An Object

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Aug 20, 2013
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    No Age has made an album devoid of joy, yet I couldn’t help but smile when listening to it.
  2. Yes, the lack of production and general scuzziness of the record is reminiscent of what we’d like to hear from No Age, but aside from this the music lacks excitement and inspiration.
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    60
    It’s not quite clear yet whether No Age really know what kind of music they want to make, or how to make it.
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    60
    Most of the music is fiercely restrained, characterized by short songs, skeletal atmospheres, and performances that have a mechanistic, flatlined intensity. Bad? No, but stiff, and sapped of the dynamism the twosome seemed to come by so naturally in the past.
  5. Aug 15, 2013
    60
    On An Object, No Age push their weakest attributes firmly into the spotlight; a move indirectly admirable for its continued ambition, but one which makes you wish they’d go back to being punk rock, rather than just punk.
  6. Mojo
    Aug 12, 2013
    60
    Even on a transitional work, No Age's spirit of adventure is its own reward. [Sep 2013, p.89]
  7. Aug 12, 2013
    60
    While there are times when the band seems complacent, they still have plenty of sounds left to explore and destroy.
  8. Q Magazine
    Jan 27, 2014
    40
    With songs this weak, Randall's Norfolk-flat voice has nowhere to hide. [Oct 2013, p.107]
  9. Aug 15, 2013
    40
    They don't half make liberation and self-dependency sound miserable.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    So I read all this mixed reviews about this album before I got a chance to listen to it myself. It kind of skewed my perception from theSo I read all this mixed reviews about this album before I got a chance to listen to it myself. It kind of skewed my perception from the gates, predisposed me to not really give it a chance, to just kind of think it was blah. But a funny thing happened when I listened to this record, I really like it. No doubt it is different from their previous albums and material. At first I didnt know what to make of it. But then I caught myself nodding my head and tapping my feet along with the music. And you know what I made up my own opinion and I really like this album. It is growing on me with each subsequent listen. I reccommend this album to any No Age fan. Dont be thrown off by how it is different, dont get caught up in the reviews of this album. Listen to it, with open ears and as much a blank slate as possible and you will be surprised to find that this is a really outstanding album that takes creative risks and says what it has to say in a unique voice. I cant stop listening to this album! I find new little wrinkles each time that I listen. Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    5
    As the band that recorded Weirdo Rippers and Nouns, An Object does not necessarily strike you as the work of the same group. Gone is the noiseAs the band that recorded Weirdo Rippers and Nouns, An Object does not necessarily strike you as the work of the same group. Gone is the noise background and reverb, and what we are left with painfully disappoints. What bothers me the most are the vocals. It may be that they are mixed higher so you can hear the imperfection in their singing, but No Ages delivery on vocals seem bored and lazy, and since they dominate the soundscape the entire album feels drab. The best moments on this album are when No Age actually moves away from their old sound, instead of half assing, such as on C'mon Stimmung, which sounds ferocious with roaring guitar and crashing cymbals. Without some of these primal punk elements on the rest of the tracks, it seems like punk without the energy, and what is that? Full Review »