• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 43
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 43
  3. Negative: 2 out of 43

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NabeelA
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    Excellent. In the midst of world upheavel, Islam has come out right.
  2. AlbertF.
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    Cat's still got it - he can still write catchy melodies with thought-provoking and spiritual messages. He hasn't lost a beat, despite a 28-year hiatus from pop music. My only disappointment is that two of his best recent songs, "Indian Ocean" and "The Wind East and West" were omiited.
  3. catsfan
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    I am too youbg to be a cat steven fan. but after listening to the album few times and making sense of it. i will say that the mass media didnt give cats his due. this album is terrific. the message in it is amazing. its very simple and universal. the man is muslim so its natural for him to refer to his faith. i recommend this album for all
  4. DavidG
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    Just Great
  5. VivT
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    Superb and have missed his music so much. Just one track I'm not sure of... otherwise inspirational
  6. on
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    brilliant
  7. NurJ.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    Superb. Yusuf's songwriting has aged, like fine wine. Peaceful, sure, and deeply contemplative. He must be a Sufi!
  8. swatijr
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    it's been too long. i appreciate this man as a being and being full of talent that needs to be expressed and heard. his message expresses what many felt before and still feel. it is a timely return and "come back." his spirituality and positivity, yet deep introspection is apparent. it's the cat we've always loved. and still do. i look forward to seeing what comes next. it's been too long. i appreciate this man as a being and being full of talent that needs to be expressed and heard. his message expresses what many felt before and still feel. it is a timely return and "come back." his spirituality and positivity, yet deep introspection is apparent. it's the cat we've always loved. and still do. i look forward to seeing what comes next. let's hope it's not another 28 yrs! Expand
  9. YasirS
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    Its the best of the 70's.
  10. IftikharA
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    Wonderful
  11. RussT
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    I think this is an EXCELLENT way to pick up where he left off. I really hope he makes more recordings. Now that Lennon is gone, very few artists that I know of are dedicated to peace the way Yusuf is. Glad he's back and what took him so long??
  12. JavierC
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Honest, brilliant, strong
  13. BruceD
    Jan 6, 2007
    9
    More than plesantly surprised! Yusef has matured and settled in himself and his faith since his days as Cat Stevens. The songs are well crafted, the arrangements elegantly simple, and the voice a tad worn but just as sonorous as it was 30 years ago. After ending with the frantic, frustrated "Back to Earth" and "Izitso," it's great to hear the echo of "Tea for the Tillerman" and More than plesantly surprised! Yusef has matured and settled in himself and his faith since his days as Cat Stevens. The songs are well crafted, the arrangements elegantly simple, and the voice a tad worn but just as sonorous as it was 30 years ago. After ending with the frantic, frustrated "Back to Earth" and "Izitso," it's great to hear the echo of "Tea for the Tillerman" and "Teaser and the Firecat" again. This collection will grow on you fast. Welcome back!! Expand
  14. ghadeer
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    great
  15. JackA
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    Amazing, just amazing, where where you Yusuf?
  16. JamesD
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    The Cat Is Back!
  17. TomR
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Best music since many years. The cat is back.
  18. BiffB
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Time has matured this musician like no other. This is some of his best work - his voice is not like most oldies trying to make a comeback - Cat, er, Yusuf is for real.
  19. CyrenaA
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    The best album of the year!!!! Nothing more mellow and true than Yusuf Islam's An Other Cup
  20. Alanpartrigde
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Great comeback! introspective lyrics with catchy melodies here are the hallmark of Cat/Yusuf. Only this time more mature and having found himself. Shallow minded listeners of today's trash music may find the man from the sensitive seventies hard to understand.
  21. MarcM
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    This album a milestone in the natural progession of Cat's spiritual journey. His talent, well showcased here, is undeniable and makes his critics come to terms with their own sense of integrity. Any true Cat Stevens fan can see that it is difficult for folks to recognize good work/artistry from someone just because he is a muslim.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. The folky arrangements, melancholic singing, and romantic worldview of his early work are intact. [17 Nov 2006, p.127]
  2. Sufferable for sure, but hard to recommend.
  3. Forty-four minutes of welcome surprise.