An Other Cup

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 2 out of 44

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. swatijr
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    it's been too long. i appreciate this man as a being and being full of talent that needs to be expressed and heard. his message expresses what many felt before and still feel. it is a timely return and "come back." his spirituality and positivity, yet deep introspection is apparent. it's the cat we've always loved. and still do. i look forward to seeing what comes next. it's been too long. i appreciate this man as a being and being full of talent that needs to be expressed and heard. his message expresses what many felt before and still feel. it is a timely return and "come back." his spirituality and positivity, yet deep introspection is apparent. it's the cat we've always loved. and still do. i look forward to seeing what comes next. let's hope it's not another 28 yrs! Expand
  2. catsfan
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    I am too youbg to be a cat steven fan. but after listening to the album few times and making sense of it. i will say that the mass media didnt give cats his due. this album is terrific. the message in it is amazing. its very simple and universal. the man is muslim so its natural for him to refer to his faith. i recommend this album for all
  3. AlbertF.
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    Cat's still got it - he can still write catchy melodies with thought-provoking and spiritual messages. He hasn't lost a beat, despite a 28-year hiatus from pop music. My only disappointment is that two of his best recent songs, "Indian Ocean" and "The Wind East and West" were omiited.
  4. NurJ.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    Superb. Yusuf's songwriting has aged, like fine wine. Peaceful, sure, and deeply contemplative. He must be a Sufi!
  5. JackA
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    Amazing, just amazing, where where you Yusuf?
  6. ghadeer
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    great
  7. CyrenaA
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    The best album of the year!!!! Nothing more mellow and true than Yusuf Islam's An Other Cup
  8. BiffB
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Time has matured this musician like no other. This is some of his best work - his voice is not like most oldies trying to make a comeback - Cat, er, Yusuf is for real.
  9. on
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    brilliant
  10. TomR
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Best music since many years. The cat is back.
  11. VivT
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    Superb and have missed his music so much. Just one track I'm not sure of... otherwise inspirational
  12. NabeelA
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    Excellent. In the midst of world upheavel, Islam has come out right.
  13. BruceD
    Jan 6, 2007
    9
    More than plesantly surprised! Yusef has matured and settled in himself and his faith since his days as Cat Stevens. The songs are well crafted, the arrangements elegantly simple, and the voice a tad worn but just as sonorous as it was 30 years ago. After ending with the frantic, frustrated "Back to Earth" and "Izitso," it's great to hear the echo of "Tea for the Tillerman" and More than plesantly surprised! Yusef has matured and settled in himself and his faith since his days as Cat Stevens. The songs are well crafted, the arrangements elegantly simple, and the voice a tad worn but just as sonorous as it was 30 years ago. After ending with the frantic, frustrated "Back to Earth" and "Izitso," it's great to hear the echo of "Tea for the Tillerman" and "Teaser and the Firecat" again. This collection will grow on you fast. Welcome back!! Expand
  14. JavierC
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Honest, brilliant, strong
  15. RussT
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    I think this is an EXCELLENT way to pick up where he left off. I really hope he makes more recordings. Now that Lennon is gone, very few artists that I know of are dedicated to peace the way Yusuf is. Glad he's back and what took him so long??
  16. MarcM
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    This album a milestone in the natural progession of Cat's spiritual journey. His talent, well showcased here, is undeniable and makes his critics come to terms with their own sense of integrity. Any true Cat Stevens fan can see that it is difficult for folks to recognize good work/artistry from someone just because he is a muslim.
  17. DavidG
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    Just Great
  18. JamesD
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    The Cat Is Back!
  19. CraigB
    Dec 8, 2006
    8
    Wonderful surprise. I told my wife as I was about to pop it into my CD player that I could take a little mideast twang but hoped to hear some Cat as well. I heard both and the message of acceptance of fellow man and living together is more than needed in music today and much welcomed.
  20. IftikharA
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    Wonderful
  21. purrrrmeow
    Nov 24, 2006
    8
    Yes his voice seems less powerful...perhaps his passion for singing is not as strong as it was when he was younger.....but...i have listened to this album now about 5 or 6 times now and I love it. It is uplifting, interesting and masterfully crafted.....bravo Yusuf..........I am looking forward to more new music to come from you and possibly a concert tour in the US, because I will be one Yes his voice seems less powerful...perhaps his passion for singing is not as strong as it was when he was younger.....but...i have listened to this album now about 5 or 6 times now and I love it. It is uplifting, interesting and masterfully crafted.....bravo Yusuf..........I am looking forward to more new music to come from you and possibly a concert tour in the US, because I will be one of the first in line! Expand
  22. Alanpartrigde
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Great comeback! introspective lyrics with catchy melodies here are the hallmark of Cat/Yusuf. Only this time more mature and having found himself. Shallow minded listeners of today's trash music may find the man from the sensitive seventies hard to understand.
  23. JonM.
    Nov 20, 2006
    8
    Not bad..if you're a Cat Stevens (or Yusuf) fan, you'll enjoy it as it is his first album in 28 years. If you are unfamiliar with Cat/Yusuf, your best bet is to listen to the early stuff, and only if you enjoy that, listen to this album.
  24. JonathanK
    Nov 20, 2006
    8
    A welcome and long-awaited pleasure.
  25. ChadM
    Nov 20, 2006
    8
    If you are a Cat Stevens fan, this is a must have. It is by no means his best album, but at the same time it is better than Back To Earth, Numbers and Izitso. It is a pretty solid effort considering he has been out of the business for so long even though it does have alot of religious under/over tones to it. He stays with his old sound that made him famous and for the most part the album works.
  26. YasirS
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    Its the best of the 70's.
  27. ToddW
    Nov 16, 2006
    7
    While this offering doesn't rank with the best of his pre-Islamic conversion tour-de-force's "Teaser and the Firecat" or "Tea for the Tillerman," it's still heartening to hear one of popular music's most distinctive voices from the distant past give it another go at a time when it is desperately welcome. Allah knows we could use more clarity and less garbage on our While this offering doesn't rank with the best of his pre-Islamic conversion tour-de-force's "Teaser and the Firecat" or "Tea for the Tillerman," it's still heartening to hear one of popular music's most distinctive voices from the distant past give it another go at a time when it is desperately welcome. Allah knows we could use more clarity and less garbage on our cultural airwaves. Yusuf has lost nothing vocally and he still sings songs with an underlying spiritual message, as he did back in the 1970's as Cat Stevens. Of course, for that reason it won't sell a cup full of beans, because it has nothing immediate and gratifying to offer the brainwashed sheep. That and the fact that he, horrors!, now records under an Islamic name. The no-minds will probably think his royalties are going to terrorists. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    The folky arrangements, melancholic singing, and romantic worldview of his early work are intact. [17 Nov 2006, p.127]
  2. Sufferable for sure, but hard to recommend.
  3. Forty-four minutes of welcome surprise.