An Awesome Wave

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
An Awesome Wave Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length album for the British quartet who met at Leeds University.

Top Track

Breezeblocks
She may contain the urge to run away But hold her down with soggy clothes and breezeblocks Citrezene your fever's gripped me again Never kisses all... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. May 25, 2012
    90
    Young, yet somehow void of naivety. Vibrant, yet artistically matured.
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    You can see every angle and every side of the shape they've made. And the unimpeachable logic of each song, added to their odd tunefulness of the songs, makes them exciting to listen to.
  3. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    80
    There's undeniably something new and intriguing going on here. [Jul 2012, p.95]
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    Despite sounding more like Radiohead's wistful indie-pop nephews than the genuine article, alt-J are a group offering moderate experimentalism that'll serve as an effective gateway for younger fans.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    67
    Alt-J crafts an ethereal ocean of sound that's remarkably cohesive-at once strange and familiar.
  6. Mojo
    Jun 26, 2012
    40
    The whole album is uncertain and unconvincing. [Jul 2012, p.94]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This experimental mix of the genres form a sound that refuses to be classified for it jumps from one genre to the next as the albumThis experimental mix of the genres form a sound that refuses to be classified for it jumps from one genre to the next as the album progresses.Each track jumps onto you with an entirely different feel and it gives the album some texture and keeps it interesting for the listener, because you don’t know what’s going to happen next. Alt-J is a different band from any other and so is their sound. However since they are heavily influenced by many other genres, it will sure enough crack open a special niche in your brain, just for them. The experience after listening really is rewarding and refreshing, like an awesome wave. It's not for everyone, but open up to them and you'll be pretty damn glad you did. Underneath all the convoluted composition, is a vibrant, pure personality begging to be heard. Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    The first song i ever heard by Alt-J was Breezeblocks. I was instantly hooked. I started off listening to a few of their songs includingThe first song i ever heard by Alt-J was Breezeblocks. I was instantly hooked. I started off listening to a few of their songs including Tessellate, Fitzpleasure, Something Good, and Taro. Now i listen to the entire album and enjoy every second of it. From the moment i first heard them, I knew that they would be my favorite band. That will never change. Expand
  3. khw
    Sep 20, 2012
    10
    Simply stunning.......at first, I was hooked by only one or two songs (Tessellate & Something Good), but with each listen, I discover moreSimply stunning.......at first, I was hooked by only one or two songs (Tessellate & Something Good), but with each listen, I discover more depth and more to like. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Alt-J's An Awesome Wave captures the essence of indie music by producing a unique, universally appealing sound. The music is smart andAlt-J's An Awesome Wave captures the essence of indie music by producing a unique, universally appealing sound. The music is smart and engaging, enough so that any fan of music should give An Awesome Wave a listen. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    Their sound is intriguing. When I first listening I wasn't sure what to make of it, but I couldn't stop listening. For about a monthTheir sound is intriguing. When I first listening I wasn't sure what to make of it, but I couldn't stop listening. For about a month straight. And the more I listened, the more I appreciated the uniqueness. Fast forward a few months and I'm still as intrigued as ever. Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    Mercury Prize Winner this year. Debut album. They
  7. Dec 30, 2013
    0
    An album and a band that have ripped off Leeds' finest, Wild Beasts, to a shameless, crass and pitiful extent. Derived tosh with no heart.An album and a band that have ripped off Leeds' finest, Wild Beasts, to a shameless, crass and pitiful extent. Derived tosh with no heart. They have come and gone now, but I shall not forget the brief time they managed to pull the wool over those less than astute publications' eyes. (looking at you NME!) Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.