Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Anarchy, My Dear is a record that promises that anything could happen at anytime, and Bemis and company do their very best to shake up what has been expected from them as a band.
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    70
    The album creates a nice contrast between the pleasant melodies of the songs and the seething, dissatisfied lyrics that rest on top of them.
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    Unlike on Say Anything, though, DuPree-Bemis' presence this time around feels less shoehorned in, helping contribute to a loose, lively, fun record.
  4. 70
    While the album may leave some longtime fans pining for their beloved band of yesteryear, those who are willing to listen with open minds (and ears) will soon realize that Say Anything hasn't lost any of its true musical identity, but simply expanded upon it.
  5. 30
    Parts of Anarchy, My Dear feel so unedited that it gets a little embarrassing for the listener, but when Say Anything collects itself, it has something to say.
  6. 83
    Like a good long-distance run, Anarchy rewards with bursts of sonic endorphins. [16 Mar 2012, p.69]
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    A fantastic record that edits down everything they've done to its essence without dilution.
  8. Mar 12, 2012
    80
    Say Anything have always been a hard pill to swallow for some, and while Anarchy doesn't change that, it shows that they have far more than just the one spanner in the toolbox.
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    50
    The biggest problem with "Admit It Again," and Anarchy, My Dear as a whole, is that its smart-ass barbs aren't aimed with the kind of precision that separates biting wit from regular old meanness.
  10. Mar 26, 2012
    50
    The problem is that the rantier Bemis gets about poseurs, the more he forgets to write hooks for his invectives, which strive for Real Boy's Broadway-punk propulsive grace, but strain under the weight of unsingable lines.
  11. Mar 12, 2012
    20
    Anarchy, My Dear fails because it tries to recapture things that Bemis just doesn't seem to have right now--true discontentment and anger and venom.
  12. Mar 13, 2012
    67
    Max Bemis has padded Anarchy with lushness, delicacy, and nuance. The problem is, Bemis' nuance screeches louder than distortion.
  13. Mar 28, 2012
    63
    Initially, the album seems to lack focus, save a steady burn of fury. But the anarchy's in the lack of cohesion, opening with the hand-clapping force of "Burn a Miracle" and progressing manically toward the melodic woe of "Peace Out".
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It's funny how the negative reviews on the critic's side say that Bemis has nothing to have 'venom' about because much of his spite in thisIt's funny how the negative reviews on the critic's side say that Bemis has nothing to have 'venom' about because much of his spite in this record is aimed towards critics like them. Also, just because an artist got their life together after years of depression doesn't mean that he or she can't write music that's just as passionate as it ever was. Do yourself a favor and don't listen to the critics on this one. They never say anything good anyway. It's probably because most of them are bitter and don't know how to transmit their emotions into something memorable, like real artists do. Max Bemis continues to do just that with this album. Full Review »
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    8
    Personally, I didn't enjoy this album, but only because I like 'old' Say Anything, back in Baseball and Real Boy days. I liked the old-schoolPersonally, I didn't enjoy this album, but only because I like 'old' Say Anything, back in Baseball and Real Boy days. I liked the old-school punk feeling from those albums. That's sort of a reason I didn't like this album, because of it's absence of old-school Say Anything feeling. However, I'm giving it a positive review because I still love the band, and their music still has a lot of passion and meaning to them. So, it might not have been what I was hoping for, but it's still a good album for what it is. Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    5
    This wouldn't have been so bad if Bemis hadn't completely lied about its premise in the months leading up to its release. That being said,This wouldn't have been so bad if Bemis hadn't completely lied about its premise in the months leading up to its release. That being said, it's not very good either way. "The Stephen Hawking" and the title song "Anarchy, My Dear" are the crowning jewels of this release, and everything else feels like filler. Full Review »