An Omen EP - How to Destroy Angels
An  Omen EP Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The six-track EP is the second release for the Trent Reznor project with his wife, Atticus Ross, and Rob Sheridan.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    "Ice Age" is one of six songs on the group's fantastic new EP, and it stands out for singer Mariqueen Maandig's wisp of a voice.
  2. 83
    With Atticus Ross, Reznor pieces together wintry electronic headphone epics and deftly threads Maandig's ghostly sensuality into enigmatic tapestries. [30 Nov 2012, p.73]
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    A deeply unsettling, murky digital fog of a release. It's also brilliant. [24 Nov 2012, p.54]
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    Even if How to destroy angels_ are simply tweaking a long-established formula, rather than clearing the chalkboard, An Omen_ still presents a band that has mastered the task at hand.
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    If it's not wholly satisfying as an EP, blame that entirely on how it winds up showcasing promise: hearing it, you want to know what How to Destroy Angels will do over the course of a full album.
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    This EP is not a singles-ready collection, nor should it be. Instead, the atmospheric songs do their part to transport the listener to another mood or mindset.
  7. 60
    The EP's major aesthetic shifts do lead to one issue: the lack of a core or soul to How to destroy angels_, a shortcoming which will hopefully be resolved on the outfit's forthcoming long-player.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    How To Destroy Angels released their first EP back in 2010 and the only real fault I could find with their debut was that it sounded too much like Trent Reznor's other work, just with female vocals. This second EP definitely strays from Trent's normal sound but rather then settle on a sound of their own An Omen feels like Trent and his wife Mariqueen are wandering the wilderness in search of themselves. This becomes clear as soon as you hear the opening track "Keep it Together". It's minimalist and lacks any kind of real melody, a description that can be applied to the rest of the EP as well. In general, while enjoyable, An Omen feels like it's made by lost musicians; people doing what they enjoy but lacking direction at the same time. The second track, "Ice Age", stands as the high point with the rest of the EP lacking anything to make it particularly memorable. An Omen works quite well as background noise, but lacks the strength or spirit of an album that you actually feel like listening to. Hopefully How To Destroy Angels can find the sound they are looking for by the time they release their first full length album. Collapse
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    The first EP from How to Destroy Angels was, in fact, a fabulous mix of seduction and romanticism with a certain adrenaline. It wasn't an aggressive album although it was powerful in its own way. This Omen EP is somewhat flawed: there are no songs that will stick to your memory for days or even songs that will make check their names as they play on iTunes, but you can't say you didn't like it. For better or for worse, it's an album that you'll forget in a year but still an album you should be listening for a few days. Expand