Angles

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2011
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 195
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2012
    5
    Under Cover of Darkness, Taken for a Fool and Gratisfaction are the only great songs in Angles, the rest is complete and utter **** And even these three songs could have been a lot better, I'd say the recording style had a lot to do with it, the songs feel disconnected and at times nonsensical because of it.

    Truly a huge disappointment, I honestly thought this would be their comeback,
    Under Cover of Darkness, Taken for a Fool and Gratisfaction are the only great songs in Angles, the rest is complete and utter **** And even these three songs could have been a lot better, I'd say the recording style had a lot to do with it, the songs feel disconnected and at times nonsensical because of it.

    Truly a huge disappointment, I honestly thought this would be their comeback, guess I was wrong. Gratisfaction and Taken for a Fool seem like the only fresh tunes while still retaining some of that old Strokes feel to them.
    Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    The Strokes return is marred by their recording process. According to the band themselves, they were all involved in the song writing process (whereas Julian wrote the majority of everything previously) and Julian recorded his vocals separately from the band in many instances. You can really tell the band is disjointed and Julian's vocals often seen to float above the music. However, thereThe Strokes return is marred by their recording process. According to the band themselves, they were all involved in the song writing process (whereas Julian wrote the majority of everything previously) and Julian recorded his vocals separately from the band in many instances. You can really tell the band is disjointed and Julian's vocals often seen to float above the music. However, there are some highlights. "Machu Piccu" has a nice reggae feel. "Under the Cover of Darkness" is a classic sounding Strokes song. The standouts are "Gratisfaction" and "Taken for a Fool" sounds both classic and fresh. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2011
    6
    The first signs were good, as pre-release single "Under Cover Of Darkness" was a classic stab of the lean and spiky pop of 2001, and with the benefit of Julian Casablancas' improved vocal, seemed to promise a new vitality we hadn't heard for about 10 years.Appetite whetted, it comes as a huge disappointment that "Angles" never once lives up to the promise of the leadoff single. Whilst notThe first signs were good, as pre-release single "Under Cover Of Darkness" was a classic stab of the lean and spiky pop of 2001, and with the benefit of Julian Casablancas' improved vocal, seemed to promise a new vitality we hadn't heard for about 10 years.Appetite whetted, it comes as a huge disappointment that "Angles" never once lives up to the promise of the leadoff single. Whilst not a bad recording, too much time apart forging their solo careers via subtle twists on alternative music has left the band creatively rudderless and their compositions limply hanging on by aping early 80s pop and new wave acts. An instant backfire arrives via the lightweight opener "Machu Picchu", where both guitars and drums attempt a clipped unconvincing dance rhythm and deliver what can only be described as the sound of a Nik Kershaw b-side to "Wide Boy", "When A Heart Beats" or something equally facile. If A-ha ever investigated where their influence has spread to, then look no further than "Games". Far more appealing is "Two Kinds Of Happiness" which recalls Ric Ocasek's Cars from around the "Panorama" era. The well reported internal frictions that existed and indeed delayed the release of this collection have undoubtedly had an effect on the final release, and the epitome of these pressures is highlighted on the tawdry ballad "Call Me Back", which reeks of half hearted commitment to the cause.To perfectly reflect the content of this recording The Strokes missed a trick. They should have added "Obtuse" in front of "Angles" for a perfectly descriptive product title. http://hackskeptic.com Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2011
    4
    Gone too long, the second track on this album is AMAZING but I had to replay it about 100 times because all the other tracks on this album are just bad. Weak, no power, WHAT HAPPENED?? I hope thy return with a vengeance after this because they really need to do so.
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    5
    It's nice when a band makes a theme album, but Angles doesn't seem as if it was intended to be one. The entire thing sounds disjointed, and not by design, indicative of a recording process that was done largely without primary songwriter and frontman Julian Casablancas. Under Cover of Darkness shines as a throwback to the so-called "Golden Age" of The Strokes, but prog rock wannabeIt's nice when a band makes a theme album, but Angles doesn't seem as if it was intended to be one. The entire thing sounds disjointed, and not by design, indicative of a recording process that was done largely without primary songwriter and frontman Julian Casablancas. Under Cover of Darkness shines as a throwback to the so-called "Golden Age" of The Strokes, but prog rock wannabe "Metabolism" and "You're So Right" are notable low points. First Impressions of Earth showed that The Strokes can experiment a little and still possess that uncaring Strokes aura, but perhaps Angles takes that a bit too far. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2014
    5
    Have to say, I was expecting a lot more from The Strokes after 5 years of not making an album. Albeit it a change in style and sound, there are far too many weak songs on Angles, especially in the latter stages of the album. I've given them plenty of chances over the last few years but they've never appealed to me. Despite this, 'Machu Pichu' is a flawless start to the record whichHave to say, I was expecting a lot more from The Strokes after 5 years of not making an album. Albeit it a change in style and sound, there are far too many weak songs on Angles, especially in the latter stages of the album. I've given them plenty of chances over the last few years but they've never appealed to me. Despite this, 'Machu Pichu' is a flawless start to the record which unfortunately only delivers false hope. The big single 'Under Cover of Darkness' is also a well crafted song, along with my personal favourite 'Taken For a Fool'. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. May 10, 2011
    60
    The result is mixed and at times strained, but a spark still lies within.
  2. 60
    When all is said and done, Angles could make for an exciting introduction to a new chapter for The Strokes, or it could be a disappointing swan song.
  3. Q Magazine
    May 2, 2011
    80
    Angles fits 10 songs into a brisk 34 minutes and doesn't waste time gunning for gravitas. [Apr 2011, p.92]