Anastasis - Dead Can Dance
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    86
    Anastasis is a positively rapturous return for the Dionysus and Aphrodite of modern musical transcendence.
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    83
    Anastasis' musical world isn't insular or sealed off; it's the rare album meant for longtime fans that is also accessible to new listeners.
  3. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    Dark subjects [apocalypse], perhaps, but surprisingly enjoyable all the same. [Oct 2012, p.97]
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    80
    The split between Perry and Gerrard's singing parts remains distinct not only vocally, but for the different subjects each explores. That could be a stumbling block in other hands, but always seems to bring out the best where these two are concerned.
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    From the first few notes, it's clear that the duo's signature blend of worldbeat rhythms and ancient melodies with rich electronic atmospheres is still potent, if leaning toward the synthesized side of DCD's lush sound.
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    DCD's uncompromising imagination can make it hard to jump into Anastasis, which can seem like an intimidating set of daunting, complex tracks that run six minutes or longer. But that just comes with the territory as Dead Can Dance sticks to its timeless principles.
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    63
    With this less melodramatic, late-period Dance Can Dance, the finer things are encoded in the details.
  8. Sep 14, 2012
    60
    The duo's artfully woven sonic tapestry is somewhat spoiled by the po-faced new age banalities of their lyrics. [Oct 2012, p.74]
  9. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    While Anastasis is typified by lengthy songs and sometimes rather ponderous beats, Gerald is in her element on Kiko. [Sep 2012, p.95]
  10. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    This album could be hypnotic--if only it plodded less and soared more.
  11. 60
    The album isn't wildly new, which could either please or possibly dismay dedicated DCD fans.
  12. "Anastasis" is the Greek word for "resurrection", but stasis is closer to the truth.
  13. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    Anastasis will more than likely please longtime fans--and to be fair that is who it seems geared to--rather than win many new ones.
  14. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    Anastasis is certainly an accomplished record and one that fits well within Dead Can Dance's output, but it is a hard listen.
  15. Aug 29, 2012
    54
    Anastasis demands intense, patient listening, though it rarely rewards it.
  16. Aug 29, 2012
    40
    They're still doing that brooding medieval ambient pop thing, but with less drama and inventiveness.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Simply and exquisitely divine. This work shows that both Brendan Perry and Lisa Gerrard have grown musically during their solo periods. I couldn't be happier that they are reunited, and this album was worth the wait! If you have ever enjoyed a Dead Can Dance song in the past, you will definitely enjoy this album! Full Review »
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    9
    A glorious return to form. It's almost as if their voices have gotten even better with age. Brendan's deeper and more mature sounding to Lisa's effortless and hauntingly beautiful. I saw them live in Chicago and they really jammed. They played every song off of this album. They opened with "Children of the Sun" just like the album and it made for an appropriate opener. I ordered a deluxe box set in which the cd came with along with a credit card sized unit with an sd card chip that rotates open on one side that goes into a usb slot. Wow. What amazing sound quality. It's rated at 24-bit 192 khz and I can tell the difference between it and the cd. It's the best sound quality I have ever heard at home. Ever. Of course having a pricey high-fidelity sound card doesn't hurt either. I wonder if more artists will do this sort of thing as popular computer audio is these days. Ok, back to the album. I think I gave it a fair score. It's not my favorite of theirs, but definitely not my least favorite. It's not commercial sounding. It's not overly produced. The lyrics are decent to pretty good. But I think the heart of the goodness on this album is it's song structure, sound quality, and their voices have, perhaps, never sounded better. Some stand out tracks appear more and more added with each or at least more listens to it. It's not often you can hear artists come back into the studio in over 15 years with an album that sounds this damn good. To any Dead Can Dance fan out there, this is a must have. Also, try and catch them on tour if you can. They most definitely "still got it." Full Review »