An End Has A Start

  • Record Label: Fader
  • Release Date: Jul 17, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 85
  2. Negative: 9 out of 85

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeP
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    The best album of 07, plain and simple.
  2. DivagazioniN.
    Jul 17, 2007
    9
    un album molto bello decisamente migliore del primo, che già era buono, e con un singolo che resterà per molto tempo nella testa
  3. sandenos
    Jul 21, 2007
    8
    Excellent tunes. Rivals U2 for dishing up some champion stadium-filling anthems.Well done lads.
  4. TrekD
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Brilliant second album!
  5. DW.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    This is a great album and flows much better than The Back Room. The band is certainly maturing and writing better songs. An excellent live act as well. Love this new stuff.
  6. ToddW
    Jul 30, 2007
    2
    Hopefully, this offering is the start of the end for this band. This album can't suck enough. I got their first based on the Interpol comparisons and, as they say, fool me once... This second is even worse. Anyone who is comparing Interpol to these guys is an idiot. Don't even get me started on the Joy Division talk, which is beyond laughable. The person who wrote the Playlouder Hopefully, this offering is the start of the end for this band. This album can't suck enough. I got their first based on the Interpol comparisons and, as they say, fool me once... This second is even worse. Anyone who is comparing Interpol to these guys is an idiot. Don't even get me started on the Joy Division talk, which is beyond laughable. The person who wrote the Playlouder commentary is trying way, WAY too hard to impress the fools who get sucked into this miasma of monotonous musical meanderings. I'd suggest something else for that person: pull your head out of your nether region and really listen to this mess. A 100? a 10? Excuse me as I catch my breath after laughing so hard. Expand
  7. ralphs.
    Jul 18, 2007
    1
    This album is void of anything genuine; it sounds so derivative, like one had the most popular albums from 4 years ago only, listened to them over and over again in a week's time then rushed an album together in few days, always checking to see if the songs sound exactly the same.... forget the comparisons to Joy Division, this band of poseurs is so not in their league... And forget This album is void of anything genuine; it sounds so derivative, like one had the most popular albums from 4 years ago only, listened to them over and over again in a week's time then rushed an album together in few days, always checking to see if the songs sound exactly the same.... forget the comparisons to Joy Division, this band of poseurs is so not in their league... And forget the comparisons to Interpol, Editors cannot hold a candle to Interpol, and that by no means is praise for Interpol either. Expand
  8. ShaneR
    Aug 21, 2007
    6
    Instantly likeable therefore gradually boring.
  9. Mick
    Jul 9, 2007
    7
    A couple of good songs and a lot of terrible drivel. Thae back room was unbelievable this is slightly disappointing but still good for fans(and notably a lot of effort has been made to commercialize them like snow patrol).
  10. Thompson
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    The most powerful album of the year.
  11. SuaveF.
    Aug 11, 2007
    9
    It seems that you can't read about Editors without hearing comparisons to their American counterparts, Interpol. Granted, both have excelled at emulating the dark post-punk sound created by Joy Division in the late 70's, but along with bands like Bloc Party, they have successfully modernized the sound and made it their own. In fact, I might have previously conceded that Interpol It seems that you can't read about Editors without hearing comparisons to their American counterparts, Interpol. Granted, both have excelled at emulating the dark post-punk sound created by Joy Division in the late 70's, but along with bands like Bloc Party, they have successfully modernized the sound and made it their own. In fact, I might have previously conceded that Interpol simply did it better, but with Editor's sophomore release An End Has A Start, that is no longer the case. The first thing you'll notice about An End Has A Start is a fuller sound and a wider range than was featured on their remarkable debut, The Back Room. The record benefits from the addition of piano and dramatic moments of atmospheric calm on several tracks without sacrificing their edge. Additionally, the songs generally seem to have more emotion, more build-up, stronger climaxes and even more profound lyrics Expand
  12. MattG
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    I am going to do something entirely unique here - I'm going to review an Editors album without any reference to either Interpol or Joy Division!!! I can do this because I am almost completely unfamiliar with their work (apart from the ubiquitous Love Will Tear Us Apart of course). I loved The Back Room. Though not completely flawless it was the soundtrack to my 6 month stay in I am going to do something entirely unique here - I'm going to review an Editors album without any reference to either Interpol or Joy Division!!! I can do this because I am almost completely unfamiliar with their work (apart from the ubiquitous Love Will Tear Us Apart of course). I loved The Back Room. Though not completely flawless it was the soundtrack to my 6 month stay in Edinburgh and still brings back great memories. That album I liked on first listen, then the next couple I thought 'oh, it's a bit of a disappointment, all sounds a bit samey', then the songs developed their personalities and it barely left my cd player for months. And I have to say this album has been exactly the same. After a bit of initial disappointment and feeling of it not matching up with The Back Room, the songs then took hold of me and wouldn't let go. Personally I prefer their more upbeat tracks, with The Racing Rats and the title track probably my 2 faves, but there's not a track I haven't enjoyed. The fact is you can analyse this album and say it's derivative or whatever you may, but the bottom line is that for the past few months this album has given me a great amount of pleasure, and surely that is what it's all about, hey folks? And I just recently saw them live and they blew me away. One of the best gigs ever. Don't miss them if you get the chance. Expand
  13. MarkL.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    An Amazing Follow to The Back Room. Could be the Cd of the year
  14. MycroftW
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    All the best tracks sound like versions of Munich, which makes these guys a bit of a one-trick pony. Nevertheless it's a trick well executed and diversity is not necessarily a virtue either
  15. Sel
    Jul 17, 2007
    9
    This is a great album. A serious contender for the best of 2007.
  16. Daaf
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    Brilliant album.
  17. BrookeO.
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    Terrific second album from this band showing growth, maturity, and a willingness to express themselves and take chances. At this point the Interpol/Killers...etc comparisons are superflurous as the Editors show themselves to be a different beast altogether. I would put them in the British Sea Power "Open Season" camp or even early REM or Smiths...something like that, but entirely original Terrific second album from this band showing growth, maturity, and a willingness to express themselves and take chances. At this point the Interpol/Killers...etc comparisons are superflurous as the Editors show themselves to be a different beast altogether. I would put them in the British Sea Power "Open Season" camp or even early REM or Smiths...something like that, but entirely original at this point. C' mon folks..."Smokers outside the Hospital Doors", "An End Has a Start", and "Escape the Nest" are absolute classic songs. I was originally looking forward to the Interpol album, but after hearing both, Editors is in my cd player every day, Interpol sits on the shelf already collecting a layer of dust. Expand
  18. nickA
    Jul 20, 2007
    9
    I yearn for the day when those who critique albums will stop uselessly comparing them to other albums by other bands. This album is a departure from their previous, but still a fantastic work of art, full of 10 strong cuts; all of which should be judged on their own merit.
  19. Cat
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    Emotional and Uplifting. Great follow-up to there debut.
  20. RichJ
    Aug 22, 2007
    7
    While Editors' sound has definetly changed from their debut, An End Has a Start is still a solid and well-rounded album. Catchy danceable tracks like the title track and "Bones" are complimented by slower, sentimental tracks, "Well Worn Hands", "Push Your Head Towards the Air". The band, as in the debut, still sounds strongest during their faster and more uplifting tracks, but the While Editors' sound has definetly changed from their debut, An End Has a Start is still a solid and well-rounded album. Catchy danceable tracks like the title track and "Bones" are complimented by slower, sentimental tracks, "Well Worn Hands", "Push Your Head Towards the Air". The band, as in the debut, still sounds strongest during their faster and more uplifting tracks, but the album still sounds good as a whole and its easy to listen through without wanting to skip over anything. Expand
  21. Jurgend.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    Best indie album of 2007.
  22. DecepticonPom
    Oct 12, 2007
    5
    M'eh!
  23. AndyW
    Jul 11, 2007
    5
    It's too bad, these guys had something. Even though, The Back Room wasn't an amazing album, it still showed they had potential of being something. But after this record, I'm pretty disappointed with the result. Some songs are just way too overproduced and fall flat. And the lyrics on this record are terrible. The only songs worthy of praising are "Escape the Nest", "The It's too bad, these guys had something. Even though, The Back Room wasn't an amazing album, it still showed they had potential of being something. But after this record, I'm pretty disappointed with the result. Some songs are just way too overproduced and fall flat. And the lyrics on this record are terrible. The only songs worthy of praising are "Escape the Nest", "The Racing Rats", and the title track. Expand
  24. ChanceyM.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    I like Playlouder's review; I also shat my pants. I loved The Back Room... I like An End Has A Start better.
  25. Garrett
    Jul 17, 2007
    9
    It's a tight album and one of the best I've heard so far this year. It's not my favorite album out of the UK this year (that would be the new Art Brut) but I certainly think this album is better than the debut.
  26. Steve
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Terrific once again. A worthwhile investment.
  27. EdwardD
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    A true musical gem! Wonderful album to listen to.
  28. AC
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    A fine follow-up to there stellar debut "The Back Room". In my opinion one of the best debuts in the last 10 years. So, my expectations for this were pretty high and in the end I was disappointed. Smokers Outside the Hospital Doors is a catchy, melodic opening track, followed by the ultra solid AEHAS, so, basically all the songs are pretty consistent except for Well Worn Hand. It A fine follow-up to there stellar debut "The Back Room". In my opinion one of the best debuts in the last 10 years. So, my expectations for this were pretty high and in the end I was disappointed. Smokers Outside the Hospital Doors is a catchy, melodic opening track, followed by the ultra solid AEHAS, so, basically all the songs are pretty consistent except for Well Worn Hand. It isn't a bad song, it just kind of brings the down the energy of the album a tiny bit. When Anger Shows & Escape the Nest have to be two of the most epic, powerful songs I've heard in quite sometime. Oh!, another thing, Tom's vocals have improved significantly especially in songs like The Weight of the World and When Anger Shows. All in all, this is a great album. Even though, I don't think it's better than there debut. It proves that the Editors are definitely here to stay and are one of the best bands in the world. I can't believe this only has a 64 on this website, once again it shows that critics don't know anything. Great job guys, here's to another great album. Expand
  29. nickc
    Jul 29, 2007
    2
    Bunk. While not as much of a complete rip-off of Interpol and the Smiths as their debut, Editors new release just goes to show what hype does to music: celebrate bands with hit-potential that have absolutely no soul or backbone. This CD will be critically acclaimed in 2007, and be all but forgotten by 2010.
  30. SteveH
    Jul 31, 2007
    6
    Not much to say about the editors album itself, but that quote from the playlouder review is one of the best that's ever been written! :)
  31. Kirby
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    This and Arcade Fire's Neon Bible are the two crowning jewels of 2007. A marvelous album from beginning to end, ignore all the stupid comparisons to other bands. With this album the Editors have found there own sound. Escape The Nest and When Anger Shows are bound to be Rock classics. "An End Has A Start" is truly a must buy.
  32. Shay
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    A beautfiul, thrilling epic second album by the boys of Birmingham, England. They've really stepped up there game to whole another level. Each song is different from the other and they all sound incredible especially Bones and Weight of the World. This is no sophmore slump whatsoever. This is a great, great album.
  33. TravisJ
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    This album is so good that I haven't been this emotionally moved by an album since Springsteen's Born To Run came out in 75 and that's saying alot. This band has gone the ultimate distance with this wonderful follow-up to the Back Room and have left all there musical peers in the dust... amazed.
  34. RobertD
    Jul 6, 2007
    6
    i really really was hoping for something similar to 'the back room'.. but i just didnt get it. theres just not enough to get excited about here... most of these tracks are pretty forgettable.. aside from 'end has a start' and 'smokers behind hospital doors'
  35. ChrisD
    Aug 23, 2007
    5
    With a dearth of any truly new albums to review, this one (released in June) came to me courtesy of Strange Scottish Girl. The Editors are a Birmingham (not Alabama) quartet who hit in 2005 with their debut
  36. DavidH.
    Nov 17, 2007
    8
    A truly great follow-up to the exceptional 'in the back room' they seem to have matured well, produces songs with such epic quailty! the only criticism is that the album is slightly too depressing in places, songs like weight of the world are bogged down and dreary. Overall though, the album is again a solid effort, if slightly less than the debut; it still features some of A truly great follow-up to the exceptional 'in the back room' they seem to have matured well, produces songs with such epic quailty! the only criticism is that the album is slightly too depressing in places, songs like weight of the world are bogged down and dreary. Overall though, the album is again a solid effort, if slightly less than the debut; it still features some of their best songs yet. A great achievement! best songs- smokers outside the hospital doors, an end has a start, when anger shows, the racing rats, escape the nest and spiders. Collapse
  37. NojY
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    I really love this album. It gets a little slow in the middle but nonetheless probably my favorite album of the year so far.
  38. AlexF
    Jul 16, 2007
    7
    Decent enough, but it sounds way too similar to The Back Room. I expected more development.
  39. Lucky
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Truly beautiful and spectacular in every possible way. Editors are one of the best bands I've listened to in the last 20 years and this album proves my point. "An End Has A Start" is what a sophmore album shoud be.
  40. ralphs.
    Jul 18, 2007
    1
    This album is void of anything genuine; it sounds so derivative, like one had the most popular albums from 4 years ago only, listened to them over and over again in a week's time then rushed an album together in few days, always checking to see if the songs sound exactly the same.... forget the comparisons to Joy Division, this band of poseurs is so not in their league... And forget This album is void of anything genuine; it sounds so derivative, like one had the most popular albums from 4 years ago only, listened to them over and over again in a week's time then rushed an album together in few days, always checking to see if the songs sound exactly the same.... forget the comparisons to Joy Division, this band of poseurs is so not in their league... And forget the comparisons to Interpol, Editors cannot hold a candle to Interpol, and that by no means is praise for Interpol either. Expand
  41. PatS.
    Jul 18, 2007
    1
    This is terrible music for over-serious, middle-class college students. It's OK to have a sound similar to your influences if you do something with it, but these guys dont. Simply put, this sh*t is just so f*cking dull it makes Coldplay look thrilling.
  42. TLW
    Jul 21, 2007
    4
    The allusions to Joy Division are way overblown. For all it's furrow-browed posturing this is just more music to compliment expensive furniture for the more pretentious middle-class consumer. It tries to be sincere, but the billowing, one-eye-on-U2 sound comes over as more than a little calculated. Doubtless it ticks all the right boxes for its intended audience though.
  43. jimm
    Jul 21, 2007
    1
    Middle class poseurs... hey Tom Smith, get your own thing and quit biting on everyone else's... and if you can't write songs maybe you just shouldn't be in a band.
  44. LynnC
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    Very Echo & B/Interpol sounding, but I like it. Kinda of surprised at the negative reviews.
  45. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    A very decent follow up to their debut, this has a bigger, grander sound but lacks the hooks and riffs that were ever present throughout The Back Room. It's a progression in the sense that this record aims for a higher return and wider audience while at the same time trying to stay true to their original style.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Occassionally, the songwriting does contain flashes of thoughtfulness.
  2. An End Has a Start actually sounds like it was crafted as ten quite individual chapters of a long-running saga; surprisingly, though, it ultimately works better than its predecessor as a cohesive, flowing album.
  3. By producing a more polished, more accomplished sheen while The Killers have roughed themselves up and forgotten to shave, the two bands have moved towards a middle ground where they're virtually indistinguishable.