Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    100
    Most of all, I'd like to list Angels Of Darkness, Demons Of Light: 1 amongst the ever-expanding and illustrious list of rock n' roll's most important albums.
  2. Mar 10, 2011
    72
    From behind her kit, Adrienne Davies keeps slow-mo time as new member Karl Blau thickly kneads deep ribbons of rumbling bass that counter Dylan Carlson's stately, dark holler melodies. The new moon suits them well.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light 1 is not just an inevitable player in album of the year discussions for those with more avant garde tastes; it's yet more proof of Earth's symptomatic tendency to continuously re-evaluate their own legacy and drag themselves forward simultaneously.
  4. 70
    The guitarist Dylan Carlson is still Earth's leader, playing slow themes over and over with minimal improvisation on Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light I (Southern Lord), the first of a projected two-parter; but now the cellist Lori Goldston has joined the group, putting an achy drone into the long, dark, peaceful songs.
  5. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light 1 invites its listeners into that silent continuum that makes music whole.
  6. 80
    Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light 1 contains some of the finest work Earth has produced to date.
  7. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    Profoundly thoughtful music that's moved on from drone metal beginnings.
  8. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light, Vol. 1 represents a further shift in Earth's evolution. It is darker -- even sinister -- and undoubtedly heavier than Bees, but it is more seductive with its mantra-like droning repetition and more elegantly detailed in its textural dimension.
  9. Feb 22, 2011
    60
    He's produced an album that takes his current style just about as far as it can go. At the very least, those who have followed him this far should be satisfied.
  10. Feb 17, 2011
    100
    This is Earth's best-realised work to date – stunning stuff.
  11. Feb 14, 2011
    80
    Earth's continued trudge into beatific wilderness sees Dylan Carlson return to territory traversed by the desolate windswept tundras.
  12. Feb 14, 2011
    79
    The intricacies of this Earth -- Carlson's harmonics and harmonies, Davies' careful builds, Blau's unexpected bass maneuvers, Goldston's adventurous versatility -- demand attention and immersion.
  13. Feb 8, 2011
    60
    While Carlson and company continue to explore new influences (much has been made over the band's recent declaration of affection for Pentangle and Fairport Convention), Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light 1 sounds to me like a different manifestation of the same sound they've been exploring for some time now.
  14. Apr 4, 2011
    80
    Hellswinter refrains from overdosing on distortion before the title track's 20 minutes of funereal beauty. [Mar 2011, p.99]
  15. Mar 1, 2011
    80
    Earth may no longer startle, but against the odds Carlson survives, and this engaging dignified music is both testament and soundtrack to that survival. [Feb 2011, p.50]
  16. Feb 18, 2011
    80
    The result steers closer to accessibility than ever before, without diminishing the understated power of their strangely serene heat-haze atmospherics. [29 Jan 2011, p.54]
  17. Feb 15, 2011
    80
    Angels is spacier than previous outings, nowhere more so than the semi-improvised 20-minute title track. [Mar 2011, p.88]
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Feb 25, 2011
    3
    I just can't get into stuff like this, I've tried but I really can't get into it. I just get bored and kind of annoyed when I listen to stuffI just can't get into stuff like this, I've tried but I really can't get into it. I just get bored and kind of annoyed when I listen to stuff like this. Full Review »
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    8
    Not too much different from the previous album, but the 20 minute self titled track is the best thing I've heard all year. This is aNot too much different from the previous album, but the 20 minute self titled track is the best thing I've heard all year. This is a beautifully atmospheric, relaxing album that sucks you in. Although, I don't feel like the cello did that much good on it, but it's still goes well with the rest of the instrumentation. Full Review »