Animal - Ke$ha
  • Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Animal Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut album for the singer who appeared on the Flo Rida single "Right Round."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Here he frames her Valley Girl sneer with electro-glam arrangements that make brushing one's teeth ''with a bottle of Jack'' sound like an awesome way to kill the morning-after blues.
  2. Ke$ha's tipsy lilt allows her to effortlessly shift from half-singing to half-talking, a technique that makes her vocals carom like shiny pinballs against the crazy beats and sound effects that make up these tracks. She never gets bogged down or sounds like she's trying too hard.
  3. Animal teems with choruses that stick with the listener for days, from the blissful "Your Love Is My Drug" to the catty "Backstabber." Equally prevalent, however, are heavily processed vocals, which make it hard to tell whether the California cutie can actually sing.
  4. Beneath the patina of skeezy Freshers’-Week-LOLZ lyrics (“got a water-bottle of whiskey in my handbag”) lies a talent.
  5. An occasionally fun, occasionally catchy pop record that will log a few hits, move a few units and ultimately be forgotten once this particular pop trend goes the way of Crunk, Snap Music, the Power Ballad and all the other castoffs in the ever-expanding pop graveyard.
  6. She comes over as an amalgam of Lady Gaga, Katy Perry and Britney, which, judging by the multimillion sales of single Tik Tok, is just what the market wants.
  7. 20
    The 23-year-old Valley girl's sonically lurid and brash, (supposedly) autobiographical debut may boast production heavyweights like Benny Blancoi, but her witless, cranked-to-11 stridency recalls Kelly Clarkson and Avril Lavigne rather than Pink or Britney. [May 2010, p.94]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 78
  2. Negative: 33 out of 78
  1. ManuelK
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Definitely a contender in the run for Best Album of 2010. The beats are sick (thanks to the genius that is Dr.Luke). The lyrics are sicker. Her voice is so autotuned it's ridiculous...But it all makes for a fun album. A MUST-HEAR album for parties to come. I was ready to write her off as jst another white-trash Britney wannabe...but this girl has BALLS...and i mean BALLS! Songs like "Boots & Boys" & "Take it Off" are basically Britney songs sung in Ke$ha's voice. But the songs have HIT written alll ove them. Expand
  2. Sammy
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Love it......I'm sure the haters are either 30-something or only care about rockbands :) music doesn't have to be serious all the time.....HAVE A LIL FUN! Expand
  3. laura
    Jan 28, 2010
    8
    Its funny that it's either 0 points or ten points here for this album. seems like most of the people have just decided (by hearing Tik Tok) that she is just one rubbish product of greedy music-industry. well, i totally understand why you think so, though so after hearing tik tok for the first time. ok, her music is lyrically brainless, incredibly catchy (which may annoy some people) mainstream pop with autotuned vocals. despite those facts i am still able to enjoy this album, not as an atistically deep piece of art, but as a fun party-album that makes me want to sing-along and dance around. she has said herself that she made this album to make some people dance, so why you are taking it so seriously? listen to 'party at the rich dudes house' and tell me if you still think she's serious. i give 8 out of ten, because as i previously stated, this is perfect music for going out and having good time. Expand
  4. May 30, 2011
    5
    Several songs, such as Blah Blah Blah and Take It Off, are very catchy - and that's all. Autotune is used on almost every track and is sometimes extremely irritating and makes all songs sound the same. It is good that she contributed to the songwriting on every track, but only some of them are worth a listen. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2010
    3
    It's funny how the Auto-tuned Lady Gaga, Ke$ha, earned so much money in the music industry. While musical talents like Bjork are trying to gather people's attention by using her original voice and avant-garde themed music, Ke$ha is just a girl who wants to get fame instantly without corcerning her music. Whoever says Ke$ha is good for making fun music is wrong. When you listen to the album, the first few things you will find hating in this album are the wasted lyrics and deafening Auto-tuned Ke$ha's voice. Ke$ha does not even use her own voice in the album. It's like a robot was making this album more than Ke$ha did. The lyrics are good only when you are in the club, starting fights or putting yourself in shame either you are totally drunk or high on drugs. I say Lady Gaga is a lousy artist. Yet, Ke$ha makes Lady Gaga similar to Kate Bush because she's so much worse than the bad Lady Gaga. It'll be a miracle to her if this album will be remembered as long as Diana Ross' album did. Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2010
    1
    Absolutely awful. Despite a couple of catchy beats, the lyrics are so vacuous and trite and the singer's voice so grating (dare I call her a singer? She talks her way through most of the album with the voice of a bratty 13 year old) that any redeeming qualities imparted by beat or production are negated. Ke$ha makes the likes of Britney Spears, Lady Gaga and Miley Cyrus look like refined ladies. If I were a singer, I'd be embarrassed to share a label with her. Just YUCK. Expand
  7. Sasha
    Jan 6, 2010
    0
    utterly stupid. go listen to smashing pumpkins

See all 78 User Reviews