Angles

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Angles Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Strokes' self-produced fourth album strikes a neo-garage rock chord with the past, recalling the early sounds of their 2001 debut.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    90
    Disjointed, hyperactive, experimental, whatever. Angles is the album to beat this year.
  2. Mar 18, 2011
    80
    While Angles lacks a definite image, it is the band's best purely musical statement, and as the band members explore their 30s, perhaps it is time for them to retire their young, aggressive punk image and become successes in the first sense of the word -- strictly musical.
  3. Q Magazine
    May 2, 2011
    80
    Angles fits 10 songs into a brisk 34 minutes and doesn't waste time gunning for gravitas. [Apr 2011, p.92]
  4. 70
    Having been away from being a working band for a half decade, the Strokes have returned with a more polished take on their classic sound. Different: yes. Disaster: absolutely not!
  5. May 10, 2011
    60
    The result is mixed and at times strained, but a spark still lies within.
  6. Mar 22, 2011
    60
    The Strokes have managed to culture a great sense of the schizophrenic on Angles, mapping polar tones in tandem to produce a record that feels both confused and entirely deliberate.
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    30
    The band's tight, and every song contains at least a few interesting musical ideas, but the album as a whole comes across less like a creative mess and more like a stoned-battle-of-the-bands gone wrong.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 4 out of 50
  1. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I was disappointed with this album when I first listened to it. Now it's grown on me with a vengeance. I absolutely love it. Taken for a FoolI was disappointed with this album when I first listened to it. Now it's grown on me with a vengeance. I absolutely love it. Taken for a Fool is easily one of the best songs, with it's fantastic chorus. Games, the most unnerving departure from The Strokes' norm, is now one of my favourite songs. Life is Simple in the Moonlight has a unique atmosphere of distant sincerity and regret. Not to mention Under Cover of Darkness, easily the best individual Strokes song since the Is This It era. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    This album is SO 80S! AND I **** LOVE THE ENTIRE THING! It is very catchy, really. I don't see what everybody is complaining about- what's soThis album is SO 80S! AND I **** LOVE THE ENTIRE THING! It is very catchy, really. I don't see what everybody is complaining about- what's so wrong about the **** album, it is very interesting, very different than their previous sound but still reminiscent. I **** love this band, and I **** love the synth pop sounds they came up with. Even though they were struggling during the recording of this album, I still enjoy the tone of this album, they did a great job and I hope they do another album very soon. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album merges both the essential character of the Strokes but also excellence in creativity retrieves the album Is this It. I love this album. There are traces of the style of the band Muse in Metabolism, can repair. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    I think it's great from beginning to end; not a track I skip. It's got a classic strokes sound but with some really cool and interestingI think it's great from beginning to end; not a track I skip. It's got a classic strokes sound but with some really cool and interesting additional effects and arrangements. The vocals, instrumental performances, beats, harmonies, and melodies shine well in clearly distinguishable tracks that work well together as an album. It's short and sweet, like their first two records, I'm not disappointed at all; a great improvement over the at times laborious FIOE. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    8
    While this is by far not their best stuff, Angles still delivered exactly what I needed from The Strokes. Granted not all the tracks areWhile this is by far not their best stuff, Angles still delivered exactly what I needed from The Strokes. Granted not all the tracks are amazing there are many stand out tracks that keep me coming back for more. Under Cover of Darkness and Taken for a Fool are just classic Strokes while Machu Picchu has a refreshing reggae feel. There isn't a single track on this album that is truly disappointing. Overall this album was well worth the many listens I've given it, and the many more to come. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    Angles has grown on me, going from a B- to a straight A. It was such a great decision to change their style a little bit after the somewhatAngles has grown on me, going from a B- to a straight A. It was such a great decision to change their style a little bit after the somewhat disappointing First Impressions of Earth. Overall, Angles comes together beautifully and is one of the most underrated and unfairly overlooked albums of the past few years Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2011
    3
    I kept trying to dig this album because I dig The Strokes. I enjoyed Julian Casablanca's solo album, Phrazes..., more and I thought that hadI kept trying to dig this album because I dig The Strokes. I enjoyed Julian Casablanca's solo album, Phrazes..., more and I thought that had some real misses. From what I've heard this was the groups first real collaborative effort, as the prior albums were mainly brainchildren of Julian. It feels like it a collaboration album, with the songs competitive and discordant with one another. I'm slow on music and I'll probably 'figure it out' and enjoy it later, but right now it has me scratching my head. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews