Amok - Atoms for Peace
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    100
    Producer Nigel Godrich has made of this a modern masterclass--and one that sets the bar for collaborations extremely high.
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    100
    Awash with beats, rhythms, electronics, the occasional guitar and Yorke's soaring if still mostly unintelligible tenor, Amok is a record to get sonically lost within, a work whose every measure teems with a quality and a precision that only musicians at the top of their game can touch.
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    91
    The chief difference between AMOK and The King Of Limbs is how alive and invested AMOK sounds, almost as if it’s a do-over of the frequently airless Limbs.
  4. 90
    Amok is a tenaciously rich and strong album that is certainly the work of gifted musicians.
  5. Feb 21, 2013
    90
    It’s a dense work that’ll be discovered thriving equally happily in the niche of teenage bedrooms as in underground cults and a nebulous haze of mushrooming Mixcloud communiqués extending over the horizon.
  6. Feb 7, 2013
    90
    This seamless synthesis of sinew and silicon is crucial to the album's slippery feel: there's a pleasing fluidity and crooked funkiness to the arrangements that Yorke sometimes struggled to achieve on The Eraser. [Mar 2013, p.66]
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    88
    AMOK is as heady and immersive as any great Radiohead album, but those comparisons eventually wilt: Yorke's new band has discovered a symmetry all its own.
  8. 83
    AMOK is a surprisingly unassuming album in that way; each song has worthwhile hooks and accessibility is favored over abstract experiments.
  9. As a product of Yorke’s mind, AMOK represents a measurable progression over The Eraser. It’s more experimental, varied, nuanced, and likeable.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    What AMOK isn’t (as the critics so obsessed with extra-musical baggage would have you believe) is some overwrought super-group experiment. What it is, though, is a collection of deftly arranged, pulsating, driving songs. Thom Yoke’s vocals songwriting are at their best here, marrying beautifully slow melodies to quick rhythmic patterns (“Before Your Very Eyes”); subtly altering the phrasing of a repeated lyric (creating a hypnotic, climatic effect on “Unless”); and is at its warmest and most affectionate (“Ingenue”). Beautiful, deep record that reveals itself more and more through each repeated listen. Full Review »
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    I've always been torn between euphoria and confusion with anything Thom Yorke has been involved with. The lineup for this game is, however, nothing short of fantastic. I feel high everytime I listen to this. In fact, I feel as if I get higher and higher everytime I listen to it. It's just out of this world. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I find this album a great one. I find people dislikes this album because it sounds like Thom Yorke and not like Radiohead, but, What's the problem? This album is great from the first song to the last song (the one i think is the best). Full Review »