Anna Calvi - Anna Calvi
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    The power within the songs of this album is mind blowing. Calvis's voice is blast, something apart from other singers nowadays. The melodies are beautiful, and the musical references from flamenco to hard rock makes every song in the album stand out on it's own. It's clearly the inspiration from PJ Harvey, and in a good way. The one thing that is quite unclear is the songwriting that is a little shaky. But Anna is a talent to keep an eye on. Collapse
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    8
    Anna Calvi is not just a younger PJ Harvey. Sheâ
  3. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    It's not entirely unique, but it really stands out. I'm completely sold on the vocals, as well as the chilly-timbre guitar. When I listen to this record I picture a very large space, subsequently filled with her mesmerizing, bold sound.

    On another note, the guitar work evokes The Sadies for me, and it makes me wonder what kind of fun chamber-country they could brew up, if ever they were
    so inclined... Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    As she beckons you into her dark world with this sultry, enigmatic performance, resistance to her charms are futile. "Anna Calvi" is simply a stunning debut. http://hackskeptic.com
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    Excellent album. Her vocals and guitar playing seem so natural, piercing, yet sounding mellow and perfectly restrained. Best album of the year so far.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Apr 6, 2011
    80
    Italian-blooded debutante rocks passionately. [March 2011, p. 96]
  2. Apr 1, 2011
    70
    While a fairly brisk listen, the album does start to drag in its second half. Not that the later songs are particularly weak, but the only thing that really marks them out from those in the first is that they're a bit quieter.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    As Ms. Calvi sings about the overpowering forces of heavenly love and demonic passion, she can go from whisper to cataclysm in four minutes, and she regularly does.