Amok

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Amok Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Originally conceived to perform The Eraser, Thom Yorke's 2006 debut album live, the supergroup comprised of Thom Yorke, Nigel Godrich, Mauro Refosco, Joey Waronker, and Flea toured for two weeks in 2010 with some new material. After the success of the tour, the band decided to work on anOriginally conceived to perform The Eraser, Thom Yorke's 2006 debut album live, the supergroup comprised of Thom Yorke, Nigel Godrich, Mauro Refosco, Joey Waronker, and Flea toured for two weeks in 2010 with some new material. After the success of the tour, the band decided to work on an album and recorded the debut in three days. Expand
Buy On

Top Track

Ingenue
You know like the back of your hand Who let 'em in? You got me into this mess You get me out You know like the back of your hand Your bell jar Your... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    100
    Producer Nigel Godrich has made of this a modern masterclass--and one that sets the bar for collaborations extremely high.
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    88
    AMOK is as heady and immersive as any great Radiohead album, but those comparisons eventually wilt: Yorke's new band has discovered a symmetry all its own.
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    AMOK is heady dance music, in love with its jittery rhythms but never content to give over to them completely.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    70
    AMOK isn’t quite dazzling, but it’s a clear improvement on its predecessor, and more than enough to win over old fans--and perhaps a few new ones, too.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    69
    For all the rhythmic chicanery at play, AMOK feels strangely static and contained, giving a perpetual sense of jogging in place.
  6. Feb 28, 2013
    60
    There’s no mistaking the album for anyone but Yorke’s, but despite his rep as a singular genius, he does play well with others.
  7. 40
    It's all typically hard work to decipher, both lyrically and musically, but unlike Yorke's earlier endeavours with Radiohead, this time I'm rather less convinced that it's going to be worth the effort. It's certainly less fun.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This album has destroyed my willingness to listen to anything else. I have been listening to AMOK since it came out... On repeat... EveryThis album has destroyed my willingness to listen to anything else. I have been listening to AMOK since it came out... On repeat... Every chance I get. It might sound obsessive I know, but I cannot stop. I truly believe this diamond in the ruff, unappreciated, work of art, is a stroke of genius. This album holds a musical honey-trap under it's layers, once you are in, you are done. Those who have listened to AMOK in it's entirety less than 5 time, barely scratched the surface of this brilliant, complex, moving and unique album. AMOK stands on it's own and should not be compered. Each musician in this cast brings his own musical signature and is flawlessly put together. The best album I've listened to in years. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    While touted as Thom Yorke's dance album, this is a much deeper and more rewarding listen than that would imply. The songwriting here isWhile touted as Thom Yorke's dance album, this is a much deeper and more rewarding listen than that would imply. The songwriting here is impeccable, Thom Yorke's voice has never been more liquid and pure, and the album as a whole has a lot of surprising warmth and delicate beauty nestled between the beats and the laptop modulations. I was initially afraid of Flea's involvement, but there's no popping or slapping here. I can't imagine that I'll hear a better album this year. Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    What AMOK isn’t (as the critics so obsessed with extra-musical baggage would have you believe) is some overwrought super-group experiment.What AMOK isn’t (as the critics so obsessed with extra-musical baggage would have you believe) is some overwrought super-group experiment. What it is, though, is a collection of deftly arranged, pulsating, driving songs. Thom Yoke’s vocals songwriting are at their best here, marrying beautifully slow melodies to quick rhythmic patterns (“Before Your Very Eyes”); subtly altering the phrasing of a repeated lyric (creating a hypnotic, climatic effect on “Unless”); and is at its warmest and most affectionate (“Ingenue”). Beautiful, deep record that reveals itself more and more through each repeated listen. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    This one is definitely a grower, like most of Yorke's work. But after listening multiple times, I'm obsessed. This is top class electronicThis one is definitely a grower, like most of Yorke's work. But after listening multiple times, I'm obsessed. This is top class electronic music, and Godrich is one of the best producers in the biz. The hooks are hard to find, but that's because the melodies are so intricate and complex. Flea's bass lines add a groovy feel to the mix. The rest of the instruments feel minimal, but in a good, mature way. A rich, challenging album that is one of the year's best in my opinion. Only wish it were longer! Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    Thom Yorke never stops amazing me. His solo effort "The Eraser" is a great record, and nearly all Radiohead albums are monumental, and nowThom Yorke never stops amazing me. His solo effort "The Eraser" is a great record, and nearly all Radiohead albums are monumental, and now Atoms for Peace. Amok is (like Rolling Stone put it) the funkiest record Thom Yorke has ever been apart of, and a lot of the credit goes to Flea. They make a fantastic collaboration with this album. Every track holds it's own and the beats are subtle, yet groovy and so easy to listen too. It was a grower of an album but I eventually picked it up and now it's been on repeat for a few days already. All In All, Atoms for Peace is an awesome side-project for Thom Yorke and Flea, and I can't wait for their next record. B+ Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    First of all its important to establish that this isn't Radiohead Amok has far more in common with Thom Yorkes solo work than Radiohead. ImFirst of all its important to establish that this isn't Radiohead Amok has far more in common with Thom Yorkes solo work than Radiohead. Im not really a fan of electronica so i was apprehensive when buying this album but there was no need to worry, Amok is a great album especially Ingenue and Default. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    0
    It sounds just like The Eraser part 3. Instead of continuing to learn more about the world and challenge the standards of music andIt sounds just like The Eraser part 3. Instead of continuing to learn more about the world and challenge the standards of music and mediocrity, Thom Yorke has become what he used to rail against: a kicking screaming gucci little piggy. I turned off after In Rainbows which, while it didn't break new ground for Radiohead, still had a heart. Amok doesn't even carry a pulse, only the bland and vague anxious Thom Yorke vocals/electronics that are technically good enough for critics to give it no lower than a 6, even if they'd prefer another OK Computer, or at least another Hail to the Thief. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews