Angles

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Angles Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Strokes' self-produced fourth album strikes a neo-garage rock chord with the past, recalling the early sounds of their 2001 debut.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    90
    Disjointed, hyperactive, experimental, whatever. Angles is the album to beat this year.
  2. Mar 18, 2011
    80
    While Angles lacks a definite image, it is the band's best purely musical statement, and as the band members explore their 30s, perhaps it is time for them to retire their young, aggressive punk image and become successes in the first sense of the word -- strictly musical.
  3. Q Magazine
    May 2, 2011
    80
    Angles fits 10 songs into a brisk 34 minutes and doesn't waste time gunning for gravitas. [Apr 2011, p.92]
  4. 70
    Having been away from being a working band for a half decade, the Strokes have returned with a more polished take on their classic sound. Different: yes. Disaster: absolutely not!
  5. May 10, 2011
    60
    The result is mixed and at times strained, but a spark still lies within.
  6. Mar 22, 2011
    60
    The Strokes have managed to culture a great sense of the schizophrenic on Angles, mapping polar tones in tandem to produce a record that feels both confused and entirely deliberate.
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    30
    The band's tight, and every song contains at least a few interesting musical ideas, but the album as a whole comes across less like a creative mess and more like a stoned-battle-of-the-bands gone wrong.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49
  1. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I was disappointed with this album when I first listened to it. Now it's grown on me with a vengeance. I absolutely love it. Taken for a FoolI was disappointed with this album when I first listened to it. Now it's grown on me with a vengeance. I absolutely love it. Taken for a Fool is easily one of the best songs, with it's fantastic chorus. Games, the most unnerving departure from The Strokes' norm, is now one of my favourite songs. Life is Simple in the Moonlight has a unique atmosphere of distant sincerity and regret. Not to mention Under Cover of Darkness, easily the best individual Strokes song since the Is This It era. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    This album is SO 80S! AND I **** LOVE THE ENTIRE THING! It is very catchy, really. I don't see what everybody is complaining about- what's soThis album is SO 80S! AND I **** LOVE THE ENTIRE THING! It is very catchy, really. I don't see what everybody is complaining about- what's so wrong about the **** album, it is very interesting, very different than their previous sound but still reminiscent. I **** love this band, and I **** love the synth pop sounds they came up with. Even though they were struggling during the recording of this album, I still enjoy the tone of this album, they did a great job and I hope they do another album very soon. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album merges both the essential character of the Strokes but also excellence in creativity retrieves the album Is this It. I love this album. There are traces of the style of the band Muse in Metabolism, can repair. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    When I first popped this cd into my car I wanted to like it, I was desperate to like it! But... I just didn't. So I went home, turned the TVWhen I first popped this cd into my car I wanted to like it, I was desperate to like it! But... I just didn't. So I went home, turned the TV off, put away all distractions and just listened, truly listened. Wouldn't ya guess that this album grew on me like a wart. It spread through my body like a deadly disease, and I was hooked on Angles. After a long five year hiatus, The Strokes are back at full strength with what some may argue their best album yet. Angles soars over previous albums Room on Fire and First Impressions of Earth in every imaginable way: lyrically, instrumentally and in general song writing.
    Many expected this album to return to the roots of Is This It, and Angles often does, with great tracks such as Undercover of Darkness and Taken for a Fool for example. But many other songs venture back to times of FIoE, Youre so Right and Metabolism for example, while songs like Call Me Back and Machu Pichu evoke complete new elements for The Strokes. Almost all of these songs hit hard and leave an impact (Taken for a Fool and Gratisfaction being the best examples), while songs like Two Kinds of Happiness and Metabolism are largely uneffective. This album is the first joint effort from the boys. While everyone truly tries their hardest to write songs, Jules (Life is Simple in the Moonlight) and Nick (Taken for a Fool) are the writers who truly impress.
    In the end, this is a great album, and a couple mediocre tracks stop it from being their best. While it doesn't live up to Is This It, it sure comes close, and is a must buy album.
    Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2011
    8
    I don't understand the negative reviews for Angles, it is a fantastic reboot for one of the greatest bands of the century so far, machuI don't understand the negative reviews for Angles, it is a fantastic reboot for one of the greatest bands of the century so far, machu picchu, under the cover of darkness and taken for a fool are all stand-outs Expand
  6. May 15, 2015
    7
    A good return to form.. and at the same time a good sign that the band is trying always something new. There are some killer tunes here (TakenA good return to form.. and at the same time a good sign that the band is trying always something new. There are some killer tunes here (Taken for a Fool and Machu Pichu for example) and some great other songs as well (Under Cover of Darkness, Two Kinds of Happiness, Life is Simple in the Moonlight). All the other tracks are mostly good or ok, but what they lack is a cohesive idea that holds them all tight. It's an album that does a lot of experimenting, but there doesn't seem to be an actual overall idea behind it, even though, as I said, most of the tracks are pretty fun to listen to. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2011
    3
    I kept trying to dig this album because I dig The Strokes. I enjoyed Julian Casablanca's solo album, Phrazes..., more and I thought that hadI kept trying to dig this album because I dig The Strokes. I enjoyed Julian Casablanca's solo album, Phrazes..., more and I thought that had some real misses. From what I've heard this was the groups first real collaborative effort, as the prior albums were mainly brainchildren of Julian. It feels like it a collaboration album, with the songs competitive and discordant with one another. I'm slow on music and I'll probably 'figure it out' and enjoy it later, but right now it has me scratching my head. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews