An Awesome Wave Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length album for the British quartet who met at Leeds University.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. May 25, 2012
    90
    Young, yet somehow void of naivety. Vibrant, yet artistically matured.
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    You can see every angle and every side of the shape they've made. And the unimpeachable logic of each song, added to their odd tunefulness of the songs, makes them exciting to listen to.
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    80
    There's undeniably something new and intriguing going on here. [Jul 2012, p.95]
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    Despite sounding more like Radiohead's wistful indie-pop nephews than the genuine article, alt-J are a group offering moderate experimentalism that'll serve as an effective gateway for younger fans.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    67
    Alt-J crafts an ethereal ocean of sound that's remarkably cohesive-at once strange and familiar.
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    40
    The whole album is uncertain and unconvincing. [Jul 2012, p.94]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    The first song i ever heard by Alt-J was Breezeblocks. I was instantly hooked. I started off listening to a few of their songs including Tessellate, Fitzpleasure, Something Good, and Taro. Now i listen to the entire album and enjoy every second of it. From the moment i first heard them, I knew that they would be my favorite band. That will never change. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect combination of smart lyrics, great music, and unique sound. It opens up nicely with the Intro and "Ripe & Ruin" before taking me into deep pleasure with "Tesselate" and the quirky "Breezeblocks". The album has been out for a year now and I am nowhere near bored. "Fitzpleasure" and "Matilda" have been my latest obsession, though. This is definitely a tremendous effort for a debut album. "An Awesome Wave" is actually the only album that has been played more than 1,000 times on my media player. It's just way too addictive. Expand
  3. khw
    Sep 20, 2012
    10
    Simply stunning.......at first, I was hooked by only one or two songs (Tessellate & Something Good), but with each listen, I discover more depth and more to like. Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    First off, I would like to state that this album is a complete success. The lyrical talent of this band is incredible, and all of the songs have interesting meanings and almost all have "plots" of their own. From references to books, movies and common life events, this album is simply a joy to listen to. It's upbeat and quite entertaining to listen to. Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    Didn't take long for this album to really grow on me. The musicianship feels like they've been a band for years and have recorded several great albums, but this their debut album. That's impressive. The only need for improvement could be the lyrics, but once this album sinks into your head, it's quite easy to overlook that. All In All, An Awesome Wave starts out strong and ends on a great note. I recommend this record. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    An Awesome Wave has a lot going on under the one roof and tries to be experimental at every turn. For the most part the record holds together well considering the ambition behind it, however there are times when it feels like there is too much going on. The record is at its strongest at its centre when it is at its most focused. For a debut record, it is very impressive in its complexity and how well this is carried off. I will be very interested to hear how they follow this up or whether they have put all their cards on the table first time round. In general it's a nicely textured record, excellently produced but at times at little unfocused in terms of direction. Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2013
    0
    An album and a band that have ripped off Leeds' finest, Wild Beasts, to a shameless, crass and pitiful extent. Derived tosh with no heart. They have come and gone now, but I shall not forget the brief time they managed to pull the wool over those less than astute publications' eyes. (looking at you NME!) Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.