Amputechture

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 122

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Einar1J.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    Truly beautiful. Amputechture is TMV's most mature work, often flying between rock, jazz and soul. Don't get me wrong, this album sounded awful at first, taking perhaps 15 proper listens to realize its immense beauty. From start to finish I feel the amazing composition and praise cedric's vocals. Of course, this album is far from De-Loused on terms of accessibility, but it Truly beautiful. Amputechture is TMV's most mature work, often flying between rock, jazz and soul. Don't get me wrong, this album sounded awful at first, taking perhaps 15 proper listens to realize its immense beauty. From start to finish I feel the amazing composition and praise cedric's vocals. Of course, this album is far from De-Loused on terms of accessibility, but it shines through in the end. 'Vicarious Atonement' is jaw-dropping perfection, with 'Tetragrammaton' bringing the listener to rollercoasters of sound and distortion. 'Vermicide' is one of those oddly placed accessible songs in an album of distortion, fulfilling its place with simplicity. Next, 'Meccamputechture' sounds great then lags, but mainly due to its immense length. However, you fall in love with any flaws. 'Asilos Magdalena' is a stunning near-acoustic spanish ballad, totally crushing any typical mind-set. 'Viscera Eyes' is jazzed-up for action, crushing the listener with sound. 'Day of the Baphomets' is mind blowing and jammin' fun. The finale, 'El Ciervo Vulnerado' leaves you feeling like you just listened to a materpiece, without knowing what on earth, besides amputation, cedric has been taking about. Takes multiple listens, please take your time with this record, and don't rate a record you've never listened to. Expand
  2. BrettW
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    Oh my god, what the hell is wrong with you people?? TMV is THE most progressive and complex groups to hit the scene ever! Amazingly poetic, musically intricate. What more could you ask for?
  3. ManuelB.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    podria escribir esto en inglés pero al carajo... Me molesta mucho las críticas estúpidas de tan Baja Nota de 9 hacia abajo en esta OBRA MAESTRA. Solo demuestra la ignorancia y la escasa apreciación de arte que tienen los críticos de esta página. Si no logran VER que este album es una obra maestra de plano ponganse a criticar cosas mas sencillas podria escribir esto en inglés pero al carajo... Me molesta mucho las críticas estúpidas de tan Baja Nota de 9 hacia abajo en esta OBRA MAESTRA. Solo demuestra la ignorancia y la escasa apreciación de arte que tienen los críticos de esta página. Si no logran VER que este album es una obra maestra de plano ponganse a criticar cosas mas sencillas que no requieran talento alguno, como por ejemplo su Culo. Expand
  4. KennethA
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    great cd.
  5. MitchM
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    This album is the definition of insanity.
  6. fd
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    muy buen disco la cago el mejor en mxo tiempo
  7. SalP
    Sep 12, 2006
    8
    one of the best prog rock album have heard recently.
  8. marsvolta
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    I love this album! Maybe even more than De-Loused
  9. AdamF
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Eat the baby!!
  10. NelsonD
    Dec 5, 2006
    7
    The songs 6 and 7 are the best. The others songs are less. Not so good than the 2 first album.
  11. SethD
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    The melody dosen't present itself until your almost done being patient. Then like a magic eye book, remember them? It suddenly becomes undeniable. This is a grower, but goodness is it worth it! the sonic explorations, the frenzied jazz, the hooks, yes there are some great hooks. I feel like I'm enjoying some important music. So so reviews, but take it from me because I'm a The melody dosen't present itself until your almost done being patient. Then like a magic eye book, remember them? It suddenly becomes undeniable. This is a grower, but goodness is it worth it! the sonic explorations, the frenzied jazz, the hooks, yes there are some great hooks. I feel like I'm enjoying some important music. So so reviews, but take it from me because I'm a genius, this album is great. Expand
  12. Pavers
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    Another Mars Volta album filled with passion, energy and attitude.
  13. JuanR
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    This album doesn't deserve a 10. It's probably somewhere in the 8-9 range for me, but with every mouth-breather that drops by to leave a 0 rating with a three word review, this should help even it out. Here's the deal, folks. For every seriously informative and imaginative critic, there are thousands of slacker, juco-dropout "writers" with a keyboard in one hand and a This album doesn't deserve a 10. It's probably somewhere in the 8-9 range for me, but with every mouth-breather that drops by to leave a 0 rating with a three word review, this should help even it out. Here's the deal, folks. For every seriously informative and imaginative critic, there are thousands of slacker, juco-dropout "writers" with a keyboard in one hand and a thesaurus in the other. These men and women stand ready to clumsily wield large words to convince you that a completely subjective art form is rigidly graded according to an arbitrary system they came up with while listening to Kid A. Amputechture is like any other piece of challenging music: some will love it, some will hate it. Find out for yourself instead of letting someone decide for you. Expand
  14. brianK
    Jan 2, 2007
    8
    Good, but not amazing. The most glaring issue with this album is that it is no where near as good as Deloused in the Comatorium and Frances the Mute
  15. Crabsody
    Nov 11, 2006
    7
    Not so good as previous albums of the band but still one of the best of this very mediocre year. Viscera Eyes is great
  16. TomS
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Excellent Album by The Mars Volta as always, my favourite song by them has to be Cicatriz in the Scab dates album. Anyhoo... yes great album favourites songs being Tetragammaton and Meccamputechture, bass lines are supreme with a mental drummer, what more do you want
  17. danf
    Nov 2, 2006
    9
    Not as good as Frances, much better than deloused, the volta start out weak with Vicarious Atonement. They then launch into the amazing tetragrammation and dont burn out until the final track... which is just kind of random noises and a guitar solo. Fantastic album for those willing to give it a shot, for those who aren't... i dunno go listen to yellowcard or something you wankers.
  18. Jack
    Sep 11, 2006
    9
    Thanks to all the gods that exists someone who tries something diferent and new.TMV with Amputechture doesnt beat the greatness of De-Loused, but creates another mark in experimental music, another great album
  19. truewheel
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    This is not an easy album. I didn't begin to fully appreciate it until 5 listens in. Which just makes it all the more rewarding. Complex time signatures; unconventional song structures; non-narrative lyrics. If you like your rock to be a junk food fix then leave this alone....however if you prefer a 3 course meal - start with their debut "De-Loused in the Comotorium", main course This is not an easy album. I didn't begin to fully appreciate it until 5 listens in. Which just makes it all the more rewarding. Complex time signatures; unconventional song structures; non-narrative lyrics. If you like your rock to be a junk food fix then leave this alone....however if you prefer a 3 course meal - start with their debut "De-Loused in the Comotorium", main course "Amputecture" and then dessert with the somophore "Francis the Mute". And then just when you think your musical belly is ready to burst....go see them live. Mr Creosote. Period. Expand
  20. TedJ
    Sep 15, 2006
    8
    good album with great moments. live, it's even better. pitchfork bugs the fuck out of me. phrases like "piss-soaked indulgence," "hodgepodge of ADD prog trope noodles," "wavy gravy," "heady hand drums," "weirdo Crimson King corn-dogging," "'Been Caught Stealin'-on-DXM shower ballad"... wow. such writing embodies the very excesses and self-satisfied inanity that writer good album with great moments. live, it's even better. pitchfork bugs the fuck out of me. phrases like "piss-soaked indulgence," "hodgepodge of ADD prog trope noodles," "wavy gravy," "heady hand drums," "weirdo Crimson King corn-dogging," "'Been Caught Stealin'-on-DXM shower ballad"... wow. such writing embodies the very excesses and self-satisfied inanity that writer Brandon Stosuy TRIES to decry within the cloying verbiage of his review. Like many Pitchfork reviews, the writer panders to the pretentious philistines, attempting to impress us and deflect any potential rebuttal by stuffing his review with as many SAT vocabulary words and "oh-look-at-how-much-i-know-about-music" references as possible. over it. Expand
  21. Blakey
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    james C Im an aussie and am ashamed that people relate australian music to ACDC, unlike mars volta whom produce the most out there and unique music of this era ACDC produced the same sound their entire career and fair to say cedrics voice is a lot more breath taking than bon scotts wasted breath, Amputechture is easy to critcise on its first few listens but let it grow on you and it only amazes.
  22. MiguelM
    Sep 25, 2006
    8
    The mars volta come back once again, witrh a piece of modern art transfigurized in music. Their progressive rock sounds stronger and more cohese then ever, with Omar's amazing riffs assaulting my senses in the best possible way. Cedric's Lyrics continue with his unique terminology that reminds me the surreal writtings of William S Burroughs, transforming our very own reality. The mars volta come back once again, witrh a piece of modern art transfigurized in music. Their progressive rock sounds stronger and more cohese then ever, with Omar's amazing riffs assaulting my senses in the best possible way. Cedric's Lyrics continue with his unique terminology that reminds me the surreal writtings of William S Burroughs, transforming our very own reality. One thing that i had against Frances the mute was the long electronic skits, a problem that was corrected in this current album, with the electonic "riffs" complementing Omar's raging guitar. Its a really GREAT album, more cohese and thoughtfull then their previous works. I'm sorry for the bad english, but, fuck man, i'm portuguese, and my english is much better then your portuguese. Peace out! One last thing: i compare listening this album with listening john coltran's kulu se mama. Dysfunctional melodies, a concept that i never thought possible. Expand
  23. JuliaA
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    woah! they really turned 180 degree over the previous 'Frances...'.this album isn't as gloomy as before, but still got the magical charm of cynical lyrics and the salsa-tropica-mexicana vibe (hahaha,mind the term). I love 'Vermicide' and 'Asilos Magdalena' the best,but the whole album is great.for the new fans,this might be the right pick before going to woah! they really turned 180 degree over the previous 'Frances...'.this album isn't as gloomy as before, but still got the magical charm of cynical lyrics and the salsa-tropica-mexicana vibe (hahaha,mind the term). I love 'Vermicide' and 'Asilos Magdalena' the best,but the whole album is great.for the new fans,this might be the right pick before going to their pervious two albums. Expand
  24. JohnB
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    Amputechture takes Omar's talent and ear for music to new and different heights that years ago no one would have thought possible. It's easy to start comparing to Frances the Mute and Deloused in the Comatorium and when I did I found amputechture seemed to lack the same qualities that made the Mars Volta what it was. However, jump ahead and pretend you never heard of this band Amputechture takes Omar's talent and ear for music to new and different heights that years ago no one would have thought possible. It's easy to start comparing to Frances the Mute and Deloused in the Comatorium and when I did I found amputechture seemed to lack the same qualities that made the Mars Volta what it was. However, jump ahead and pretend you never heard of this band and I am sure there would be far more praise for this amazing piece of work. Sometimes I found difficulty in getting a good feel for Amputechture like I had some preconceived idea of what I wanted to listen to. In that sense it was one of the band's most challenging work to date but once I started listening to the songs in a variety of ways I came to realize what I was supposed to get out of this album. Most of amputechture is very accessible yet some of the album still retains the complexity that set the Mars Volta apart from other bands. There's no doubt the album is still very much progressive but in a different way compared to the previous two albums and to be honest it is probably their least original album yet, but I would definitely recommend amputechture to anyone who enjoys challenging music. You just have to listen to it with an open mind. Expand
  25. LoganK
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Holy Shit! It's TMV's overindulgence that makes them so good. It's called art not entertainment (even if it is entertaining).
  26. V.J.S
    Oct 10, 2006
    9
    While I understand that The Mars Volta will never be easy to listen to for the common ear and that others claim to like them for pretty contrived reasons, this album shouldn't be judged by those standards, since its a brilliant mixture of sounds that somehow, someway, make sense. One of the problems with their previous albums in my view, was that sometimes they seemed to drift away While I understand that The Mars Volta will never be easy to listen to for the common ear and that others claim to like them for pretty contrived reasons, this album shouldn't be judged by those standards, since its a brilliant mixture of sounds that somehow, someway, make sense. One of the problems with their previous albums in my view, was that sometimes they seemed to drift away from the basic instruments (guitar, bass, drums) and went with looping electronic sounds that were hard to get into unless you were in some sort of trance. But with Amputechture, they have seemed to strike a perfect balance of musicality. This album is just a lot more instrumental than their previous ones and because of that, it seems a lot more well balanced. Still, this is not for everyone. The lyrics are hard to appreciate and the blend of sounds can be chaotic at times, but it's that same blend that makes them so unique and powerful. People still waiting for the rebirth of At The Drive In should stay far away from this, but for people looking into something much more different, it will captivate them from start to finish. Expand
  27. janaef
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    This is the great album. What more can i say
  28. AliceR
    Nov 3, 2006
    7
    As intense and as polished as always - it gets better and better with every listen.
  29. JonL
    Nov 4, 2006
    9
    It's not a perfect album, and it is somewhat inferior to Frances and De-Loused. But who cares? There are still tons of enormously jaw-dropping sections here (see Day Of The Baphomets, Meccamputechture) and you will not find another album this year with this amount of attention paid to the composition (something severely lacking in most prog-rock bands who deliver wankery, but not It's not a perfect album, and it is somewhat inferior to Frances and De-Loused. But who cares? There are still tons of enormously jaw-dropping sections here (see Day Of The Baphomets, Meccamputechture) and you will not find another album this year with this amount of attention paid to the composition (something severely lacking in most prog-rock bands who deliver wankery, but not music that actually goes anywhere). Is it self-indulgent? Yes. Difficult? Certainly. Cheesy? A bit. Does everything work? No. But if you are willing to just sit down and listen to where most of the album goes, you'll be pleased. Expand
  30. YourBoss
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Omar Rodriguez-Lopez is a musical Orson Welles. This is what mastery, artistic integrity, and real passion can produce, in a world of celebrated clones playing the game of who is the best clone? (My Chemical Romance seems to be the current leading contender, with Panic! At the Disco and Fall Out Boy catching up). The Mars Volta are playing games with The Doors, Pink Floyd, Joy Division, Omar Rodriguez-Lopez is a musical Orson Welles. This is what mastery, artistic integrity, and real passion can produce, in a world of celebrated clones playing the game of who is the best clone? (My Chemical Romance seems to be the current leading contender, with Panic! At the Disco and Fall Out Boy catching up). The Mars Volta are playing games with The Doors, Pink Floyd, Joy Division, The Pixies, and all the great bands that never cared about what was expected of them, just about thier art and refused to comprimise. Expand
  31. JM
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    I like it alot, Interesting how the critics rate it highly and those that rated it lowly just had a stupid opinion that was only their own.
  32. chris
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    volta has managed to top themselves again...this is so much different from the albums prior to....but frances was different from de-loused...so i think they're just trying not to confine themselves musically and trying to be as open as posssible...but flemming better be able to make it work chemistry wise of that can be a problem.
  33. BigTomCasual
    Dec 7, 2006
    7
    I thought this album was supposed to be a return-to-form after Francis? Maybe a little, but I still can't get into it like I could Deloused.
  34. AJI
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    TMV overdid themselves this time! an amaaaaaazing album!
  35. AmitS
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    The sheer depth and quality of sound is impressive. Each song is a fully realised piece with beautiful and emotive arrangements. The melodies incorporated flow very nicely. It is great to hear The Mars Volta continue to produce very different albums. A joy to listen to.
  36. BM
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    TMV are the fucking dogs bollocks, Cedric is the man!
  37. RandyM
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    Amazing album. Crazy.
  38. sidewinder572
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Makes Deloused in the Comatorium sound juvenile and Frances the Mute sound like nothing more then a transitional record.
  39. LewisT
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    Haha, why is it that despite the common fact that TMV are progressive rock, do reviewers still complain about the length of the songs, and in turn, the album? Also, I will point out that TMV are not overrated in the slightest. No underground band CAN be overrated. It's bands like Radiohead, Razorlight, Coldplay and Arctic Monkeys that are overrated, not TMV. Amputechture is a decent Haha, why is it that despite the common fact that TMV are progressive rock, do reviewers still complain about the length of the songs, and in turn, the album? Also, I will point out that TMV are not overrated in the slightest. No underground band CAN be overrated. It's bands like Radiohead, Razorlight, Coldplay and Arctic Monkeys that are overrated, not TMV. Amputechture is a decent album. It's "a college of sounds " to quote Omar directly. At least he's stayed true to his statement. It is, as above, "chaos channeled into one song". But in a good way. The album starts, and stops, just like conventional TMV, yet it has noticeable movements to it as well. Viscera Eyes, with it's heavy guitar riff, the increased prescence of saxophone. None of this is "musical masturbation", it's all songs, Proper songs. With insane time signitures and complex structures, that aren't noticed as much as they should be. But hey. Who am I to complain. TMV are awesome, and this album hasn't dissappointed me. Expand
  40. alexf
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Really good
  41. rickspringfield
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    This shit rocks. In my opinion their best LP.
  42. MiguelC
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    the volta's creativity and fluidity make 76 minutes fly by.
  43. Drew
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    To Lewis T: First of all, Amputechture is absolutely amazing. I am a biased souce though since TMV is my favorite band and I crave for any new material all the time. Even now, I can't wait for ANOTHER release. But you included some bashes in your review which I thought were unnecessary. Radiohead overrated? not in the slightest. Where do you get off saying that load of BS? To Lewis T: First of all, Amputechture is absolutely amazing. I am a biased souce though since TMV is my favorite band and I crave for any new material all the time. Even now, I can't wait for ANOTHER release. But you included some bashes in your review which I thought were unnecessary. Radiohead overrated? not in the slightest. Where do you get off saying that load of BS? They're making music for the same reason as TMV.. through feeling and a love for music. Go listen to OK Computer and come back and talk your crap with some actual support and maybe, just maybe, you won't look like a douche bag. Expand
  44. ShermD
    Sep 19, 2006
    9
    If you know what you're getting into with these blokes than you will be utterly satisfied. THICK and muggy, like being entranced by a hypnotic salsa rhythm in a dark club.
  45. JonathanK
    Sep 21, 2006
    9
    Listen to this jackass from Spin. Wow, what a stunning review...All kidding aside this album is not as good as their first two. Nonetheless its still the best rock out right now (modern prog...what an idiot).
  46. DevinM
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    This is their best work since De-Loused. There are no weak tracks and every track is layered and complex enough that one listen just is not enough. The amazing thing about this album is every part was recorded seperately and without hearing the other tracks. Putting it together must have been rediculous.
  47. systool
    Jan 7, 2007
    8
    Obviously not an easy album to listen to. My favourite TMV album is Deloused, but I've really appreciated the more atmospherical latin-oriented Frances the Mute. With Amputechture, the band went into a more prog and technical album, which can seem a big mess at first listen. But after 5-10 times, you eventually begin to like these complex construction, even if some work clearly just Obviously not an easy album to listen to. My favourite TMV album is Deloused, but I've really appreciated the more atmospherical latin-oriented Frances the Mute. With Amputechture, the band went into a more prog and technical album, which can seem a big mess at first listen. But after 5-10 times, you eventually begin to like these complex construction, even if some work clearly just doesn't work (I think, for example, about the messy Days of the Baphomets). Some other tracks like the hysterical Meccamputechture or Viscera Eyes will blow your Mind. A good addition to the TMV work, but in my opinion not the first one to buy. Expand
  48. BobN
    Mar 3, 2007
    9
    The Mars Volta is simply to atmospheric and intelligent for most people to understand, especially shallow Pop-apologist critics. Hence, Pitchfork will continue to trash the Volta while simultaneously giving high fives to no-talent popsters like the Shins.
  49. Matt?A
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    This album, i think, is The Mars Volta's most hardcore album yet. It's pretty hard to listen to, being that it's so hardcore, you know? Yet, in some ways, it's The Mars Volta at their best. Tetragrammaton and Day of the Baphomets are the best TMV songs to date, Viscera Eyes is totally awesome, Vermicide is beautiful, and the accoustic in Asilos Magdelina (or something This album, i think, is The Mars Volta's most hardcore album yet. It's pretty hard to listen to, being that it's so hardcore, you know? Yet, in some ways, it's The Mars Volta at their best. Tetragrammaton and Day of the Baphomets are the best TMV songs to date, Viscera Eyes is totally awesome, Vermicide is beautiful, and the accoustic in Asilos Magdelina (or something like that...) is gangsta-licious. Aside from those songs, though, the others are a bit too lacking in structure. As an album, I prefer Deloused and Frances. However, this album's AWESOME moments do outweigh the uhhh...not-so-awesome. 8.4/10? Expand
  50. coling
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    They might not have had a narration for this album, but it still blows you away!
  51. Proletariat
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    10/10 I don´t need to write about excellence.
  52. Originaltrussler
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    I think I gave Frances the Mute a 10 mainly because it was conceptually gutsy. But Amputechture is just downright brilliant. For all those people rating it 0 or 1, go & listen to your own stuff & let the rest off us enjoy this band & album. The fact that the ratings are so polarised clearly shows that some of us need this music in our lives and others don't. The good news for those I think I gave Frances the Mute a 10 mainly because it was conceptually gutsy. But Amputechture is just downright brilliant. For all those people rating it 0 or 1, go & listen to your own stuff & let the rest off us enjoy this band & album. The fact that the ratings are so polarised clearly shows that some of us need this music in our lives and others don't. The good news for those that don't is that you probably have LOTS of other stuff you like listening to, so just be happy with that! Still have to see TMV live to confirm, but I reckon they've passed Tool as probably the best rock band in the world. Expand
  53. JesseK
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    Tighter than ever and at the top of their craft. It's more of a collective experience than previously releases, and once again finds The Mars Volta in a new form.
  54. gr
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    Sin palabras, solido, completo, no se pierde en ningun momento, cada parte en su lugar, la voz, todo perfeccto. El mejor disco hasta ahora de la banda. Hay temas que son una locura como "Day of Baphomets" q te deja arruinado para bien. Gracias.
  55. LH
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    Amputechture is insanely good. Definitely on par with De Loused...maybe better.
  56. Alex
    Sep 11, 2006
    9
    Better than Frances, but not as good as De-Loused. Overall a brilliant album.
  57. Michaeld
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    Great stuff. Better than Frances The Mute, but not as engrossing as De-loused In The Comatorium
  58. JR
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    A great album all the way through. Non stop fun.
  59. MikeW
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    Techincal musically, this their best. More "proggy" than their other releases, if you can believe that. Chopped out 99% of the ambient noise that pissed me off on Francis. Who the hell plays bass on Day of the Baphomets? If this is Alderate, he is a hell of a bass player. Theodore will be missed. Frusciante is God. AC/DC blows.
  60. FrankG.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    If you never heard TMV befoe don't start here, if you have then its a masterpeice. The whole album is a work of art and I'm tired of people bashing TMV b/c they are not smart enough to get them... if your looking for a pop song.. dont even think about getting this album.
  61. MichaelT
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    The Mars Volta can do no wrong in my book all the bad reviews seem to slag it off for all the reasons I love it one review and I think it ws uncut said it sounded like seventies pink floyd gone mariachi. And since when was that a bad thing. Can't wait to see them touring this record.
  62. KyleL.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Bash a band for being too experimental and using too many "colors" at least they try, they test themselves every album in an attempt to evolve from the last one instead of re-releasing the same sound in a different package. Omar Rodriguez-Lopez is a genius and i wish it rub off on the frusciante so the chili peppers could quit writing all this poppy crap.
  63. NineteenSank
    Nov 22, 2008
    8
    This is the most chaotic, jumbled Mars Volta album to date, partly due to its lack of a unifying concept. It's not a DRASTIC departure from Frances, but where Frances felt like a focused epic, Amputechture feels like a fragmented account of what happened afterward. The jazz influence is more noticeable here, and the riffs snake through the album with a winding intensity. Cedric has This is the most chaotic, jumbled Mars Volta album to date, partly due to its lack of a unifying concept. It's not a DRASTIC departure from Frances, but where Frances felt like a focused epic, Amputechture feels like a fragmented account of what happened afterward. The jazz influence is more noticeable here, and the riffs snake through the album with a winding intensity. Cedric has some interesting harmonies this time as well. All in all, what it lacks in cohesion and order, it makes up for complexity, depth, and sheer weirdness. Expand
  64. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    THis is without question The Mars Voltas most hated on album but it is still a classic. A couple low points on the album but on the whole this is another work of art from an extremely talented, thoughtful and forward thinking band.
  65. Dec 2, 2010
    8
    Amputechture takes a step back from De-loused and Frances The Mute, with smoother melodies and more epic guitar pieces. "Vicarious Atonement", the opening track for the album, is such a smooth song and rolls perfectly before the seventeen minute epic "Tetragrammaton". "Asilos Magdalena" is an acoustic song all sung in Spanish and it really shows how beautiful Cedric Bixler's voice is. HisAmputechture takes a step back from De-loused and Frances The Mute, with smoother melodies and more epic guitar pieces. "Vicarious Atonement", the opening track for the album, is such a smooth song and rolls perfectly before the seventeen minute epic "Tetragrammaton". "Asilos Magdalena" is an acoustic song all sung in Spanish and it really shows how beautiful Cedric Bixler's voice is. His voice is a lot more matured in this album than its previous albums. All In All, Amputechture is yet another great album from The Mars Volta. B+ Expand
  66. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    Although it may not come together like Frances or De-Loused, the moments where TMV is at their most progressive (Tetragrammaton, Baphomets, Viscera) are some of the best songs that have ever graced my ears.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. This early-Roxy-Music-meets-late Led-Zep-style third studio album finds the band stepping back from total impenetrability with a pithy, eight-song, 76-minute set, guaranteed to restore the faith of those whose confidence in this grand enterprise was waning.
  2. Uncut
    60
    It initially seems as if the moments of inspiration between self-indulgences are becoming scarcer. A bracing middle section resuces Amputechture. [Sep 2006, p.89]
  3. 80
    It’s epic, mercurial, high-impact progressive rock that moves like a whirlwind.