Pistols and the Buzzcocks, you'll see the same repetitive structure. Expand
  60. JackS
    May 13, 2009
    10
    All of the people below will regret the zero's you have given this album when, in twenty years time, it becomes one of the most influential albums in rock history.
  61. jons
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    phenomonoal
  62. KennethH
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Great cd Green day has defenatly hit the big time
  63. MattG
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    Tremendously solid both melodically and lyrically, it also puts forth a political message the young voters need to listen to.
  64. z28blue
    Nov 28, 2004
    10
    Lyrical Genius! Catchy Tunes! And it all makes sense! Absolutely, hands down, the best album ive heard all year!
  65. AlexB
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    One of the best albums ever! Jesus of Suburbia rocks! Green Day ROCKS!
  66. gregw
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    their Best since Dookie, which is saying something.its almost as perfect as that masterpiece. GO AND BUY IT NOW!!! GREN DAY!!!!!!!!
  67. stevek
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    The best Green Day album since Nimrod, and in my opinion one of the best albums ever made. Green Day has always been one of my favourite bands, and American Idiot rose them to #1 in my books. Highlights were 'Jesus of Seburbia' and 'Holiday.'
  68. Anthony
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    O Man I just got the CD and it blew my mind!!!!! I agree with everything they say that Bush is a dumbass
  69. Slu
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    This album is amazing, literary, schizophrenic, depressing, and a musical amalgamation of just about every style, but with the clear distinction of being Green Day. A masterpiece.
  70. Brian
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    A deep,and just flat out incredible album!
  71. DominicT
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    Very good album, one of the best I ever listened. Buy it right now.
  72. ddcc
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    awesome, the best album i ever heard!!!!!!!!!
  73. St.Jimmy
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    Meatcritic is full of BS. American Idiot deserves a 90 or higher.
  74. kyleroach
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    kicks ass
  75. Lt.Drebin
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Their best album...and that's saying a lot.
  76. glenng
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Sets the standard in the 00s!
  77. EmilyO.
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    This is such an intelligent CD with real insights. The Greenday band has really grown up, which is quite visable in "American Idiot". It was well worth the $20 I paid for it!
  78. kayliep
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! i can relate to it in so many ways. i fell in love with this album the moment i heard it. 10!!!
  79. OZyYoung
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    Wow! THis CD is amazing.
  80. HelenB
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Fantastic work! The best rock album i've ever known.!
  81. douglasm
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    An absolutely complete and stunning album, it doesnt get much better than this!
  82. RobF
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Great Album to listen from a different sound of Green Day. They did a great job doing this album about America and what has happen through the years in America. Alot of Green Day fans who are only into the punk of Green Day put Green Day had grown up a bit and change there sound and songwriting. Great Job Green Day.
  83. mattr
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    One of the best rock abums i have er heard defintly greendays best
  84. Kristin
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    This is the best album by greenday! I love this cd!
  85. Pj
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    1 word-PERFECTION!
  86. JoshuaE
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    holy crap this album is amazing. green days best
  87. BENL
    Mar 17, 2005
    10
    Green Day's best. The only album I can listen to from start to end. Bush Bashers include American Idiot and Holiday (Holiday is better than AI). Boulevard is an extremly good song and any one who buys this cd will not be dissappointed.
  88. dunnolostit
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    a good album, compared to whats around today its fantastic. Greenday will definatly make an imprint in music history.
  89. DavidL
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Just for the record, IGN gave this a 10/10
  90. DanielN
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    This album is their best yet. I loved Dookie and appreciate the far more mature lyrics and outstanding music from this album. I'm hooked!
  91. angelab
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    One of if not the best CD i have ever listened to. Every song is amazing and i could listen to it over and over again w/o getting bored or tired. i love all of Green Day's previous albums but this is by far the best and the most fun. My favorite track is number 10-Letterbomb.
  92. anona
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    After reading the blittering pontifications of the village voice review, who apparantly fancies him/herself (didn't bother to look) some sort of intellectual, I felt compelled to add my voice (pun intended) to the discussion. I work with and enjoy music very much, so I am always listening to what is new/old/obscure, etc. It is very difficult to be original these days and the mark of After reading the blittering pontifications of the village voice review, who apparantly fancies him/herself (didn't bother to look) some sort of intellectual, I felt compelled to add my voice (pun intended) to the discussion. I work with and enjoy music very much, so I am always listening to what is new/old/obscure, etc. It is very difficult to be original these days and the mark of creativity reaches beyond the realm of just making a new sound-any 'idiot' can do that. The ability to synthesize and extrapolate what one hears (the who, the beatles, even david bowie-listen carefully- and pink floyd, of course husker du) and still have a singular voice as GD does, is something that I find remarkable in this 'event'. The voice in the arc of the concept is one of alienation, fear, resignation but not total abandon to despair. The music rocks. The only people who should NOT touch this disc are the consevative (politically and musically) or vapid. Actually, maybe the vapid would learn something. Go put this in your pipe and smoke it...intellectual dick. Expand
  93. DavidP
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    I don't dislike today's candy-punk because of silly teen lyrics that I've long outgrown. It's because of the stunning lack of musical variety- just how many sounds can you generate with a bass, lead, & drums, anyway? Green Day answers the question in an amazing fashion on American Idiot. I doesn't matter whether or not you agree with the decidedly Anti-Bush I don't dislike today's candy-punk because of silly teen lyrics that I've long outgrown. It's because of the stunning lack of musical variety- just how many sounds can you generate with a bass, lead, & drums, anyway? Green Day answers the question in an amazing fashion on American Idiot. I doesn't matter whether or not you agree with the decidedly Anti-Bush sentiments. Each song is incredibly different and unique. Even "Jesus of Surburbia" contains 5 songs that could stand on their own. Songs range from the driving rock of "American Idiot" and "Holiday", to the catchy hooks of "Novacaine" and ""Whatshername". Sure it is sappy, but "Wake Me Up When September Ends" is an excellent song. Thanks Green Day for providing a CD that I can listen to in its ENTIRETY and one of the 5 best albums I have ever purchased. Expand
  94. SamM
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    They manage to link together musically diverse songs with surprising cohesion. And here I thought they were washed up years ago.
  95. sophied
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    i think that american idot is the best album released so far by green day.
  96. meghanc
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    this cd was amazing, one of the best i've heard in a long time, its not the usually whiny pop-punk u get today. and like all the other green day albums i can sit through the whole thing with out wanting to skip songs or just plain turn it off
  97. JamesH.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Holy crap...i got this cd after reading ign's review (perfect 10) and i listen to the whole album on a regular basis. Green Day is one of those bands who just consistantly get better and more mature. One of my favorite albums of all time
  98. jayb
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    this is great! and the best songs arent even the singles... whatsername is the best!
  99. CherelleA
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Greenday are da bomb n i dont care wat ne1 says they were named On eof the Best Rock Band still performing and most successful punk rock bands of all time so they deserve all the credit they are getting, and if I had my way I would make them President of the United States!! Most of my fave albums consist of all the Greenday albums and I believe it was worth the four year wait for their Greenday are da bomb n i dont care wat ne1 says they were named On eof the Best Rock Band still performing and most successful punk rock bands of all time so they deserve all the credit they are getting, and if I had my way I would make them President of the United States!! Most of my fave albums consist of all the Greenday albums and I believe it was worth the four year wait for their newest album American Idiot. I luv Greenday and I always will, Billie-Joe Armstrong is da hottest babe eva n all my m8s can think orlando bloom and chad michael murray are da hottest but I know better. A big 10 outta 10 not just for American Idiot, but for the whole band and the 16 years they've been together!! Lurve you guys soooooooo much ur da best band in da world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cherelle xxx Expand
  100. RandyE
    May 14, 2005
    10
    This CD will rank with Seargent Peppers.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. It is exactly what the band needs to boost itself to the next level of pop-punk prowess.
  2. There's still plenty of spunk in to be found in this Sgt. Pepper-lite.
  3. Not only does it contain Green Day’s finest songs (and choruses) to date... but it also scratches at the surface of political dissatisfaction with nails sharp enough to leave a nasty scar.